American Greetings Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
American Greetings CEO Joe Arcuri
Joe Arcuri
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "The job allows you to have a flexible schedule so there's a great work/life balance(in 68 reviews)

  • "This position was flexible hours, so you could make your own schedule(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover with the part-time merchandisers can be challenging to manage(in 32 reviews)

  • "This is a great part time job for extra money for retirees (like me)(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Greetings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Management is very helpful.

    Cons

    No Cons. Great company to work for.

    American Greetings2020-05-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay with lots of work!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Merchandiser in Elk Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Greetings part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I felt that my supervisor was "hands-off" & let me run my accounts the way I saw fit as long as they were profitable & happy. She was helpful during the holidays if I needed an extra hand or to vent. I considered her a friend, & I really liked her a lot until the end of my employment...

    Cons

    A couple of times during my employment with AG I was ripped off -- the first time my phone was stolen, the second time my wallet was stolen. Full disclosure: There is NO WHERE for a vendor to store their personal items like purses, wallets or phones. When I alerted my supervisor of my loss (especially when my wallet was stolen which included my driver's license, several credit cards which were compromised, etc.) I got no response or help whatsoever. I decided at that time that I'd had enough & sent in my resignation letter with 2 weeks notice so I could help find a replacement for my route. My supervisor called me a couple of days later saying that she "didn't read my resignation letter & wasn't aware I'd given 2 weeks notice", & terminated me as of the day I sent in my resignation email. Of course I would give 2 weeks notice -- I don't waste my time working for someone for 3 years & not give notice! So, basically AG severed ties with me without even reading my resignation letter!!! Needless to say, I was deeply disappointed that this company that I had given several years of service to decided to cut me off. I felt bad for not being able to wrap up loose ends & for not being able to say goodbye to the friends I had made at my accounts. It was disturbing, but perhaps it was prophetic since the greeting card industry is going down hard & fast.

    Continue reading
    American Greetings2020-05-02
  3. "Organized and Thorough"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Greetings part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, provide you with a tablet and scanner almost immediately, kind co-workers, assigned stores close to home

    Cons

    Pay is a little lower than industry standard in my experience

    Continue reading
    American Greetings2020-04-01
  4. "you get what you put in"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Greetings part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive uplifting team, meet new people

    Cons

    Management in stores can be a pain sometimes

    American Greetings2020-04-01
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sinking Ship. Stay Away."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Specialist in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Greetings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    State of art building in Croker Park. By the way it is leased property, not owned. Excellent cafeteria, starbucks on campus, Greetings card store. Good salary, 401k contribution, learning opportunities and good team culture.

    Cons

    Greetings Cards business itself is struggling since last several years. Fact is new generations are not into Greeting Cards. AG business lacks innovation. Company recently taken over by NY based investment firms. Since then layoffs, restructuring and reducing team size, closing operations is the only way to curb the cost. They have stopped all major long-term strategic projects and focus is towards cost cutting. 80 percent workforce furloughed due to Covid19 situation. Even if they resume, there is already too much uncertainty and work pressure. Although I loved working here, unfortunately I don't see light towards end of the tunnel. Stay away.

    Continue reading
    American Greetings2020-04-26
  6. "Neutral"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Elizabethtown, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Greetings part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, good hours, Time management skills learned

    Cons

    No benefits, no room for advancement, fulltime hours needed

    Continue reading
    American Greetings2020-03-18
  7. "Great Flexible Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Greetings part-time

    Pros

    You can make your own schedule

    Cons

    Corporate treats every store like they are the same, which every store is different

    Continue reading
    American Greetings2020-03-12
  8. "Fun, but no hours"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Greetings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my managers, very cooperative and understanding

    Cons

    A lack of hours to work, often handed one one hour shift for 2 weeks

    American Greetings2020-02-25
  9. "Part Time Is Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Representative in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at American Greetings part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours For those that have children.

    Cons

    Asked to do non related tasks because always short handed.

    American Greetings2020-02-05
  10. "Terrible unkind management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Greetings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of free time bc you won’t be working

    Cons

    High expectations for little pay

    Continue reading
    American Greetings2020-03-09
Found 686 reviews