Alton Towers Resort Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alton Towers Resort Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Alton Towers Resort CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun exiting free tickets differt every day(in 22 reviews)

  • "Very good pay for people under 18(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours towards the end of the year(in 12 reviews)

  • "The only downside I can see is the roads on the way to alton towers(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A magical place in a unique setting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entertainments Technical Manager in Alton, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere, Fantastic surroundings, every day is completely different. I truly love what i do, i get the chance to work on some ground breaking new attractions and events, using my knowledge from outside the resort in a truly unique environment. I am incredibly lucky to come to work, have a whole heap of fun and get paid to do so! My work colleges are more like extended family. There is no other office that has the views this place does, or the excitement!

    Cons

    I travel over 60min a day each way to get to work, this is a downside as its costs a lot in fuel however i only do this because i love what i do and wound't want to work anywhere else!

    Alton Towers Resort2019-05-09

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    June 10, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that Alton Towers Resort has an ‘’amazing atmosphere, fantastic surroundings, every day is completely different’’ we also love that you truly love what you do for a living. We hope that you continue to have a magical time at the Resort. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment

    Continue reading
  2. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Free entrance tickets after training period. -Good management in place and they are always around if you need anything. - Supportive team leaders who will push you to achieve your best and give you daily feedback. - Great with mental health. I was always supported and given the right tools and advice to be able to help and look after myself, management never give up on you and encourage you to do well. -work colleagues become like a second family. -Reward system in place so good work is always recognised and not just ignored.

    Cons

    My only con was my commute to work. I had a 45 minutes drive to and from work which adds a significant amount of time onto the working day and can be costly. but I can’t wait to be able to do it again.

    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-22

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    January 3, 2020Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read so many positive comments about working at Alton Towers Resort, including Mental Health support for employees who many need the 'right tools and advice to be able to help '. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros are getting experience with customer services and building up confidence also you learn how to work as part of team

    Cons

    It was far away from where I lived

    Alton Towers Resort2020-02-17
  4. "Pretty decent job for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good pay, flexible working hours, good when time off is needed, a reasonable amount of time for lunch break. Friendly staff, always willing to help when needed.

    Cons

    Workload often too much, staff bus was quite expensive and if you missed it you had to wait an extra hour/hour and a half for the next one.

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-28

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    January 3, 2020Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to read you experienced ''very good pay, flexible working hours, good when time off is needed, a reasonable amount of time for lunch break. Friendly staff, always willing to help when needed.'' We hope you enjoyed your time working at the Resort! We appreciate your feedback regarding employee transport, we will ensure this information is passed on to the necessary manager. As and where we can changes will be made to enable a smoother experience for employees commuting to the Resort. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team and work ethic

    Cons

    Mostly positive but occasionally shifts were too long

    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-07

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    December 13, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for writing this review! It is great to read you experience 'Great team and work ethic' during your time working at the Resort. Best Wishes Alton Towers Resort

    Continue reading
  6. "Good atomosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Performer in Sutton Coldfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work, different every day

    Cons

    No prospects for career progression

    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-18

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    January 3, 2020Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We hope you enjoyed working at the Resort, it is great to read that work was fun and every day was different. We do provide many career progression systems such as progression planning, apprenticeships schemes and secondments. We are sorry if you did not experience these systems. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  7. "perfect for being a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Host in Uttoxeter, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - weekend work -free tickets and discounts - team is like a second family - good pay - every day is differnt -pushed to be my best - chances to learn new skills like makaton

    Cons

    - long hours towards the end of the year -seasonal - the local roads - took a while to get my pay sorted

    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-02

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    December 13, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review ! It is great to read you experiences so many great things at Alton Towers Resort such as ''chances to learn new skills like Makaton'' We appreciate all of your feedback, as and where we can we will make adjustments. Best Wishes Alton Towers Resort

    Continue reading
  8. "Working at alton towers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chambermaid in Cheadle, West Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    school hours work by self get rewards for example 20 free tickets

    Cons

    no communication picky have favourites some rooms contain many beds in minimalistic time

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-13

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    January 3, 2020Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to see you enjoyed the benefits of working at Alton Towers Resort, such as Employee Magic Pass Tickets. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure all of your comments are passed on to the appropriate members of staff. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  9. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Host in Alton Towers, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good job for people fresh out of school to get experience in a job setting and was very flexible with shifts to fit around further education.

    Cons

    Travel time was long which is the reason I no longer work there.

    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-13

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    November 27, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you enjoyed working at the Resort and that this work was flexible around further Education. We hope to see you again in the near future! Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  10. "Excitement Filled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ride Operator in Alton Towers, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, friendly environment. Good lower level management. Career progression. In house training. Working within a team. Good employee benefits.

    Cons

    Higher management expect too much of employees on occasions. At certain parts of the season can be very long hours.

    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-12

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    November 27, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read you find working at the Resort fun and friendly environment. Career progression is something we take pride in, therefore is it great to see this was a pro during your experience. We would like to hear more about your experience please email recruitment@alton-towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 85 reviews