American Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

American Airlines Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2609 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
998 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The long hours and living out of your suitcase for days on end can be challenging(in 76 reviews)

  • "Your senoir coworkers will be the rudest to passengers(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Good place to be at and great environment everyone is so friendly and hardworking

    Cons

    None to say about this it's a amazing place I would recommend to anyone to work here

    American Airlines2019-08-29
  2. "Be prepared for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As any accounting positions— hard work, lots of opportunities to learn, tight deadlines, problems to solve thus exciting, fast paced, never the same, very international

    Cons

    Boring daily routine tasks as plenty data entry

    Advice to Management

    more awareness attention to staff

    American Airlines2019-07-28
  3. "Premium Customer Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great company to work with.

    Cons

    I do love my job and the company who I work for.

    American Airlines2019-04-06
  4. "Good for travel and if you have bills to pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reservations Agent in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flights with reduced cost and increased pay for working bank holidays and weekends which happens every month

    Cons

    Extremely repetitive but you will be doing 3 jobs all at once depending on the call.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people, decrease call volume, start really listening to employees and give them tools to actually help customers

    American Airlines2018-12-28
  5. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits Easy work once trained up on systems Good pay

    Cons

    Employee appreciation can be lacking at times

    Advice to Management

    Have more staff recognition events More out of work team building get togethers to boost productivity.

    American Airlines2018-10-10
  6. "HR International Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    International and diverse teams, collaborative work environment, exposure to great global projects, travel benefits

    Cons

    International employees don't get that access to promotion opportunities as US/ HQ employees

    Advice to Management

    Think more globally and assess global talent

    American Airlines2018-10-03
  7. "AA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nothing positive, probably the flight benefit

    Cons

    Work-life balance US airways management team

    Advice to Management

    please respect who work hard

    American Airlines2018-10-20
  8. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    -Travel Benefits -Normal salaries -Good environment: Awesome colleagues! -All AA employees are a family

    Cons

    - Difficult to jump to the US if working overseas - Big company so not a chance to get your ideas heard - You're just a number

    American Airlines2018-06-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Premium service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Premium Service Representative in Heathrow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is great department to work for, as your are dealing with their elite customers

    Cons

    Unfair treatment, if you know the right people you will get away with alot

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees the same

    American Airlines2018-04-22
  10. "Passenger Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, Reliable Colleagues, Excellent work ethic

    Cons

    So far none to be said

    American Airlines2017-08-23
Found 2609 reviews