Amey Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated 16 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Amey Acting CEO Amanda Fisher
Amanda Fisher
34 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company, but low pay"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amey full-time

    Pros

    Good people Nice atmosphere Vouchers available to buy

    Cons

    Low pay Long hours to cope with workload

    Amey Response

    January 18, 2019Digital Customer Service Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to send your review. We appreciate what you’re saying and would advise speaking to your line manager to see if you can address these issues.

  2. "ok experience"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in London, England

    I worked at Amey full-time

    Pros

    People are nice and good atmosphere

    Cons

    low pay, pay is a lot lower, and tools are very basic

    Amey Response

    September 18, 2020Digital Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for your comments, any concerns you may have, please speak to your line manager.


  3. "Worked at Amey full time for 9 years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amey full-time

    Pros

    Good promotion opportunities Great colleagues Nice facilities

    Cons

    Low pay in market Poor communication

    Continue reading

    Amey Response

    September 18, 2020Digital Customer Service Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

  4. "Not impressed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Liverpool, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amey full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working hours possible, possibility of changing contract for different one

    Cons

    low pay, no training, outsourcing, lots of red tape

    Amey Response

    September 19, 2019Digital Customer Service Manager

    We appreciate the comments, thank you.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Grade III Carpenter in Wolviston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amey full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None at all for people at the bottom, basically anyone who doesn't wear a shirt and tie.

    Cons

    No training available for progression, low pay, take on more agency non skilled employees who earn more than the experienced tradesmen, get your pay wrong, get your holiday wrong, managers do not listen.

    Continue reading
  6. "Severn Trent Water Contract"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Planner in Stafford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amey full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have your own geographical area to look after, and most of the time you can organize things in your own way.

    Cons

    Unfair distribution of workload, low pay, no appreciation, stress, poor management, unpaid lunch break (one hour), overtime, favouritism, no flexibility.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Electrical Engineer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amey

    Pros

    Large company operating in many fields. Seems management are serious and ambitious about growth, reality remains to be seen.

    Cons

    Nepotism is strong. Salary low, pay rises take over 6 months to process and are not backdated. Training and investment in staff low. Hard working competent staff leave out of frustration of not being valued or paid what they are worth.

    Continue reading

    Amey Response

    January 8, 2018Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for leaving a review. We take on board all your comments and we’ll be sure to pass your feedback onto the relevant teams.

  8. "There is a lot of scope for growth, however the constant cost cutting makes working there extremely stressful."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amey full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good growth and exposure to multiple markets. There used to be a more casual and relaxed atmosphere when Mel Ewell was CEO. The Hr team was lovely to work with as colleagues.

    Cons

    Mediocre to low pay grades, there is little job security. Very strong process related culture which translates to a lot of bureaucracy.

    Continue reading

    Amey Response

    September 28, 2017Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for leaving a review. During your time with us, you’ll have undoubtedly seen considerable changes in the business as we adapt to the changes in the market and we’re currently reviewing our structure to make us even more responsive and agile. We really appreciate all feedback and will pass your comments on.

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Not the place to be.."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Graduate in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amey full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Variety of work across a wide range of services Located across the whole of the country Access to senior management

    Cons

    Lack of support and guidance from senior members in the business Lack of opportunities Low pay compared to the rest of the market Don't value talent Not bothered about your development Not social

    Continue reading

    Amey Response

    February 6, 2017Resourcing

    Hello. Thanks for getting in touch, we're really sorry to hear that you do not feel supported in your current role. If you haven't already spoken to your manager about this, we'd really recommend that you raise your concerns with them. We have passed your feedback to the Emerging Talent Team who will look into this further.

  10. "Good for Graduate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amey

    Pros

    Secure job, training and holidays

    Cons

    Low pay and repeatable works

    Amey Response

    November 25, 2016Reosurcing

    Hello and thank you for your review. We're really happy that you value role and training. With regards to your salary and role responsibilities, if you haven’t already spoken to your manager about this, we’d really recommend that you raise this as soon as possible.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 English Reviews
</>Embed