AppDynamics Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AppDynamics Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
AppDynamics General Manager Danny Winokur (no image)
Danny Winokur
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's almost an year since I have joined AppD as a new grad(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great focus on work-life-balance(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Passionate team members can lose their work/life balance easily(in 33 reviews)

  • "What is Cisco's strategy for AppD(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great culture with opportunity to ride next wave of APM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great to engage customers with a broad portfolio of solutions

    Cons

    Tech debt with regards to analytical capabilities of the platform

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2019-10-13
  2. "Great career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Operations and Licensing Manager, EMEA in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career opportunities and a leadership team who truly believes in their teams!

    Cons

    Due to working for EMEA there are a lot of hours to cover to ensure our customers are happy

    AppDynamics2019-12-19
  3. "Needs to re-define vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology that delivers immediate value for customers

    Cons

    Where is the company going? What is Cisco's strategy for AppD. Lack of Cisco integration

    AppDynamics2020-02-05
  4. "The bubble has well and truly burst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Friend of Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppDynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a dwindling amount of good leaders still left with the company however I'd expect this to change by the end of financial year. snacks great benefits thanks to Cisco Work life balance improvement due to Cisco taking more control

    Cons

    Cisco have well and truly swallowed all of the things that made AppD great and have paid little regard to rewarding hard work with competitive salaries or promotions or keeping the culture alive that made AppD the rocket ship it was in the first place. Most lines of business report straight into Cisco meaning you are now bogged down in a ton of process and bureaucracy when you try to get anything done. Unfortunately nearly all of the great leaders, thought leaders and drivers of innovation have migrated over to other companies and those that are left will no doubt be planning their exits if they have any sense at all. Culture has changed, people are miserable

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2020-01-29

    AppDynamics Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thank you for your review. There is no doubt that acquisitions are hard, but we’re committed to seeing that every effort is being made to combine what makes AppD special with what makes Cisco special. This, of course, will take time as we adjust, learn, and grow together.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not what they promise, actively avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fsr in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Boot Camp in San Fran is really fun, and the MEDDIC training is excellent, something I wish I had been taught when I started sales. The issue however, is that the people who teach it are now poor imitations of those who implemented it. The expense policy is pretty nice, however this is slowly being stamped out due to Cisco getting more involved. If you like to travel, then you get to book good flights and book your own hotels so you can build up reward points.

    Cons

    The UK office has a horrifically toxic culture and feel to it. Within the Sales team the managers are borderline bullies, who seems to actively enjoy breaking people down and making them feel worthless. This may have worked in the past when the managers knew how to pick people up and help them improve, but this is no longer the case. You are lied to during the interview process. Nobody has had a $1m year for a few years, and I think only 1 person has had a $500k year in the last few years. The promise of rapid career progression is also a lie, people get promoted at the same rate as other large software companies now. You're given a list of accounts that have already had at least 2 or 3 people try and break into for several years, and then when you make no progress, you are simply told you need to do longer hours instead of getting actual advice or help. The general attitude is to survive a year and use the name on your CV to springboard into a better role in a different company. When people leave, it's like they never existed and are only spoken about when managers claim they weren't 'AppD material' and were fired for being useless, when this is often not the case.

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2020-02-03
  6. "Great company great colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for in all areas.

    Cons

    I have no concerns I had a great experience.

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2019-10-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Ship has sailed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cisco uplift as well as a new partner network. A proven go to market strategy!

    Cons

    Limited growth and now part of a much large organisation with little development on the product in comparison to other competitors

    AppDynamics2019-09-25
  8. "Great place if you care about performance excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extreme engagement and dedication not only from management but from peers and others across all teams. Open and fun - people work hard but they also make time to have fun. Feedback loop and data-driven - people regularly look for better ways to achieve results. They will use data/past experiences to inform decisions to make changes. The culture is designed so one learns from experience, so the more you put into it, the more you get out of it.

    Cons

    It can be all-consuming. However, the Organisation is clear about the amount of dedication required and what to expect from the first interview. I've experienced nothing less than commitment from those around me to help during challenging times.

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2019-08-14
  9. "Great place to work, great perks, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lot's of responsibility and autonomy in your role from the start Great perks Friendly and helpful people + managers Good training

    Cons

    Admin on boarding could be easier

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2019-08-14
  10. "Hard Work, Good Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership and sales process. This is the place for anyone who wants to learn about true Enterprise sales. Earning potential is very good, although not what it was a few years back before the acquisition.

    Cons

    Hard work, high pressure and long hours.

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2019-08-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 562 reviews