AmWINS Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AmWINS Group Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
AmWINS Group CEO M. Steven DeCarlo (no image)
M. Steven DeCarlo
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, take care of employees, great benefits(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good training, great company, a lot of opportunities(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Services 

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Great benefits. They are so good to their employees.

    Cons

    Would love higher pay, but feel it is fair pay.

    AmWINS Group2019-12-07
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Assistant in Buckhead, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and comfortable environment to be a part of.

    Cons

    None currently at the moment .

    AmWINS Group2019-11-14
  3. "A company that cares about its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Assistant in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmWINS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid holidays, weekends off, paid time off is reasonable, company outings

    Cons

    Sometimes work environment is too flexible other employees don’t take their job seriously

    AmWINS Group2019-11-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of growing room. The company is growing, the management is smart and experienced. The other people in the office are always helpful and from the day you start you can set yourself up for success by working hard.

    Cons

    Salary start is lower than other similar companies and positions.

    AmWINS Group2019-11-02
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Broker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with. Everyone is helpful and each day brings new ventures to tackle.

    Cons

    nothing negative to say.

    AmWINS Group2019-10-11
  6. "No work/life balance and no job security."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensing Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmWINS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay. Benefits. Location. Free Soda. Free Lunches often,

    Cons

    No work/life balance, No job security. Resistant to change. Developing friendships with coworkers is frowned upon.

    Advice to Management

    Challenge old ways of doing things by applying new technology and new ideas.

    AmWINS Group2019-11-07
  7. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Underwriter in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and ability to work from home

    Cons

    I haven't found any at this time.

    AmWINS Group2019-09-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great office culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time

    Pros

    I love working at Amwins. They have a lot of benefits, ability to grow/advance, and a real team feel to it. I have been here 5 years starting as a part time assistant, and now full time looking to spin out to be an Underwriter soon. Talking to directly to management is easy and welcomed and you can apply for different positions and different states if you desire.

    Cons

    I would say that there are some departments that do no function efficiently. But because management wants it to work that way there are no changes, even when there should be.

    AmWINS Group2019-08-20
  9. "Easy work but long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Specialist 

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time

    Pros

    other departments are very helpful. light work

    Cons

    micromanaging, someone is always watching how you work, they don't talk about hours to work but they want you 40+ hours a week,

    AmWINS Group2019-08-12
  10. "Nice company but very low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmWINS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great PTO, lots of treats, free soft drinks.

    Cons

    Low pay, management cares more about making friends then professionalism.

    Advice to Management

    Step your game up! You can keep the relaxed atomsphe and still hire professional people. Hire less people with no experience and raise the salary to get qualified candidates.

    AmWINS Group2019-08-22
Found 127 reviews