Alpha FX Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alpha FX Reviews

Updated 8 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Alpha FX CEO Morgan Tillbrook
Morgan Tillbrook
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "A unique working environment where you have the freedom and ownership over what you are working on(in 6 reviews)

  • "I have been working at Alpha for almost a year now(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours: there is no such thing as a free lunch; this is a hard-job and the rewards necessitate a high level of commitment to the role(in 8 reviews)

  • "As other reviewers have mentioned, working hours are longer than usual and this can take some getting used to(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Working as a female Portfolio Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - One of the best things about Alpha is the flexible and supportive approach taken by the leadership. The platform offered is a meritocracy, and for those who are capable you have the opportunity to maximise your potential. - When going into the industry I had preconceptions about the typical type of male dominated "broker culture" and what it would be like. However, at Alpha I have not found it to be like this at...

    Show More

    Cons

    - This job requires more work and commitment than your typical 9 to 5, and it’s a performance-oriented culture which can be high pressured.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the focus on culture, it is one of the things that sets Alpha apart from the competition and makes it such an enjoyable place to work.

    Alpha FX2019-05-23
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Portfolio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company with a clear mission. Great people and culture. From the front office to the back office staff, full of exceptionally talented people.

    Cons

    No real cons but be prepared to work extremely hard, with late evenings and often working weekends at the start.

    Alpha FX2019-05-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "An incredible team of people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Being in a team that genuinely supports and wants the best for one another. Makes such a difference to a working environment. - Constant encouragement and support to push yourself and self improve. - Feedback. It is never sugar coated but I have learnt so much that way.

    Cons

    - Currently in a temporary office for the next couple of months which is not ideal as we have limited space, so looking forward to moving.

    Advice to Management

    - In the time I have been at Alpha the number of women in the business has tripled. I would like to see this number continue to grow.

    Alpha FX2019-04-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "fantastic business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha FX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    chance to participate in a fast growing and excellent run business

    Cons

    No cons other than the long hours you are expected to put in

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Alpha FX2019-04-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Freedom in work and variety of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great place to learn and grow as a developer. You get an incredible level of freedom with projects, allowing you to use any tool at your disposal as long as you can justify it. This level of freedom comes with a lot more responsibility than in your typical developer role, but an environment like this is infinitely preferable to an overly restrictive and prescribed way of doing things. The projects you work...

    Show More

    Cons

    As other reviewers have mentioned, working hours are longer than usual and this can take some getting used to. However, you are compensated for this which I feel is fair.

    Advice to Management

    In the time I've been at Alpha the tech team has changed considerably for the better. I would say to continue to drive this change and not fall back into less effective ways of working, while still maintaining the culture.

    Alpha FX2019-03-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great company- Right moment to join."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Portfolio Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recommend Alpha FX to ambitious and money driven sales people. The opportunity to earn a lot of money and take on some more responsibilities as you build your own portfolio is HUGE. Company is still young and growing at really high pace so if you are a hard worker and hungry for success Alpha is the right place to be and now is the right time!

    Cons

    If you are not willing to invest a lot of time and energy for this job do not go there. But if you are not afraid by this challenge then I can assure you it is worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing special just keep up the good work.

    Alpha FX2019-02-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "An exciting, fast paced, highly motivating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Alpha is full of hard working, driven and motivated people, across all departments. There is no hierarchy. Everyone is fully exposed meaning potential to learn and grow is enhanced. Hard work and results are expected, rewarded and recognised by everyone in the company. The business is growing rapidly, meaning there are huge opportunities for progression in each department.

    Cons

    Not a con for a lot of people, but be prepared to work hard/play hard, regardless of which department you are in. Everyone across the firm is expected to contribute to the current and future success’ of the business.

    Alpha FX2019-01-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "An opportunity to reach your potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Paddington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After working in several sales jobs in a variety of sectors over the past 12 years, I’ve found that I’ve never experience the personal and professional growth I’ve had since starting with Alpha 2 years ago. There is a great opportunity to live and work in an environment amongst truly elite individuals who inspire you to expect more from yourself with the knowledge and culture to help you achieve it. That being...

    Show More

    Cons

    You need to be open to learn and develop fast in the early months which is non-negotiable and requires real commitment. The benefit of this commitment is that this turns into a habit ultimately leading to real growth!

    Advice to Management

    Keep a focus on reflecting on the successes and failures Alpha experiences. The humility across the business will help Alpha to thrive as we grow in stature and staff.

    Alpha FX2019-01-14
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There really aren't any pros. I think this was the worst company I worked for.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, one team leader is incompetent and has poor soft skills. His flatulence is very inappropriate and he thinks he's funny. Management is more concerned about appearance rather than being productive. If you want to work here you will be expected to get in at 7:30am or 8:00am, even though, during the interview they might tell you to get in at 9am. In reality they expect you to work from 7am to 9pm even if...

    Show More
    Alpha FX2019-02-18

    Alpha FX Response

    March 1, 2019Alpha FX

    Due to the outlandish and provocative nature of this review, we feel that an extended response to the above would be without merit. For a genuine insight into what it’s like to work as a Software Developer at Alpha, please reach out to any member of our tech team via LinkedIn.

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Incredible Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    These are the 2 main things that come to mind when considering why I enjoy working at Alpha: The people As soon as you join you realise that you're surrounded by incredibly inspriring, talented, hard-working individuals. I was particularly surprised when I first joined, at how open the culture is here. Everyone, in all areas of the business, will offer their knowledge, experience and feedback in order to push you...

    Show More

    Cons

    A high performing team comes with high expectations. You need to be down to earth but an ambitious go-getter - if you're not then you're probably not right for Alpha.

    Advice to Management

    You make everyone feel very inclusive and involved in the success of Alpha, and keep us all in the loop as to what's going on across the company so I'd say keep this up.

    Alpha FX2018-11-22
Found 61 reviews