American Family Insurance Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
American Family Insurance President & CEO Jack Salzwedel
Jack Salzwedel
408 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Just say no!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A paycheck, but you will earn every penny of it and then some!

    Cons

    Workload is atrocious, plan on 10-12 hr days. People are quitting or getting fired all the time!

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-05-11
  2. "take great care of their employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Representative in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    top concern was to give customers a good experience

    Cons

    insurance field isn't for everyone

    American Family Insurance2020-04-06
  3. "Not a bad place to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, good benefits, independents, flexible hours, 5/4 week day, a lot of PTOS for new employees

    Cons

    Not a lot of training. Mediocre Actuarial study program, not a very high salary bumps for each passed exam.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-04-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, work from home opportunities

    Cons

    Pay, changing teams and structure constantly.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-03-31
  5. "Great benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Liability Claims Adjuster in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and front line managers

    Cons

    not enough time to complete daily tasks

    American Family Insurance2020-04-03
  6. "property and casualty"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Agent 

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Flexibilty, compensation, freedom, meet people, help people

    Cons

    Build your own business, long hours, self starting, low income to start, have to move up to see money

    American Family Insurance2020-03-30
  7. "Give it a try - where dreams come true!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    engaging culture, supportive managers, focus on learning and development, community focus

    Cons

    can't think of any right now

    American Family Insurance2020-03-05
  8. "Great support & company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many resources maid available to help run your business. Peers were available to teach me the ropes of running a business. Management cared about people.

    Cons

    Not enough travel. Wish we had meetings in other states more.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-02-27
  9. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Compensation Analyst in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance

    Pros

    Flexible, caring, fast pace, changing

    Cons

    Culture can be pro and con

    American Family Insurance2020-02-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great benefits but terrible leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Systems Manager in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incentive program, 401K, lots of PTO and good work life balance

    Cons

    Terrible leadership, No trust from upper management

    American Family Insurance2020-03-11
Found 961 reviews