Applied Information Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Applied Information Sciences Reviews

Updated 1 July 2017
68 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Fred Elleman
46 Ratings

68 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Reston, VA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Reston, VA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Food and beer in the office. Random team events are fun. Flexible work schedule. Employees are nice and fun.

    Cons

    Lay offs are becoming common. The new leadership team is not good at all. They have a hard time seeing the full picture and being inclusive. The company is going through some major client problems. If you want stability or understanding from management, this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring if you are going to lay off.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    11 Jul 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for your review and your appreciation for our work hard, play hard culture. As a company we want to ensure that we provide our employees with an engaging environment, a solid... More


  2. "Don't regret my decision at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Engineer in Washington, DC (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Engineer in Washington, DC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Where do I start? I have been impressed every step of the way since joining this company. Sure, there are areas in which they can improve, but for a company with the growth that has occurred, they are above the standard. First of all, the recruiting team is one of the best and brightest that I have ever worked with. They were there every step of the way and providing valuable information. Other items of note are below:
    - AWESOME onboarding process
    - I've worked with some very good teams, and this is probably the best and brightest group of people I have ever worked with in IT.
    - Great leadership vision for future growth
    - Have adapted to the changing technologies and cloud focused.
    - They want you certified and will encourage and pay for it.
    To sum it all up, I have been impressed by every step of my journey since joining the company and look forward to what the future holds.

    Cons

    The one con, which is commonplace amongst Federal contracting companies is that much of the work is contract based. In saying that, the company has a great talent management team that works tirelessly to make sure employees stay competitive and can be placed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    5 Jun 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We’re glad to hear that our overall candidate experience has been a positive one and has transferred into a positive employee experience. We are... More


  3. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with cutting edge technologies.

    Cons

    Voice can get lost if assigned to a large client.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure feedback is heard, at all levels.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    16 May 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the feedback - this is highly appreciated! We continue to improve our communication efforts among all of our employees and have utilized the past several months to elicit and... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great benefits, horrible senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and nice work/life balance.

    Cons

    After "restructuring" the company has gone way downhill. Senior management needs to focus on being leaders rather than degrading people. It is sad to see what was once a great company be ruined by idiots. They are doing layoffs every year now and are not offering severance packages.

    Advice to Management

    Try inspiring your employees rather than degrading them. This is not the same company it was 3 years ago. Fred is no longer the CEO

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    30 May 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that your experience at AIS did not match our intentions. As a company we are committed to creating a transparent and collaborative environment for all our... More


  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA (US)
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They really care about their employees.

    Cons

    I do not see any cons at this point in my career here.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    28 Apr 2017 – Talent Manager

    We appreciate the review!


  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Good trainings and good technology

    Cons

    None I know of currently

    Advice to Management

    Nothing specific at present

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    20 Mar 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks for the feedback!


  8. "Outstanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love the fact that this is a veteran owned company. I love how we have such a diverse group of people here to work with that bring so many different knowledge sets to the table. Basically I don't how in the world I could've found a better job right out of the gate just having retired from Active Federal Service.

    Cons

    Although there is always room for improvement, I cant think of a "Con" right now.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    31 Jan 2017

    Thanks so much for the glowing review! We appreciate the insight into our culture and glad that you're enjoying your tenure here!


  9. "Work wise review, ais US and aid Ind both are different in financial wise."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hyderabad (India)
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hyderabad (India)

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, WFH and Professional and Personal life balance wise it is among the best oranisations. This is the main reason to make better ratings for this.

    Cons

    As long as you have juice in you, you are safe and client should find the same in you though.

    once if you failed to maintain the trust in you in client perspective and lost billing from client YOU ARE OUT literally. Not it down.

    and Just 3-4 clients Majorly 2. There is no way that clients number going to increase in near future.

    You can enjoy the time here as long as you are in billing, otherwise you are in SOUP

    Advice to Management

    As ais brand is already established well from past 8 years, you can have business development managers to expand more in clients perspective may be to different regions apart from US, otherwise there is nothing to get more business from this.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    22 Dec 2016 – Director

    We appreciate your candid feedback - we continually look for expanding client base & strive towards that goal. With challenging market dynamics & technology landscape, it always does not pan as... More


  10. "One of the Best Companies to work for in Microsoft Technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Specialist in Hyderabad (India)
    Former Employee - Web Specialist in Hyderabad (India)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    1) Flexibility with the work timings and work from home.
    2) Good Pay package according to industry Standards.
    3) Management is purely technical so they understand the issues faced by an engineer and back their engineers accordingly.
    4) Management is flexible to help out in all possible ways if you’re getting your job done.
    5) Flat Structure and everyone is directly approachable.
    6) New Clients and projects are coming up so the company looks stable for next few years.
    7) Good and friendly work environment.

    Cons

    1) Unprofessional Payroll Vendor.
    2) Some people gets repeated onsite opportunities whereas others have to wait for eternity.

    Advice to Management

    1) There should be rotational onsite opportunities for the employees.
    2) Hire a new payroll Vendor.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    15 Nov 2016 – Director

    Thanks for sharing your feedback - we will take appropriate action as appropriate. We truly appreciate your valuable contributions & wish you luck for future endeavors.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "No Job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Hyderabad (India)
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Hyderabad (India)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Open culture
    No timings
    Work from home
    Casual dressing
    Good salaries

    Cons

    All the decisions are taken by the director - India of the company.No interaction of hr after recruitment at all. Only one hr who handles recruitment.

    Poor retention rate .

    Advice to Management

    No notice period given before termination. For company there are many employees, but the effect is for longer term for the terminated employee

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    22 Dec 2016 – Director

    We appreciate your candid feedback & will continue to look at HR policies & employee benefits. As a reward for performance organization, at times we evaluate shuffling teams to better align with... More


Showing 68 of 68 reviews
Reset Filters