Alton Towers Resort Employee Reviews about "alton towers"

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 157 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Alton Towers Resort CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun exiting free tickets differt every day(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good company benefits and good pay(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, some hard work and lots of cleaning(in 17 reviews)

  • "3 per show and alton towers making(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "alton towers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Amazing Setting, Unique Workplace

      Nov 11, 2019 - Retail Host in Barnsley, Yorkshire and the Humber, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free tickets, staff only events and previews, flexible hours available, very supportive reguarding mental health, beautiful surroundings and very happy vibe.

      Cons

      Can be very far to travel. Staff transport is very hit and miss and lack of hours in some departments during beginning of season. I have throughly enjoyed my time with Alton Towers this season and sad to be leaving. This job has meant the world to me and ive been through alot to be here. Ive moved closer for the season which wasnt cheap but I wouldnt have had it any other way!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Takes advantage of Performers who love the job.

      Feb 26, 2020 - Entertainer in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to work with some lovely people and become a team, making real friends. Fun job, doing what you love every day. Nice environment and the mangers do their best to look after you. Loads of social events out of work if you want to join. The team you will work with really love what they do and its a nice sense of unity. Chances to learn new skills.

      Cons

      Overworked, underpayed. Considering how much effort and skill is required from the performers, you think a huge successful company would pay a fair wage that represents the work the performers do. This isn't how it works, £8.80ish an hour, within an hour you could perform 6 very tiring shows, earning less than £3 per show and alton towers making £270 per show. Performers are made to work around 14 days 10 hour shifts over scarefest, groups being forced through faster than you can breath. Could finish later than you should without any warning due to overselling tickets. Mental and physical health not looked after by the company. Causing breakdowns and people getting ill. 0-5 hour contracts meaning being dropped instantly for work when they don't need you, something to consider if moving down for the job as you could be left with no money even if you've been assured there will be work. Expected to learn scripts at home with no pay and a lower rate for this time of rehearsals. If you don't drive its really hard to get to and from. Same people picked for promotion and fun opportunities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Place and Amazing Management

      Nov 8, 2019 - Ride Host 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at Alton Towers for 4 seasons now in different departments. This is my first year working for rides and I can honestly say I love working here. It’s ideal for me while I’m at University! The managers and HR team are amazing! I’ve had some difficulties outside of work and they have been so supportive and understanding. Alton Towers deals really well with those staff who suffer with mental health issues, they have mental health first aid trainers without the Resort and there is always someone available if you need a chat. I love working here, I get along with the team and I love being able to create some magical moments for guests! You also get tickets for working here and different things throughout the year to gain prizes etc.

      Cons

      The staff bus can sometimes be unreliable

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to see that you 'love working here' and that you have returned to the Resort for 4 seasons! It is also great to read that you find the managers/HR are supportive towards Mental Health. We believe it is important to have trained Mental Health First Aid members of staff, it is great to see you agree . We that you continue to make 'magical moments for guests' and return for a 5th season. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best decision I ever made

      May 8, 2019 - Creative Entertainents Manager in Alton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Alton Towers is Merlins flagship resort so we benefit from having a huge range of products. I get to work on entertainment products in CBeebies Land right the way through to scaring guests at Scarfest. I am encouraged to think blue sky and not limited my ideas to the norm. So far, my time working at Alton Towers has been the best years my career so far!

      Cons

      Sometimes there is a little to much focus on corporate details and occasionally budgets don't necessarily match the company ambition

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello Thank you for your fantastical review! It is amazing to know working at Alton Towers Resort has been the best decision that you ever made. We love that every day is so different and exciting! We hope you continue to make memories and enjoy your time at the Resort. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company

      Nov 8, 2017 - Retail Host in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff perks, management are always there whenever you need them and you are always experiencing new sides to the park each shift.

      Cons

      Days can be long at times but when you work in a place like Alton Towers that's bound to happen in peak times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working at alton towers is amazing!

      Jun 6, 2017 - Events Host in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Alton Towers is a fun and challenging place to be. Everyone is always happy (staff and guests). The jobs are all fun and there is something for everyone there.

      Cons

      The only downside I can see is the roads on the way to alton towers. Unfortunately alton towers cannot fix that.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic company to work for!

      Jun 6, 2017 - Product Excellence in Stoke-on-Trent, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get great perks working for Alton towers resort and Merlin believe firmly in growing their employees, meaning there is opportunities for further training, support and progression. It is a fun working environment and it is always a different day at work keeping things varied!

      Cons

      Long hours at times and working on weekends/bank holidays which is not for every employee but is not something that phases me working in the leisure sector.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      No Car? Don't bother

      May 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Stoke-on-Trent, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Magic pass (20 free entrys)

      Cons

      If you don't have a car don't bother applying. The only other way to get to Alton towers is the staff bus which is a waste of money, it costs £4.50 - £8.00 per journey or £23 for 5 days. As a member of staff who finishes at four there is a hour wait. No overtime pay (no extra pay for working bank holidays, etc)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Nights Hotel Receptionist, Porter, Cleaner & Cook

      Jan 26, 2017 - Nights Team in Alton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wide range of jobs to be done especially if you are on the night team. (Do not think you will be sitting around doing nothing on nights, most of your time will be spent cleaning) Majority of the team are very friendly and chilled out although a couple are not. 1 hr Lunch ( every other department gets 30 minutes) Meet some interesting guests and also some really annoying ones haha. Night food (pizzas, chips, garlic bread for CHEAP prices)

      Cons

      No motivation, a 5p lollipop or bag of haribos will not motivate me. This is combined with being expected to go above and beyond for a potential reward of a haribo sweet, I also got rewarded with 2 beads at Halloween not sure what this was about. 2 beads?? Some colleagues have mental issues and are very controlling "this is my hotel mentality". Take their job very seriously and go above and beyond but also expect you to do the same. Certain managers do not listen to their staff which causes constant mistakes and makes the hotel and staff look very unprofessional in front of guests. ( No idea of customer service, as there is no training). There is also a very high unnecessary amount of managers on day shifts and other departments, 2 managers for a team of 5?? in some cases. Since there is a high rate of staff turn over a lot of people have no clue what they are doing as they are trained by people who have only been in the job themselves for a year or less, since tourism is a seasonal business this can have detrimental effects. Infighting between all hotel departments, trying to keep their budgets, trying to get other members of their team sacked in order to gain promotion. Attempts to get members of the nights team fired by other departments setting people up. Very untrustworthy environment hard to trust anyone and can be demoralizing if you the type of person who dwells on these things. Minimum wage for a night shift, Whats this about not a competitive pay rate at all. Minimum wage combined with the knowledge that you are doing 5 other peoples job roles completely demoralises the staff. While I was on nights a General night would be. Attend work at 10:30pm work on reception checking in guests, answering questions, visiting rooms doing porter duties until around 12am-1am. Each night a different person is designated as the night food chef and so do their duties regarding that aswell as chip in, this means staff will cook night food at the same time as cleaning toilets which I found very unhygienic. The rest of us would then clean the hotels public areas top to bottom including toilets, hoovering, mopping, windows, brass, empting bins etc. There were also security walk around's three times a night. Essentially on a night shift you are a Porter, Front of house, Cleaner, Chef, Security and Barman ( collecting glasses) This is done so Merlin only have to pay one lot of minimum wage and to cut down on staff. No training given you are pretty much thrown straight in. Regarding the above point there is limited security at the hotels so if any trouble arises you will have to deal with it 99% of the time without any training. This includes violent, drugged, mentally ill, drunk and abusive guests. ( This would happen regularly, Alton Towers seems to attract a lot of dregs) This alone should require a higher pay rate. Some nights the teams are understaffed, this is usually Okay but by law a certain number of staff are required for fire safety & evacuation and in the unfortunate event something should occur judging from past history Merlin will not help out their employees if criminal prosecutions proceed. Annoying, idiotic and violent guests. Not given good enough or correct equipment to clean with. No career opportunities unless you are female, young, blonde and willing to have relationships with higher ranking members of staff ( yes this did and does happen lol) Some colleagues and staff are very condescending and also live in a world of their own (known as Towers World) again some of this can be put down to diagnosed and undiagnosed mental illness, although for certain people it was just there personality. suck it up recruit.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Greedy greedy greedy

      Mar 26, 2016 - Waitress 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get a few Merlin tickets that I can sell to folk

      Cons

      Overpriced bus fair (£5 each way) Terrible management, entry level employee opinions don't matter! Staff are severely under-valued and rarely rewarded for good work! Days off and breaks are a luxury! The company on a whole is terribley ran, its all about the MONEY! Alton Towers Resort is so so so so greedy, it's actually sickening, looking to drain everything/everyone of money and individualism! Never hated working anywhere more than this pure hell hole.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alton Towers Resort Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alton Towers Resort? Share Your Experiences

    Alton Towers Resort logo
    or