Anglian Water "aw" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Anglian Water Employee Reviews about "aw"

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
92%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "For colleagues it supports flexible working and has a great range of benefits which you can choose from to suit you and your family(in 21 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance is at the for front(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons with this employer(in 6 reviews)

  • "RES is a strange division of AW where employees do seem to be regarded differently to the rest of the company(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "aw"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AW is a genuinely innovative company with real value that run through everything they do. Providing water and sewerage services for millions of people is a huge challenge and you really feel a part of it and feel valued. There is real support for staff and a focus on wellbeing.

    Cons

    IT is an issue, but the solutions are on their way

    Anglian Water2018-10-08

    Anglian Water Response

    November 1, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Thanks very much for your 5 star review, its great you feel valued here at AW. We are looking forward to the IT solutions that are underway.

    Continue reading
  2. "An unfortunate team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Data Interrogation Team in Huntingdon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The reputation AW has earned for the most part is well deserved. Their pay grades, efficiency & somewhat the care for their employees is unrivaled; they do go all out for the employees. A number of great entry level roles.

    Cons

    No guidance when it comes to progression, nor are there any clear paths set out by management in my experience to progress. Partisanship runs rampant in a number of teams and it shows in both the way management socializes with team members & the way management applies rules. There is a sense of superiority held amongst some of the higher paid. Seen & experienced a number of ridiculous rulings when it comes to grievances, requests & absences.

    Continue reading
    Anglian Water2019-09-15
  3. "Great place to work, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LGV Driver in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent pay and pension. Real opportunities for progression within certain parts of the business.

    Cons

    RES is a strange division of AW where employees do seem to be regarded differently to the rest of the company.

    Continue reading
    Anglian Water2019-08-12

    Anglian Water Response

    September 5, 2019Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for taking the time to complete! We always want to hear your views so please share with your manager or HR Business Partner. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  4. "CEO makes all the right noises and appears to care. Pity about those under him"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Recycling M and E in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some brilliant caring people at AW on the front line who are an absolute pleasure to work with. Most Front Line Managers do a fantastic job caring for Staff and Customers with little support from those immediately above. CEO very efficient, effective and understanding should he need to get involved personally in any issue.

    Cons

    Middle or should I say Muddle Management.... Central Control of Work Planning and Schedules the 'Elephant in the Room'. Issues retaining experienced staff in the 'Centre of Excellence' which is very frustrating for Front Line Staff and Customers alike and very inefficient, often with New Starters on Scheduling Desks with no experience attempting to do their best to schedule work for experienced teams using a 'clunky' scheduling tool. Middle Management appears top heavy, only the few really effective. Middle Managers also far too busy 'Empire Building'. Mr Peter Simpson's Message and Ethos while very laudable doesn't always appear to be put into practice. 'Country not Club' philosophy very good, but somewhat stifled by Middle Management, the Board including Mr Simpson appear to be sometimes told 'what they want to hear'.

    Continue reading
    Anglian Water2019-06-19
  5. "Great work life balance and interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Anglian Water for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive culture, everyone seemed to enjoy working at AW.

    Cons

    It takes some time to get used to some of the technical terms/jargon

    Anglian Water2018-10-14
  6. "Operational Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits package is still good compared to many organisations. Opportunities for progression are good if you work hard and take the opportunities as they arise and are prepared to put yourself out and make some sacrifices, travel etc. For me personally every where I have worked (over 28 years) has been like a second family and part of my life not just a job. I can honestly say even through the hard and stressful times I have loved it all. I have always received support from my managers and felt able to make decisions knowing they would support me even if the outcome wasn’t perfect. Commitment to improving service to customers and wanting to the right thing even if we cant afford complete resolutions. Importance of Wellbeing of staff. Commitment to Safety. All staff are able to say thank you or give a small financial reward to colleagues and peers for going above and beyond.

    Cons

    Not everyone has the same attitude to working for AW and believe the company owe them for the doing the job they are paid for. Operational staff are relied on by the rest of the business to deliver customer service and don’t see that service is their job. Some operational managers fail to take ownership and responsibility for customer service and their assets and look to someone else to blame and take the flack for them. Being a heavily regulated business the service we are able to offer is held back due to financial constraints. Reduction of pensions over the last 10 years was disappointing for longer serving employees, but pension is still good compared to other private businesses.

    Continue reading
    Anglian Water2018-08-08

    Anglian Water Response

    August 16, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for a detailed review, really appreciate this and lovely to see your comment about AW being like a second family.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Manager in Huntingdon and Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The drive and enthusiasm of the people who work here is fantastic. The company and the people who work in it really care about what they do. If you want to work somewhere where you feel like everything you do really makes a difference then AW is a good place. Water's director is inspiring and the culture in Water Services is strong and supportive.

    Cons

    Pay and conditions depend to much on where you work in the business. Water is a poor relation to other departments with pay being lower for the same sort of job than in asset management or recycling or anywhere else. Responsibility and the impact that getting it wrong could have is higher but it isn't recognised.

    Continue reading
    Anglian Water2017-05-26
  8. "Great place to work with good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with AW since October 2015, I originally joined the HR Department with the Employee Relations team. In December 2016 an opportunity came up to join the HR Business Partner team which is where I currently work. The main thing that I noticed when I first joined, and continue to notice every day is the enthusiasm and commitment people have for their roles, from water supply through to customer service everyone wants to do the best job they can do, furthermore people are always happy to help and explain what they do. Both teams I have worked directly in have been friendly and supportive, there is lots of scope of development and training if you want it. Work / life balance is the best I have ever had. Sometimes I work longer days but there is a lot of flexibility and I manage my own time without feeling pressure from anyone. Reward is good, I feel valued for what I do and feel that I make a difference to the business.

    Cons

    Some frustrations with the IT systems, although thinking about other places I have worked it is better than some and worse than others.

    Continue reading
    Anglian Water2017-05-23
  9. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Services Team in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package, flexible working and career progression. AW care about their people and its a great place to work

    Cons

    You don't get a discount on your water bill

    Anglian Water2017-04-28
  10. "Anglian Water"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked in various roles over the last 5 years in AW. There generally a very positive and supportive culture. People are always willing to help and collaborate on projects. Health & Safety is taken seriously by all. There are a lot of opportunities for secondments and to progressive within the organisation.

    Cons

    There is a constant drive for improvement and the impact on workload isn't always considered. Although there is the opportunity for a considerable amount of internal training it is very rare for externally recognised qualifications to be provided to office staff.

    Continue reading
    Anglian Water2017-04-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews