American Institutes for Research Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

American Institutes for Research Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
American Institutes for Research President, CEO and Director David Myers
David Myers
152 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company, great work life balance(in 35 reviews)

  • "The organization also has really good benefits, such as PTO that rolls over from year to year with no cap on the amount you can amass(in 31 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "AIR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, good benefits, remote work flexibility, interesting research projects and proposals.

    Cons

    A lot of individual work and administrative work (as part of research).

    American Institutes for Research2019-12-10
  2. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits. Flexible work schedule. Wonderful work environment in HR.

    Cons

    Challenging clients, with higher than outside market hiring expectations.

    American Institutes for Research2019-12-02
  3. "Very progressive and innovative company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ever expanding into latest technology to keep the company competitive.

    Cons

    Rapid growth over recent years have introduced some unsavory characters into the workplace

    American Institutes for Research2019-11-21
  4. "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Institutes for Research full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -I get to work with some really awesome people -Lots of opportunities for finding mentors and learning new skills -Some projects have opportunities for travel, but not so often that it would be a burden -A huge range of different projects you can work on. If you're vocal early on you can network yourself onto projects in topics you're interested and that focus on skills you want to grow in -Good benefits, lots of flexibility for work schedule, working from home etc. -Lots of independence -People are very approachable--happy to offer help, advice, and friendship -Lack of structure can feel like either a curse or a blessing. If you're clear with yourself about what you want to get out of your time at AIR, and if you're willing to show the initiative, you can make it happen

    Cons

    -Very hierarchical in terms of career path, need a masters to move up to Associate and terminal degree (PhD typically) for Researcher or higher. They offer tuition assistance though. -Downside of flexibility is that the office can feel kind of dead sometimes. But junior staff are always around, so it's easy to make friends -Getting onto projects can be a little stressful in the beginning -Pay is kind of low, but not unusual for starter non-profit salaries. It's perfectly adequate for single living in DC with student loans

    Continue reading
    American Institutes for Research2019-11-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Management and the board should be ashamed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good. You get to telecommute (officially 3 days a week, though most people take 5, because no one really manages anyone around here).

    Cons

    *Most offices are ghost towns. *There is no company culture. *Turnover is ridiculously high. *There are way too many VPs and equivalents. *Professional Services revenue has been flat for years. *Nobody at the Executive level is competent enough to run a Taco Bell, much less a company of this size. Honestly, not even our CEO would be more than a mid-level manager at a Fortune 500 company. *The only high growth, financially sound element of this company (which, no surprise, was not overseen by the CEO) is currently being sold off as "we don't know how to successfully grow it further". Of course, under that logic, we should sell everything. I'm not sure what the CEO's job is, but I'm guessing growing the company is a kind of a big part of it.

    Continue reading
    American Institutes for Research2019-12-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "5"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Developer in Washington, DC
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good but sale eliminating them to a great extent

    Cons

    Poor work culture and lack of advancement opportunities

    American Institutes for Research2019-11-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, commute assistance, tuition reimbursement., We have been given a room to pray and prepare parties to celebrate Muslim holidays such as Eid thats what impressed me as a Muslim.

    Cons

    Noting popping up to my mind right now

    American Institutes for Research2019-10-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Services Researcher 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, great work life balance

    Cons

    Slow to advance employees into higher positions

    American Institutes for Research2019-10-22
  9. Helpful (7)

    "A pig with lipstick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good colleagues - Benefits are decent - Bagels on Wednesdays? - That DAILY stench of urine outside of the office. It really motivates you to get INTO the office when there are no bagels on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.

    Cons

    - Can't win recompetes. Just laid off 30 staff with little notice. No bench and don't expect anyone to help you find other projects. - There is absolutely no mobility within this organization. Don't believe me? Ask your recruiter or hiring manager to give you promotion data for your position, team, and department if you interview. - The sale of the Assessment division leaves the future of the organization up in the air (no pun intended). The Georgetown office looks like a war zone. - This organization preys on visa-seekers, temp workers, contractors, and recent graduates. If you are a visa-seeker or temp worker expect to be strung along for some time. Ask your recruiter for data about successful sponsorships or temp conversions to AIR employees. - On that note, compensation is not competitive if you don't manage people. Comp strategy is to pay an egregious salary to an "experienced" people manager and hope their knowledge trickles down to less experienced staff that are actually doing the day-to-day work. - Do not expect ANY LEGITIMATE TRAINING or PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT. Following the dryest orientation you can imagine, albeit a perfect reflection of the organization's culture, you can expect to be thrown into the deep end of the pool and swim. At some point your manager will probably point you towards a LinkedIn Learning video to brush up your skills. - Organization is siloed to its detriment. Good luck if you need help; it will take days and endless bureaucratic back and forth. - Don't expect feedback unless you fail. I've been here for two years and have not once had a performance review or been approached by my manager to discuss anything related to my future plans, areas for improvement, etc.. THE ORGANIZATION (including your boss) does not care. They know you will eventually leave and they'll just replace you with another CHEAP body. - Your managers are sheep. They will not stump for you and if you voice concerns about development, compensation, etc. expect them to fall on deaf ears. - David Myers will approve your annual 3-4% raise on your less than competitive salary and tell you to be happy with it because you're working for a prestigious research institution. He is nothing more than a white-toothed salesman selling snake oil

    Continue reading
    American Institutes for Research2019-10-23

    American Institutes for Research Response

    November 19, 2019President and Chief Executive Officer

    I appreciate that you took the time to write a review. Our people are the most important asset we have at AIR, and that is why we value and invest in them so deeply. Staff frequently comment about how much they admire their co-workers and appreciate the chance to collaborate with them. In fact, attracting, retaining and developing exceptional talent is one of AIR’s strongest competitive differentiators. While no organization is perfect, your feedback about our internal processes doesn’t align with the evidence. For instance, our track record for retaining existing client work, and winning new client work, has been very stable and illustrates why we are one of the world’s largest behavioral and social science research organizations. Similarly, promotions happen every year at AIR, across every division of our organization. And when we needed to modify staffing levels recently due to the conclusion of some work, we preserved more than 80% of the staff by employing creative approaches to align their skills with existing projects and work in the pipeline. While the sale of our assessment division is a big change, it was a strategic decision that will allow us to grow and expand into new areas of work. Through that process, we believe our staff will see even more opportunities for upward mobility. Feedback is important to us at AIR, and we proactively and visibly encourage staff to share their thoughts and views on a myriad of topics. When you have questions or concerns about anything—from our facilities to administrative matters—I hope you use those channels. Thank you again for the review. –David Myers, CEO

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "You have an opportunity to grow your own work and work with talented people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in New Orleans, LA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Institutes for Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really loved the excellent benefits and great flexibility.

    Cons

    There is no work-life balance. The company has a business model that makes life very stressful. You are constantly having to look for work projects unless you are in the clique. The percentage of time for each project is too small and unrealistic, which contributes to a poor work-life balance. In this way you are actually working for free. The company is also very top heavy with over paid upper management staff who are out of touch with staff. There is no transparency, so you have to be able to read between the lines. The company is a revolving door. There are always lay-offs or employees leaving for whatever reason. The organizational structure is confusing. The company boasts of its promotion of diversity, but it really doesn’t do a good job in this area.

    Continue reading
    American Institutes for Research2019-10-21
Found 389 reviews