Arcadis Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Arcadis Reviews

Updated 24 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "the ability to work on some of the biggest projects in the world and good work/life balance(in 95 reviews)

  • "Flexible working even at the lowest levels (allowed to work from home around dentist appointments)(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "One of the main reasons I joined Arcadis was seeing the rave reviews from its employees and it’s flexible approach to work/life balance(in 40 reviews)

  • "pressure throughout the business on billability and utilisation that is endemic to the wider consultancy industry(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Arcadis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work with clear progression and lots of opportunities to further learning / qualifications

    Cons

    organisational structure can be hard to follow

    Arcadis2020-03-11
  2. "Work on some great projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the ability to work on some of the biggest projects in the world and good work/life balance

    Cons

    pressure throughout the business on billability and utilisation that is endemic to the wider consultancy industry

    Arcadis2020-01-23
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Project Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really friendly colleagues. Amazing training offering. Learn from some of the best. Work on some amazing projects.

    Cons

    Took a while to get into the role (3-5 months). Sometimes very senior management don't have a lot of time for trainees.

    Arcadis2020-03-23
  4. "A Great place to work for in comparison to other companies in construction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Policies, great values, supportive and easily approachable senior leadership. Also has free drinks at the in house bar every Wednesday and Thursday from around 6 pm to 8 pm .

    Cons

    Company has a decentralised management system which means each business unit is a business in it's own right, so the great values trickling down into the middle and low tier of the business depends on the business unit directors. Career growth also depends on how well you are placed and fit into the business unit. Literally like the Debenhams of Construction.

    Arcadis2020-03-15
  5. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Administrator in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arcadis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good training and management in place

    Cons

    hard to grow and get pay rise

    Arcadis2020-03-05
  6. "Good company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow in a forward thinking organisation

    Cons

    Nothing of significance worth noting

    Arcadis2020-03-04
  7. "Working in silos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time

    Pros

    The company allows work from home

    Cons

    The company's many businesses still operate with a silo mentality

    Arcadis2020-03-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A company with great potential but still far from reaching that point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has great potential

    Cons

    Every business unit to itself

    Continue reading
    Arcadis2020-03-03
  9. "All the right things to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Building Surveyor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open minded and fast paced consultancy

    Cons

    Your experience and time with Arcadis can vary significantly depending on the commission and your ability to seek new opportunities. Some very good people and management but also a few blockers to others progression

    Continue reading
    Arcadis2020-01-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Real reviews?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arcadis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The free bar was a great perk Good tangible benefits such as maternity pay, vouchers on your birthday etc

    Cons

    One of the main reasons I joined Arcadis was seeing the rave reviews from its employees and it’s flexible approach to work/life balance. I accepted a lower than industry salary rate for the promise of a happy work life. Boy was I wrong! I felt like a lone contractor sent to a project and left in the lurch! I’d rather be contracting with the added benefit of extra pay if I wanted that level of engagement. If I wanted that level of engagement I would’ve contracted with the extra pay! Flexible working was scrutinised and discouraged. Workload was heavy. Surprisingly, my old and new workplace were more flexible in their approach and without all the marketing speal. It seems that I was not the only, there were a lot of unhappy faces within the department. Many complained about the same issues, along with lack of promotion, lack of training/charter-ship and questionable management practices. We were regularly asked to vote for the ‘best company to work for’ this may explain the distorted good reviews....! Or maybe it was just my department... who knows?

    Continue reading
    Arcadis2020-02-03
Found 643 reviews