Allied Irish Bank (GB) Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
82%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Allied Irish Bank (GB) Managing Director Peter Spratt
Peter Spratt
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hr department seems indifferent to bad management practices(in 3 reviews)

  • "Poor pay, if you show an ambition to get promoted, lower level management seem to feel threatened(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Customer Relationship Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and opportunities to learn from market leaders.

    Cons

    Nothing to report on this

    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2020-05-21
  2. "Set in its ways and needing fresh blood."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance on the whole. Good pension contribution. Very good.

    Cons

    Management can’t manage effectively. Seem to have role more for their sector expertise than people management skills and ability to effectively lead, develop and keep staff happy and motivated. Systems are incoherent and processes overly complex and repetitious. Support teams are under skilled and understaffed. Pay is not reflective of market rate and benefits have been stripped back to nothing.

    Continue reading
    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2020-01-21
  3. "A"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Associate Director 

    I have been working at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time

    Pros

    Good place to gain access to opportunities

    Cons

    Quite a lot of internal projects taking time

    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2019-12-14
  4. "Declining business"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great grounding at beginning of my career. Wide exposure to varied areas of the lending world.

    Cons

    Progression route without moving around the country virtually impossible due to long standing staff not moving from their comfortable positions. This is the most evident view of "dead mans shoes" I have ever seen.

    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2019-10-17
  5. "."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Account Manager 

    I have been working at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Connection to AIB Group, Irish connection, culture

    Cons

    salary/remuneration not competitive, processes/technology outdated

    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2019-06-06
  6. "Good role but unfortunate management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Treasury Dealer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good role Opportunity to learn and grow Responsibility

    Cons

    Poor management (was the reason I left) Lack of time to properly train and no structured training. Not fully informed on things Long hours in the department I was in, but didn't have to take work home

    Continue reading
    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2019-03-19
  7. "Good company who are striving to be more progressive and inclusive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very customer centric model, niche place in market, actively looking to simplify process and involve staff in improving way things are done. Taken a lot of pain during years of financial difficulty across the industry but now getting back to what it does best in a more sustainable model

    Cons

    Restructuring has resulted in quite small number of locations in GB. A southern (London) based head office.

    Continue reading
    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2018-09-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Turned a corner - real and tangible cultural shift

    Cons

    Salaries below market rate - sometimes you get what you pay for

    Continue reading
    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2018-05-04
  9. "Operations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time

    Pros

    good organisation, you get to know customers well

    Cons

    too many chiefs at the helm

    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2017-12-07
  10. "AIB"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allied Irish Bank (GB) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, close network throughout group, exposure and accessibility to learning new skills

    Cons

    low salary and poor treament of staff over a number of years, inconsistent in fairness and renumeration to staff.

    Allied Irish Bank (GB)2017-09-19
Found 81 reviews