American Airlines Employee Reviews about "travel benefits"

Updated 23 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 412 of over 4K reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
1,769 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight benefits are really great(in 583 reviews)

  • "Travel benefits are good for vacations(in 388 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours during a stressful period(in 107 reviews)

  • "Some people aren't interested in caring for passengers as much as others(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "travel benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company for aviation enthusiast

      29 Jun 2020 - Reservations Agent in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management, good work-life balance, travel benefits.

      Cons

      Lack of career opportunities in some countries.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Average conditions

      16 Oct 2019 - Senior Key Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      training, decent salary starting from 7y of seniority, travel benefits

      Cons

      poor career opportunity for the type of organisation outside US, Texas mind-set organisation, not global thinking, not easy to move globally, no temporary assignment, travel policy very restrictive, poor pensiona plan in UK and very poor medical insurance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Intern, more than 3 years

      Company, living in the past.

      8 Oct 2018 - Analyst in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel benefits, sometimes you can travel first or business at a low price (if there are empty seats).

      Cons

      Company culture remains in the mid fiftieths. You get promoted by staying in the company for many years and agreeing with what management says all the time. Also you need to know somebody. Based in previous point you can expect low level of skills, knowledge of the employees. Worst place I ever worked.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      HR International Team

      3 Oct 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      International and diverse teams, collaborative work environment, exposure to great global projects, travel benefits

      Cons

      International employees don't get that access to promotion opportunities as US/ HQ employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fun and got to travel a lot.

      14 Jun 2014 - Import Clearance Agent/ULD Coordinator in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The travel benefits of working for an airline are fantastic and I was very luck to see so many great places. There is also a real buzz of working at a busy international airport.

      Cons

      There was no real career progression within the company. Unsociable shifts and that the salary was not competitive were major factors in my decision to leave.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      OK company..

      15 Dec 2014 - Airline Check In in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team. Get to meet lovely people and the travel benefits are good.

      Cons

      Woeful training. Morale not high due to how treated by management. A feeling of being under valued....pay very low.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      great for travel lovers; at times frustrating

      27 Apr 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Massive company: opportunity to grow and learn new things Brilliant travel benefits

      Cons

      Slow Very US focused not necessarily the best pool of talented people I have ever seen

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best job I've ever had

      22 Jan 2021 - American Airlines Flight Attendant in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get paid to travel. Travel benefits for you, your family and friends. Flexible schedule. Pay and schedule flexibility increases with seniority so there's an incentive to stay. Represented by a union so job security is there.

      Cons

      Away from home so not the best career for those with young kids or pets. But it's still very manageable! Have to work early mornings and very late nights. Not uncommon to work 14+ hour shifts but there's usually enough time for breaks in between flights and your layovers make up for it. All in all it's still very much worth it in my opinion. The only true downside is the industry volatility.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company but tough industry

      13 Aug 2020 - Project Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Very diverse company, all races, sexual orientations, etc are accepted. I'm a Caucasian white male but I loved how open we were as a company, it truly was a family -Great travel benefits -Working for a truly global organization, I have met colleagues from nearly all continents

      Cons

      -Airline industry is tough! Could spend 5-10 years building up a career path for the whole industry to fall apart..... I first joined AA right after 2009 bankruptcy and left due to job cuts during COVID. So take this part seriously.... -If travel isn't important to you could likely get paid more at another job. My peers from vendors often made more than me even though I had what appeared to be more complex work (often $20k or more per year above my pay). However if you travel often you could easily save ~$20k in travel expenses by using your Airline benefits

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Dont

      2 Nov 2020 - Fleet Service Clerk in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health insurance and travel benefits

      Cons

      Everything else. It's bad. Very bad

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 412 Reviews

    Popular Careers with American Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at American Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    American Airlines logo
    or