Anadarko Petroleum Employee Reviews about "9 80 schedule"

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 456 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Anadarko Petroleum President & CEO R. A. Walker (no image)
R. A. Walker
243 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great workplace, good work life balance(in 54 reviews)

  • "Schedule- You can work a 9/80 schedule--(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some of the upper management and politics(in 14 reviews)

  • "While Anadarko is very modern in terms of Oil and Gas there are still ways it would lag behind more software-oriented companies(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "9 80 schedule"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Very good

      Aug 22, 2019 - Engineer in Spring, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and salary 9-80 schedule Gym facilities

      Cons

      Culture is declining Management Culture declining

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Industry Leading Benefits/Lack of vision beyond next quarterly statement

      Mar 24, 2019 - Geologist in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Combine PTO with 9/80 schedule and paid holidays and you work less days than a school teacher. Great bonus program and benefits package. Peer leading maternity/paternity leave. If you have the unfortunate luck of being marooned in Midland you are paid a 25% “geographic premium” which means a big fat paycheck, and the bar for Midland employees’ work product is pretty low. A culture that fosters physical fitness, I.e. beautiful fitness centers (at The Woodlands campus) and long lunches. Cafes are exquisite and prices for food are low in The Woodlands campus. The community around The Woodlands office is amazingly beautiful, well thought-out, and cheap! Most managers are accommodating to flexible and unique work schedules. Bottom line, if you are willing to put up with a crappy culture and lucky enough to be in working in The Woodlands office it’s like getting paid to do almost nothing and living/working in Disney World.

      Cons

      Management at all levels are inept, which is shocking given the size of the company. Corporate culture went in the crapper in the downturn and never recovered. Midland office debacle. Denver office in peril of closing.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      Mar 25, 2019 - GeoTech in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fitness center, 9/80 work schedule, great benefits

      Cons

      No cons to report. Great experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Company that Cares - New parental leave policy is a gamechanger

      Aug 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Aside from the 9/80 schedule, great retirement benefits, generous PTO allocation and opportunity for bonus - the newest parental leave policy is a game changer for my family. After utilizing the short-term disability, I was able to take an additional 4 weeks of paid time off to be with our newest addition. It gave me the peace of mind that I could take the time I needed to bond and develop our new normal after our family grew. After I returned, I was offered an awesome opportunity which was also comforting to know that while I was out being a mom, my career didn't suffer.

      Cons

      None that I can think of at this time.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Engineer

      Apr 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      9/80's for corporate folks.

      Cons

      Politics abound. Too much inbreeding (promoting from within, regardless of skill or talent). Doesn't seem like managers or supervisors are trained by HR in anything, or if they, are they are not being assessed for competency. Decisions being made are to benefit the old boy network, over safety or getting the job done right. Core values have no meaning anymore.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Contractor

      Great company to work for!

      Mar 7, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Anadarko is a great company to work. I was placed here for a 6 month contract, and so far I have loved it. Everyone is very welcoming and does their best to make you feel at home. Mostly everyone works a 9/80 schedule so that's also a plus!

      Cons

      There is nothing bad about working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Not the same company

      Feb 7, 2018 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of vacation time and 9/80 schedule but that’s pretty standard among all oil and gas companies

      Cons

      Terrible leadership. Lots of new managers that don’t know what they’re doing. Serious lack of technical skills in Operations and Production engineering which led to many incidents last year. Low pay compared to peers. Weird culture that seems cultish. IT seems as if they do everything in their power to make your life miserable.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Reorganisition Organisation

      Dec 7, 2017 - Geophysicist in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      9/80's , attractive workforce,

      Cons

      Bloated, political, process trumps production

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Supply Chain Rep

      Nov 28, 2017 - Supply Chain in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-Life balance, Paid Time Off, 9/80 Schedule

      Cons

      Salary and compensation is low for my field.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Grew too fast without checks and balances

      Jul 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay was slightly above average to my industry peers. The PTO was excellent in addition to the 9/80 work schedule. When management "favored" you, you got the backing to do what was needed (and in the best interest of the company, anyways...)

      Cons

      Good old boy system dominates culture, no matter what HR says. Many in management, from supervisors up to VPs, should not be in management. The growth APC underwent promoted many who should never have been promoted in the beginning. Period. HR did not override favoritism which dominates during times of layoffs.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews

    Work at Anadarko Petroleum? Share Your Experiences

    Anadarko Petroleum logo
    or