Find jobs for Customer Service Representative

American Family Insurance Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated 18 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
American Family Insurance President & CEO Jack Salzwedel
Jack Salzwedel
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "One of the worst experiences I have ever encountered in my professional life."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The majority of people that work here are great. It's surprising, considering how garbage the company actually is.

    Cons

    Virtually everything about the company and management.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-05-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, work from home opportunities

    Cons

    Pay, changing teams and structure constantly.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-03-31
  3. "Great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and Sales Representative in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great staff and company. Respect the CEO

    Cons

    Paid hourly but not a big deal.

    American Family Insurance2019-10-24
  4. "Great workplace with great benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, people, goals, and benefits

    Cons

    There are periods of time where there are a lot of changes, but it is all to better the company.

    American Family Insurance2019-08-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "American Family Insurance Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Got to deal with a variety of customers that made your job easier or something to learn from. - Learned the skills of how to run and assist in an insurance office.

    Cons

    - Had to get certified within the state for both property and auto. Varies per state.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2019-06-12
  6. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for and you usually have a good support network to help with in case you are stuck with tough customers.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to deal with really unruly customers who will never be pleased, but that's the business of insurance.

    American Family Insurance2019-04-25
  7. "Customer Service"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had flexible hours, enjoyed working with my co-workers

    Cons

    worked for an individual agent, a lot of drama from the customers, agent was not in the office a lot. Didn't get a raise in entire time of employment.

    American Family Insurance2019-04-20
  8. "It was ok"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at American Family Insurance part-time

    Pros

    The hours and stability

    Cons

    Everything else plus my agent I worked for

    American Family Insurance2019-04-19
  9. "CSR"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at American Family Insurance part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had a flexible boss

    Cons

    No benefits- dependent on hours

    American Family Insurance2019-02-08
  10. "Good Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the insured's and enjoyed helping them

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits when working at an agents office

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2019-01-25
Found 54 reviews