Alton Towers Resort Employee Reviews about "free tickets"

Updated Apr 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 157 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Alton Towers Resort CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun exiting free tickets differt every day(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good company benefits and good pay(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, some hard work and lots of cleaning(in 17 reviews)

  • "3 per show and alton towers making(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "free tickets"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      perfect for being a student

      Dec 2, 2019 - Admissions Host in Uttoxeter, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - weekend work -free tickets and discounts - team is like a second family - good pay - every day is differnt -pushed to be my best - chances to learn new skills like makaton

      Cons

      - long hours towards the end of the year -seasonal - the local roads - took a while to get my pay sorted

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review ! It is great to read you experiences so many great things at Alton Towers Resort such as ''chances to learn new skills like Makaton'' We appreciate all of your feedback, as and where we can we will make adjustments. Best Wishes Alton Towers Resort

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Meh

      Apr 20, 2020 - Rides and Attractions Host in Alton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free tickets to the merlin attractions

      Cons

      Us and them feel between staff and management, gossip and bullying a big thing at the resort

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry to read that you felt like this. We would like to discuss this further, please email more details to recruitment@alton-towers.com Kind Regards, Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Working at alton towers

      Dec 13, 2019 - Chambermaid in Cheadle, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      school hours work by self get rewards for example 20 free tickets

      Cons

      no communication picky have favourites some rooms contain many beds in minimalistic time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to see you enjoyed the benefits of working at Alton Towers Resort, such as Employee Magic Pass Tickets. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure all of your comments are passed on to the appropriate members of staff. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not awful at times

      Nov 26, 2019 - Bar and Restaurant Host in Alton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a wonderful feeling knowing you have made a guests day or when you do something extra special to make it memorable, some managers are kind and understanding, you get free tickets to use in any Merlin attraction and a staff discount to make prices more reasonable on park, there are opportunities to progress within the company, it's a busy place so every day there is different.

      Cons

      They're not very understanding when it comes to mental health, I had a rough few months and was told that I was a liability to the company instead of understanding that I had to have time off because I was exhibiting symptoms of my depression, lack of energy and interest in things. The same manager once blamed me for the whole restaurant having complaints and having problems which were completely unrelated to me such as food wait time and incorrect items etc, but proceeded to say that because I had the first table that had an issue with food it made all of the other tables start complaining that weren't under my care. The staff are very clique-y, some have worked there a while and haven't progressed in roles due to their attitudes towards people and work yet are allowed to stay working there creating a toxic environment for newcomers that want to do well and care about the role. It can be stressful at times, especially at peak times, but this is expected in the food and beverage industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you enjoyed making guest days and doing the extra little things to make magical memories. We hope you enjoyed the Merlin employee benefits and free tickets. As a business we take Mental Health very seriously, this is why we have Mental Health First Aiders who are trained to assist and support those who need it. We would like to here more about this, please email Recruitment@Alton-Towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    5. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Amazing Setting, Unique Workplace

      Nov 11, 2019 - Retail Host in Barnsley, Yorkshire and the Humber, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free tickets, staff only events and previews, flexible hours available, very supportive reguarding mental health, beautiful surroundings and very happy vibe.

      Cons

      Can be very far to travel. Staff transport is very hit and miss and lack of hours in some departments during beginning of season. I have throughly enjoyed my time with Alton Towers this season and sad to be leaving. This job has meant the world to me and ive been through alot to be here. Ive moved closer for the season which wasnt cheap but I wouldnt have had it any other way!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best and worst three years of my life

      Nov 26, 2019 - Sales and Customer Service Host in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unique setting, unique job. You get free tickets and discount on park. Some of the guests are regulars and you can build pleasant relationships with them. Genuinely a laugh sometimes.

      Cons

      Under appreciated, over worked, minimum wage. Managers do not appreciate you as people, you are nothing more than an ID number to them. Even when you go above and beyond your position you are not recognised nor appreciated for it. They view you as replaceable and there is an extremely high turnover rate of staff. One of my colleagues had concerns and went to her manager who told her to stop being ridiculous and quote “I can replace you in a second”. Ridiculously long hours, working for 7-10 days in a row sometimes. Guests can treat you appallingly, shout abuse and get physical and management view this as part of the job. Impossible to advance within your own department, often have to move departments.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you enjoyed the unique setting, unique job, free tickets and discount when working at the Resort. However, we are very sorry that you feel this way about working at the Resort. We would like to investigate this, please email recruitment@alton-towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing place to work

      Nov 10, 2019 - Ride Host in Stoke-on-Trent, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet new friends, free tickets, numerous discounts with other companies, further your career,

      Cons

      Seasonal, transport unreliable (sometimes),

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you have met new friends, enjoyed the employee benefits and furthered your career. We appreciate feedback regarding seasonal work and transport. With this feedback we can make improvements as and where possible. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    8. 2.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Bad for mental health

      Nov 8, 2019 - Ride Host 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free tickets. Can be a very social job with good co workers. Good for a summer job/weekend work for whilst at college or uni. Rate of pay good for under 18’s. Drops to minimum wage once you turn 18. Can be a fun place to work if you are with a good team on your ride. Regular breaks if you work within rides. The grounds are beautiful and it is a unique work setting.

      Cons

      Poor management, especially in the rides department. HR and SLT seem out of touch with the reality of the work place environment. Higher rides team management aren’t helpful, for example during ride downtime they will attend the ride and watch the hosts struggle to speak to all the guests getting off the ride rather than helping. Long and unsociable hours - no work/life balance. Poor pay for both ride hosts and operators unless your under 18. Lack of staff means more pressure is put on the rides teams to keep queues to a minimum. Rides teams are blamed for the queues rather than the lack of staff. Damaging to mental health, complete lack of understanding and not a good place to be when your feeling low. Lack of permanent positions makes the place not suitable for a career and only good as a part time job in education.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cleaning rooms

      Oct 6, 2019 - Room Attendant in Alton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good pay for people under 18 Great perks such as free tickets, scarefest staff nights, etc.

      Cons

      Managers can be intimidating towards younger people

      1 person found this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for writing this review! It is great to read that you enjoy the benefits of working at Alton Towers Resort. We would like to hear more about your experience working at the Resort, please email ATRecruitmentTeam@merlinentertainments.biz Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Senior Management see you as a Number

      Nov 9, 2019 - Park Operations Assistant in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free tickets to the park

      Cons

      No chain of communication, passion is discouraged, all staff are expendable and are treated like it, standards are not enforced, hypocritical.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear this, we would like to hear more about your experience. Please email recruitment@alton-towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alton Towers Resort Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alton Towers Resort? Share Your Experiences

    Alton Towers Resort logo
    or