Anglian Water Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Anglian Water Reviews

Updated 18 July 2018
107 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

107 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Quite a lot to learn - takes about a year to feel fully comfortable" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Red tape, lack of progression unless your tongue is firmly placed up someone who has authority, or if your face fits" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Best place to work in the region"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    With a clear direction from the top and a friendly working environment
    together with flexible working, I found the life balance is the best I have had.

    To top this off there is a great ethos throughout the organisation and found everyone I have dealt with very friendly and focused on achieving the same goals.

    The company clearly values and looks after employees as great benefits are offered, one of which first attracted me is the training on offer.

    Cons

    The IT doesn't always work but in a large company there is always issue's like this.

    Anglian Water Response

    15 Jun 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks very much for a 5 star review and pleased you have enjoyed your first year. There are a number of on-going projects to improve our IT so we should start to see improvements soon.


  2. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    If you get within the right team and department its a fab company to work for. We can now buy extra annual leave.
    Lots of perks like private health care, financial help, discounts on EE, gym membership and many more.
    Pay is ok for the area and the overtime rates are extremely good.
    There is a yearly bonus too if you work hard and hit targets.

    Cons

    Had a few bad managers in my time here. Seems maybe its more common to have a poor manager than a good one.
    As a woman I don't feel there is too much progression for management. New managers that are woman are brought from outside the business. The talent within the business is overlooked.
    Also its the kind of place where its not what you know but who you know.

    Advice to Management

    When processes get changed perhaps work with the people who do the day job to see how the changes would affect them before implementing things and truly listen. Just because you are in a position of power doesn't always mean you know best.
    Try giving people a chance that you don't know instead of recruiting your pals. There is way to much of this with in AW.

  3. "programme manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in Peterborough, England
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good varied work
    good networking oppurtunities

    Cons

    Poor salary
    Quite stressful
    Highly disorganised organisation
    Double standards
    No recognition

    Advice to Management

    Be better.
    Realise what you are asking for and actually have an understanding of it
    Do as you say, not say what you would do.
    Recoginise performance in a meaningful way.
    Look after your people as you are reliant on them


  4. "Anglian water newbie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Agent in Basildon, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Collections Agent in Basildon, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pension, health care and saving schemes. Union availability and support. Full intensive but fun filled training.
    Very friendly and welcoming colleagues.
    Fair pay for a fair days work.

    Cons

    Working alone in some undesirable areas late at night. Late finishing times due to standby shifts. Not enough collection techs.

    Advice to Management

    Speed up the joining process and training dates. This could all be done within weeks rather than months and months.

    Anglian Water Response

    15 Jun 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Welcome to Anglian Water and thanks for a 5 star review. Please do speak with your manager or HR Business Partner if you need support regarding your shifts etc.


  5. "Raising the bar in customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Lincoln, England
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Industry leading business with a fantastic culture and career progression opportunities. Anglian Water is not only the sector leader but has been voted the No.2 place only second to Google. In my opinion this is very well deserved and long overdue. I joined Anglian Water for a change of job but found a career. After 27 years I still wouldn't want to go anywhere else - if you get the opportunity, you won't regret it.

    Cons

    Working in the industry everyone loves to knock can have its downsides but the opportunities to deliver outstanding customer service results gives a real job satisfaction.

    Advice to Management

    The investment you have made in your employees has got the company to the top of it's sector. The investment you are making in your customers is now delivering service that competes not only on a national but at a global level. Keep up the momentum and thanks for the opportunities.

    Anglian Water Response

    15 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks very much for 5 star review, we are really pleased to hear about your positive 27 years with us and long may it continue!


  6. "Best job to date"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time

    Pros

    Friendly working environment
    Opportunity to be involved in value added projects
    Flexible working
    Strong ethics

    Cons

    Some out dated systems (New systems arriving soon) which slow down progress
    Slow internet networks

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade internet connections to give teams the tools to deliver increase efficiency

    Anglian Water Response

    15 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review and giving us 5 stars. We do understand some of our IT based challenges and as you mention have a number of programmes in place to improve this... More


  7. "Lots of opportunities - Strong values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time

    Pros

    If you are willing to put in the work, you will achieve a lot while working for Anglian Water.

    Cons

    The industry regulation can inhibit creativity but this is not specific to Anglian Water.

    Anglian Water Response

    15 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    We really appreciate your positive review and 5 star rating, thanks for taking the time to do this.

  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water (More than a year)

    Pros

    People are great and very supportive, flexible working, there is a real sense of community. My manager is great!

    Cons

    The IT doesn't always work, but they are working hard to improve this.

    Anglian Water Response

    15 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks very much for a 5 star review and we are really pleased you find it a supportive place to work.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "This Company Is Like Family... BEST EXPERIENCE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jason Ramsey in Huntingdon, England
    Current Employee - Jason Ramsey in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fantastic Pay, Management who care for you, Private Healthcare, Amazing Pension, Family Like Atmosphere, Extra perks like gym memberships for cheap, Meeting amazing people, Clear yearly reviews to help guide your career and an amazing performance bonus system. Love it!

    Cons

    Progression is serious and that is reflected in the pay increase between bands. However it is also difficult and you shouldn't expect to join and get promoted to management in the first year. You need to establish some work ethic and reputation on your current job first.

    Advice to Management

    I work as a manager to a team of 10, but my manager does a fantastic job with me. My advice would be to continue to challenge and encourage growth in your team leaders and we will continue to do the same to our team.

    Anglian Water Response

    15 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    A big thank you for leaving a 5 star review, its great to see you are enjoying your role.


  10. "Working at Anglian Water"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Huntingdon, England
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours
    Welcoming environment.
    Strong work ethics.
    Well paying job.
    Job security.
    Employee issues tend to be resolved quickly.
    Strong communication between departments.
    Various perks and benefits available to employees.

    Cons

    Certain positions can be dull & repetitive.
    Training can be inconsistent.
    Some departments lack room to progress.
    Lack of training for customer interactions.

    Advice to Management

    Make avenues for progress clearer.
    Open up more conversation regarding an employees' experience .


Showing 107 of 112 reviews
Reset Filters