Amec Foster Wheeler Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amec Foster Wheeler Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Amec Foster Wheeler CEO Jonathan Lewis (no image)
Jonathan Lewis
113 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "FWEL Civil Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Engineer in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loads of travel. Top clients and large projects from the very beginning.

    Cons

    Slow paced. Progression very slow and restricted and the business dependent on cyclical energy industry.

    Advice to Management

    Need to diversify offering and not bank entirely on the energy industry

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-11-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "HR Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent entry level organisation for HR,. Good exposure to systems and processes.

    Cons

    Low pay Lack of career progression No personal or professional development unless for teh 'selected' few.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management need to pay more attention to line managers.

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-11-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrendous company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some of the people, particularly those that were there when it was Entec and one of the best companies to work for.

    Cons

    Entec was bought by Amec and basically dismantled by them over a number of years. Staff who used to feel valued and part of the fabric of the company were marginalised, devalued and treated like numbers, and the company lost it's heart and soul.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all staff as valuable assets rather than lining your own pockets, crushing any scrap of morale left, and walking away.

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-12-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Amec Foster Wheeler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Not many after the Amec acquisition of Foster Wheeler

    Cons

    Amec ruined a good company (Foster Wheeler). Ended up in even more debt and sold out to Wood

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-12-01
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Great people and strong leadership

    Cons

    Not sure about impact of Wood

    Advice to Management

    Learn from both organisations when integrating

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-10-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Dictatorial leadership style. Managers not trusted to make decisions. Micro management

    Advice to Management

    Work with your people

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-11-10
  7. "Working at Amec Foster Wheeler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing specific I can report

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-09-25
  8. "Great people and challenging roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    I was given many great opportunities to work across the wider business and this resulted in lots of personal development for me. People are really willing to help. I had a positive experience throughout my 8 years at the company which saw a great deal of organisational change.

    Cons

    Leadership is inconsistent across the organisation resulting in very different cultures even within the UK.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the OUs and don't assume that one size will work for all

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-09-14
  9. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Share save, global company, great pension and healthcare

    Cons

    Being sold soon... so current management and values will change

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-09-18
  10. "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Expansion opportunities for E&I, interesting projects.

    Cons

    Do not look after people, HR, Recruitment and all systems are antiquated and prevent expansion.

    Advice to Management

    Carry out an independent review of salaries related to industry competitors and invest internally.

    Amec Foster Wheeler2017-09-13
Found 1096 reviews