Amazon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amazon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 22 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
23,118 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work Fast paced Exciting projects Intelligent people Work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing to say as cons

    Amazon2019-12-20
  2. "Fast-paced, creative and exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Challenging and fast-paced -Test and learn / two way door approach -Lean into all parts of the Amazon 'eco-system' to get the most out of it -High calibre of people to learn from -Flexible working

    Cons

    -Sometimes work/life balance is hard when trying to get a promotion, you have to play the game -Can feel like you don't make a huge impact as the company is very large -Not much travel

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-26
  3. "Work Life Balance Isn't as bad as people say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazon pays well, offers interesting problems to work on and allows you to switch teams fairly easily if you get bored. They also offer free snacks, coffee and have great onsite food options in a nice office. I think work life balance can be manager dependent, but I've never had to work more than 8 hour days. I get to work from home up to 2 days a week, and work flexible hours. We are also free to come in late or leave early if we have personal matters to attend to.

    Cons

    Engineers at Amazon are expected to be owners, that means owning the whole service from start to end. This results in spending a lot of time doing DevOps work (managing server capacity, renewing SSL certificates etc). It also results in an oncall rota, where you can get paged 24/7 and have to fix a problem impacting customers. Getting promoted is also a long and document heavy process. It sometimes seems getting promoted to a higher level is harder than getting hired at that level.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-24
  4. "Great brand to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Organisation to work for. Work from home.

    Cons

    Long working hours. Affects work life balance.

    Amazon2020-02-03
  5. "Great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior RME 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rewards Benefits Salary hours work life balance

    Cons

    Internal promotions Segregation of engineers Communication

    Amazon2020-01-07
  6. "Not 2 bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FC Associate in Doncaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good work life balance

    Cons

    Terrible managers, if working for agency ull need a morwcle to get set on now a days

    Amazon2020-01-06
  7. "Amazon is a great company but it is not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very dynamic, exciting, provides a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    extremely long hours needed to meet targets and expectations, no work-life balance

    Amazon2020-01-05
  8. "The Amazon's way!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reliability Engineer Maintenance Planner in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High achieving and challenging environment, surely a place for anyone who is up for a challenge

    Cons

    Not a place for anyone who appreciates a work-life balance.

    Amazon2019-12-14
  9. "Good if you don't mind ambiguity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, working with the best in the industry, fast-paced and innovative. Can own your own career .

    Cons

    Be prepared to figure things out for yourself, you own't get told what to do or how to do it.

    Amazon2019-11-08
  10. "Great company to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in London, England

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Endless learning possibilities, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Some people might not be skilled enough for the job they do.

    Amazon2019-11-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4072 reviews