Alzheimer's Society Reviews

Updated 5 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Alzheimer's Society Chief Executive Officer  Kate Lee (no image)
Kate Lee
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "I feel privileged to be involved with such a fantastic organisation making a real difference to people affected by dementia and their carers(in 13 reviews)

  • "people really care about the Society and put people affected by dementia at the heart of everything they do(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Charity restricted service delivery frustrations(in 10 reviews)

  • "Lots of senior management on very high salaries - interfere with people's work sometimes(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great Charity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legacy Officer in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    Great supportive charity that i love working for

    Cons

    None that comes to mind

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked in fundraising for over five years and still love it. Good opportunities to move around and experience new roles. The fundraising team has lots of energy and is finally being recognised as a key part of the charity. Things have progressed in a really great way since Kate and Alex started. I feel very connected to senior management, that they appreciate what we do and reward us for it. Wellbeing in particular has improved massively. People are amazing, so dedicated and friendly. Think I'll be here a while yet :)

    Cons

    Flexible working has become not so flexible - contract dictates where you work (home/office) and there isn't much flexibility. Also if you want to work different hours i.e 8-4 rather than 9-5, it needs manager approval which I don't agree with. We work hard so should be trusted to choose what hours we work each day to fit around our lives, without asking permission. Quite London focussed, although this is improving. Lots of decisions are made based on the experience of senior management who mainly work out of head office. Sometimes it's at odds with people who work regionally.

    Continue reading

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    May 4, 2021.

    Hi there and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of being an Alzheimer’s Society employee. It’s really great to see that you’ve been with us for over 5 years and are having such a positive experience that you plan to stay much longer! You raise lots of great pros about the organisation and it’s fantastic to see that efforts to improve communication between the Executive Team and the organisation are working well and that our recent drive on Wellbeing is making a difference for you. Thank you for raising this point about flexible working as we know this is so important to our people, especially at the moment. Wellbeing is an area we’re going to continue to focus on and we’re listening out for great new ideas all the time through lots of different channels like our recent innovation sprint or through your local Employee Forum. Thanks again for everything you’re doing as one of our amazing fundraisers. Your work allows us to make a massive difference for people affected by dementia and it’s so encouraging to see your passion for your work shine through your review. Best wishes, Alzheimer’s Society


  3. "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Fundraiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee wellbeing, such as time off for mental health/stress awareness months, very inclusive with sessions around different religious celebrations which is great. The entire organisation is also very inclusive and everyone is encouraged to bring their 'full self' to work!

    Cons

    Pay can be lower than direct competitors, however the leadership team is aware of this and trying to rectify over the coming years. Internal progression can be really difficult and is pretty much non existent, also development opportunities are few and far between.

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    May 4, 2021.

    Hiya and thanks so much for your review of what it’s like to work at Alzheimer’s Society. We’re really pleased to see that you’re having such a positive experience with us and in particular, it’s great to see that the steps we’ve taken around wellbeing and inclusion over the last year are making a real difference to your work life. We’re going to keep going with this work and we’re really excited that both Wellbeing and ED&I are in our 5 key priorities for the coming year so we’ll continue to drive improvements. The points you’ve raised around development and progression echo wider views on this topic. As you say, we’ve started work to address these areas but, keep an eye over the coming months as we’ll have even more to share here about growing our people and enabling them to progress. Thank you for everything you’re doing to raise vital funds to support people affected by dementia. Best wishes, Alzheimer’s Society

  4. "Compassionate workplace with amazing colleagues"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Organizational Development and Engagement in Manchester, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    I've always found it to be a caring, constructive, and exciting place to work - and this has improved even further in the past 12 months. The senior leaders and the CEO have been really open and honest and have created a really trusted space in the past year - genuinely listening and making compassionate decisions, and balancing pushing us forward to make a real difference to people with dementia, but also keep wellbeing and inclusivity high on the agenda. There are increasing opportunities to get involved in activities and project outside my role -and so many colleagues with incredible expertise, to learn from. There is a real sense of working together. And I have the most supportive team - both the team I lead, and the leadership team i'm part of. The right amount of constructive challenge, to help each other keep improving and innovating, and the right amount of care and support, - always someone at the other end of the phone.

    Cons

    Sometimes tries to do too much, which can slow down progress - but this has improved in the past 12 months

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    February 12, 2021.

    Hiya, and thank you very much for telling us how you feel about working at Alzheimer’s Society. It’s great to see you’re having such a positive experience and very encouraging to know you have such great support in your role. Your feedback on the organisation trying to do a bit too much is something we’re working on closely at the moment so thank you for raising this and it’s brilliant that you’re already seeing improvements in this area. We wish you all the best in your future career and thank you for everything you’re doing to help people affected by dementia in your work with us. Alzheimer’s Society

  5. "Compassionate and empowering"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and OD Manager in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    The society is an incredible place to work! Everyone is focused on the single aim of making life better for people affected by Dementia. We all play our small part in the bigger picture!

    Cons

    I have no cons, i wouldn't change a thing!

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    May 4, 2021.

    Hiya and thanks so much for your lovely review of working at Alzheimer’s Society. We’re really pleased to see that you’re enjoying your time so far and it’s fantastic to see that you feel part of our big team, focused on our goal of making life better for people affected by dementia. While all of our employees and volunteers are experts in their own areas, we’re all determined to make a difference and that shines through in your review. Thank you for everything your doing in your role and please do keep feeding back on your experience through our annual engagement survey, your local Employee Forum and all our other listening channels. Best wishes, Alzheimer’s Society

  6. "If you like being badly managed by people with a lot more confidence than competence, this is the place for you!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated colleagues. Low expectations. Free tea.

    Cons

    Chaotic, confused, badly managed, don’t care about their employees. This place is full of people who appear confident but have next to no clue what they’re doing. It’s an incredibly frustrating place to work.

    Continue reading
  7. "Excellent organisation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training & Development Manager in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    welcoming, open, committed team, great management

    Cons

    nothing of note to comment on

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    May 4, 2021.

    Hiya and thank you very much for sharing your experience of being an employee at Alzheimer’s Society. Your feedback on being welcome and open is really great to hear. This is something we focused on in our recent work to refresh our values with employees, volunteers, people affected by dementia and other organisations telling us our compassion was our greatest strength. We want to keep building on this in all areas of our work so everyone can have as great an experience as yourself. Thank you for everything you’ve done in your role with us to make life better for people affected by dementia and we wish you all the best in your future career. Best wishes, Alzheimer’s Society

  8. "Loved working at Alzheimer’s Society"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic cause, great driven people

    Cons

    The chair and some of the trustees - ego over cause

    Continue reading

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    May 4, 2021.

    Hi there and thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on working at Alzheimer’s Society. We’re really delighted to see that you had such a positive experience at the Society, as someone who was with us for such a long time, it’s great to hear that you loved your time here and have given such high scores for different aspects of the organisation. In particular, it’s great to see the passion for our cause and the determination of everyone who works here reflected in your response. This is something we’re so proud of at the Society and being there for people affected by dementia is always our number one priority. We wish you all the best for your future and thank you so much for everything you’ve done to support people affected by dementia over the last 8 years. Best wishes, Alzheimer’s Society

  9. "Enjoyable place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great cause ‘Get stuck in’ mentality across a lot of the team

    Cons

    Sometimes limited career progression, depending on your team

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    May 4, 2021.

    Hello and thanks for your kind review of Alzheimer’s Society. It’s fantastic to see that you enjoyed working with us for over 5 years. As you’ve said, the passion and can-do attitude of our colleagues is one of our greatest strengths as a charity and we’re so proud to have this as such a key part of our culture and see so many former colleagues like yourself praise this aspect of our work. Thank you for raising your views around career progression. We listen to our employees and volunteers in lots of different ways and over the past year, this is a theme which we’ve heard from our annual engagement survey, our work on values and other channels. We’ve made career development and progression one of our key priorities this year so watch this space as we’ll have more to share on this in the coming months. Thank you for everything you’ve done to support people affected by dementia in your time with us and we wish you all the best in your future career. Best wishes, Alzheimer’s Society

  10. "Excellent employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dementia Support Worker in Preston, North West England, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very focused on staff well-being, training and development

    Cons

    Sometimes not enough communication between different departments

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    April 13, 2021.

    Hiya and thanks so much for your positive review of working at Alzheimer’s Society! It’s fantastic to see that you had such a great experience and that you appreciate the emphasis we place on our people’s wellbeing. This is something which is really important to us, and we’re pleased that you’ve benefited from our flexible working and people focused culture. Thank you for raising this point about communicating between departments. This is something which came up in our recent work to refresh our values and we’re really exciting to be nudging our culture to make sure we’re Better Together and collaborating more effectively internally and externally. Thank you for everything you have done for people affected by dementia in your time with us and all the best for your future. Alzheimer’s Society

Viewing 1 - 10 of 129 Reviews

Popular Careers with Alzheimer's Society Job Seekers

Side By Side Coordinator
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Programmer Delivery Assistant
Learn About the Job
Internal Communications Officer
Learn About the Job

Work at Alzheimer's Society? Share Your Experiences

Alzheimer's Society logo
or