Amazon Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amazon Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 3 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
1,797 Ratings
  1. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Great culture and work life balance

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Amazon2020-02-29
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good but too much frugality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Ways of approaching problem solving - using documentation, reviews, pr faq * Very nice co-workers * Projects can be interesting * Flexibility to work outside of the office (either from home or for a few days in another country) * Operation processes

    Cons

    * Internal tools are causing lots of pains and reduce productivity. * Timelines for delivery are way too ambitious resulting either failing, losing on quality and generating stress for developers * Prioritisation often goes to feature delivery as opposed to quality * Frugality is sometimes ridiculous * Very slow career/salary progression (usually lower than inflation)

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-03-14
  3. "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in London, England

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    It is a very challenging company.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be stressful.

    Amazon2020-03-04
  4. "Top company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - travelling to seattle - Many opportunities - Smart people - Awesome office

    Cons

    - Very data-driven - Late meetings with Seattle

    Amazon2020-02-15
  5. "Awesome culture and great people to learn from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    - interesting projects - open, knowledgeable people - personal growth

    Cons

    - probably more frugal than some other big tech companijes

    Amazon2020-01-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Work Life Balance Isn't as bad as people say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazon pays well, offers interesting problems to work on and allows you to switch teams fairly easily if you get bored. They also offer free snacks, coffee and have great onsite food options in a nice office. I think work life balance can be manager dependent, but I've never had to work more than 8 hour days. I get to work from home up to 2 days a week, and work flexible hours. We are also free to come in late or leave early if we have personal matters to attend to.

    Cons

    Engineers at Amazon are expected to be owners, that means owning the whole service from start to end. This results in spending a lot of time doing DevOps work (managing server capacity, renewing SSL certificates etc). It also results in an oncall rota, where you can get paged 24/7 and have to fix a problem impacting customers. Getting promoted is also a long and document heavy process. It sometimes seems getting promoted to a higher level is harder than getting hired at that level.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great engineers yet the stressful environment might not be for everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have had the chance to work with amazing engineers and learn a lot from them. There are extremely talented engineers in the London office who are always willing to help others learn. The atmosphere within teams is generally friendly and it is quite social. There is a good variety of projects and teams which allows one to diversify their skills.

    Cons

    In certain areas the management style tends to be very aggressive setting unrealistic timelines purposefully which tends to put enormous pressure on individual contributors. Unfortunately, there aren't clear mechanisms for the company to support an individual's personal career development when it comes to further education.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-10
  8. "So far the best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is so many opportunities, so much to learn, such great people to work with

    Cons

    Same as everywhere but a lot less

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Nightmare scenario"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The salary is competitive with market rates * Interesting work and problems to solve

    Cons

    * Lots of politics and backstabbing * Very toxic work environment * Leadership principles

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-12-22
  10. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership principles are really helpful

    Cons

    Pay could be better (compared to the US is cheap)

    Amazon2019-11-18
Found 2740 reviews