Amazon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amazon Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
22,996 Ratings
Pros
  • "good work environment is a good thing(in 1801 reviews)

  • "great learning opportunities, fast paced organisation(in 1469 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "My favourite job position at the moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Packer in Neath, Wales

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved that no day was the same, I could just get on and get busy.

    Cons

    Long hours, can be exhausting

    Amazon2020-02-08
  2. "Was working as receiving, so had to pull out and open boxes whole night long for 10 hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good paid Free Parking Lots of benefits

    Cons

    Very Long Hours and Hard labour jobs

    Amazon2020-02-13
  3. "Peak-time Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very easy work, no real stress, good pay (especially nightshift)

    Cons

    Long hours can be pretty anti social

    Amazon2020-01-22
  4. "Great Place, Brand New, New Feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Fulfillment Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, great laugh. Decent team management. Benefits. One of the best employers for career opportunities.

    Cons

    Long hours, a shift with travel took up most of the day. Repeating the same things. Stowing is the exact same thing again & again.

    Amazon2020-01-13
  5. "Good Christmas job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Fulfillment Associate in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun things at peak period Meeting good friendly people Cheap breakfast and lunch Coach pick up/drop off

    Cons

    Long hours Very long walk out of warehouse to canteen Breaks not long enough

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Depends how far you want to rise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Growth potential realistically you can get to the top of the hierarchy -Wage is phenomenal especially if you progress -No dress code -Free coffee (dont get too excited its terrible) - Extremely social job -Travel in the first 6 months ( Luxembourg or Madrid sometimes poland for LBD and OLO) 4 days on, 3 off

    Cons

    Long hours Lots of tasks requiring you to prioritise Not enough short term incentives for managers

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-02
  7. "Tough environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Area Manager 

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    Shares, opportunity to relocate, culture

    Cons

    Long hours, cut throat environment,

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-15
  8. "RATES, RATES, RATES!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Picker/Packer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay when working nights

    Cons

    Long hours, depressing environment to work within. Management always on your case about hitting the rates (which are 2,000 items/hour)

    Amazon2020-01-07
  9. "overall not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 111 Call Handler 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good services, i liked the job

    Cons

    long hours, very tiring at some points

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-12-21
  10. "Amazon is a great company but it is not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very dynamic, exciting, provides a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    extremely long hours needed to meet targets and expectations, no work-life balance

    Amazon2020-01-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1792 reviews