Alton Towers Resort Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 157 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Alton Towers Resort CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun exiting free tickets differt every day(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good company benefits and good pay(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, some hard work and lots of cleaning(in 17 reviews)

  • "3 per show and alton towers making(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Contractor

      Fun place to work

      Jan 18, 2021 - Ride Host 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun place to work, well known brand.

      Cons

      Long hours and low pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Enjoyable but long hours

      Sep 17, 2020 - Ride Host in Alton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoyable fun atmosphere to be had

      Cons

      Hard to book time off long hours tried to make u run about loads

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Supportive and creative leadership

      Aug 11, 2020 - Scare Actor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really wonderfully led teams of actors. A fast but supported work environment

      Cons

      Long hours and accommodation was less than ideal. But for the first year offering accommodation, they did really well

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      perfect for being a student

      Dec 2, 2019 - Admissions Host in Uttoxeter, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - weekend work -free tickets and discounts - team is like a second family - good pay - every day is differnt -pushed to be my best - chances to learn new skills like makaton

      Cons

      - long hours towards the end of the year -seasonal - the local roads - took a while to get my pay sorted

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review ! It is great to read you experiences so many great things at Alton Towers Resort such as ''chances to learn new skills like Makaton'' We appreciate all of your feedback, as and where we can we will make adjustments. Best Wishes Alton Towers Resort

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excitement Filled

      Nov 12, 2019 - Ride Operator in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, friendly environment. Good lower level management. Career progression. In house training. Working within a team. Good employee benefits.

      Cons

      Higher management expect too much of employees on occasions. At certain parts of the season can be very long hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read you find working at the Resort fun and friendly environment. Career progression is something we take pride in, therefore is it great to see this was a pro during your experience. We would like to hear more about your experience please email recruitment@alton-towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    6. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Magical and rewarding

      Nov 11, 2019 - Retail Host in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Team Leaders Flexible working Fantastic opportunity to learn new skills Working in beautiful surroundings Good benefits Hard work is recognised Team members are valued

      Cons

      Can be seasonal work only and long hours Be prepared that you could be working when your family and friends are off on Bank Holidays etc.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best and worst three years of my life

      Nov 26, 2019 - Sales and Customer Service Host in Alton Towers, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unique setting, unique job. You get free tickets and discount on park. Some of the guests are regulars and you can build pleasant relationships with them. Genuinely a laugh sometimes.

      Cons

      Under appreciated, over worked, minimum wage. Managers do not appreciate you as people, you are nothing more than an ID number to them. Even when you go above and beyond your position you are not recognised nor appreciated for it. They view you as replaceable and there is an extremely high turnover rate of staff. One of my colleagues had concerns and went to her manager who told her to stop being ridiculous and quote “I can replace you in a second”. Ridiculously long hours, working for 7-10 days in a row sometimes. Guests can treat you appallingly, shout abuse and get physical and management view this as part of the job. Impossible to advance within your own department, often have to move departments.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you enjoyed the unique setting, unique job, free tickets and discount when working at the Resort. However, we are very sorry that you feel this way about working at the Resort. We would like to investigate this, please email recruitment@alton-towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    8. 5.0
      Current Contractor

      Good

      Sep 22, 2019 - Ride Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Hours, Very fun place to work

      Cons

      Very long hours, minimum pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A job like no other

      May 16, 2019 - Entertainments 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I get paid to do what I love doing! Working with a team who have a common interest and passion to deliver fantastic experiences for people to enjoy.

      Cons

      Sometimes long hours and tight deadlines, which is industry standard.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Temporary happiness

      May 5, 2019 - Welcone Host in Alton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a good place to work except for the managers pushing you. Discounted and free entry Park discounts Cheap food (if u get time to eat)

      Cons

      Long hours No thanks Laid off after end of season with no option to help keep the park running, clean up, decorate stuff, upkeep. No FREE bus transport I’ve been reading about. Very short breaks, not enough time to walk from the car park to the canteen and eat dinner. Oh btw walking time which is 10 minutes each way is taken out if the 30 minute break giving you 10 minutes to buy food eat it and leave. Magic pass that some people get clipped a lot for entry others don’t depending on if your friends with a Certian theme Park enthusiast on the gate. Not a fair system at all for free tickets.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alton Towers Resort Response

      Social Media Recruitment

      Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to read that you believe Alton Towers Resort is a good place to work. We can confirm that there is no free bus and we are unsure where this has been advertised, please can you show us where this is advertised so we can correct this information? Most Theme park jobs are seasonal and there are limited spaces for out of season jobs, we are sorry that you were unsuccessful with the out of season roles. We will ensure we pass your comments on regarding lunch breaks, we would also like to investigate the further information regarding your department. Please email ATrecruitment@alton-towers.com with the required information. We hope to see you soon! Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alton Towers Resort Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alton Towers Resort? Share Your Experiences

    Alton Towers Resort logo
    or