Amazon "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amazon Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
21,729 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work environment (the environment is good at Amazon when compared to many other companies)(in 1711 reviews)

  • "Friendly fast paced always help you(in 1428 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance - this is not the place to work if you're expecting a strict 9-to-5 schedule(in 3085 reviews)

  • "Stressful work long hours from time to time(in 1708 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Empowered to define my own role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Management Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I felt very free to explore different capabilities within my role. I was given end goals, but didn't have prescribed ways I had to approach them. I was able to teach myself SQL while working and use that to help drive improvement and automation, while also developing my professional skillset moving forward. You are expected to take initiative and to move at a very fast pace, but it fit perfectly with how I prefer to do work.

    Cons

    UK team was much smaller than the American counterpart. This led to some difficulty at times managing to keep in stride with a team that simply had more bodies.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-11-16
  2. "Good if you don't mind ambiguity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, working with the best in the industry, fast-paced and innovative. Can own your own career .

    Cons

    Be prepared to figure things out for yourself, you own't get told what to do or how to do it.

    Amazon2019-11-08
  3. "Work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Head - Operations in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Empowering, fast paced, great people and very customer focused.

    Cons

    Work life balance, very changeable and quite clicky.

    Amazon2019-11-06
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Area Manager 

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced and exciting environment

    Cons

    Long hours, physically and mentally draining

    Amazon2019-10-09
  5. "great company to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analytics Manager in London, England

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    ever growing company with always new opportunities

    Cons

    it is a fast paced environnement

    Amazon2019-10-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Too frugal and very slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is Lots to learn from a lot of senior people. Very fast paced (Sometimes it's too much and can be stressful)

    Cons

    The company doesn't care of it's employee Salary wise, they would increase less than inflation even on a good performance! Career progression is super slow and so is salary increase, once in 3-6 years in a good case. perks are very little to none.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-11-11
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn, Autonomy in driving your specific area, Open and flexible culture

    Cons

    Not as fast paced as you’d think

    Amazon2019-09-30
  8. "Poor experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Pathways Operations Intern in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great brand to have on CV. - High impact projects. - Fast paced. - Good benefits. - Hard working floor workers.

    Cons

    - Poor listening culture (speak up and it will be held against you). - Lack of empathy, integrity, ownership and reflection from leadership. - Inconsistent expectations between interns. - Aggressive culture, with criticism often provided in front of an audience. - Lack of structure and regard for plans. - Weak exit process with questions still left unanswered re next steps.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-10-01
  9. "Hard but worthwhile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to make decisions, fast paced, lots of responsibilities

    Cons

    Sometimes have to work weekends

    Amazon2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Specialist in Shoreditch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Opportunity to grow/progression and promotion are achievable 2. Great team, friendly and inspiring & supportive 3. Fantastic management 4. Lovely office, good location (Shoreditch, UK), free fruit, pop-up restaurants, Benugo cafe in building, meditation rooms, yoga studio, flexi-working spaces 5. Work/life balance. I can WFH, work shorter days and longer days in a week depending on my plans after work 6. Last but not least competitive pay

    Cons

    1. Pressure to own your work & deliver results is high which can cause stress during busy periods 2. Your team might help but wider help in other supporting teams is difficult to get which can cause delays to work 3. Fast turnover, could mean your team changes in a 6-month period which can cause stress if you do not embrace change well 4. Work is very fast-paced so strong self-motivation and organisation is a required and very needed skill

    Amazon2019-08-08
Found 1718 reviews