ArcelorMittal USA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ArcelorMittal USA Reviews

Updated 27 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
62%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
ArcelorMittal USA President and CEO, ArcelorMittal USA John Brett
John Brett
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits including 401k match, college reimbursement, and unlimited sick days(in 28 reviews)

  • "Good pay and you learn a lot if this is your first crack out of school(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Being in upper management grants the protection of a tenured professor(in 13 reviews)

  • "It's unfortunately how the steel industry seems to work in general(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "How this company works-- read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiter 

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal USA part-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are all very nice and understanding

    Cons

    There is no time off or paid leave

    ArcelorMittal USA2020-02-27

    ArcelorMittal USA Response

    March 17, 2020Human Resources Representative

    ArcelorMittal has a competitive paid vacation schedule as well as employer paid short and long term disability. We encourage you to consult the employee benefits website for more information: http://www.arcelormittalusa.com/benefitswebsite

    Continue reading
  2. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal USA full-time

    Pros

    it will have great responsibility and experience

    Cons

    it was not opportunity to grow in the company

    ArcelorMittal USA2020-02-22
  3. "Tax at Arcellor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tax Manager 

    I worked at ArcelorMittal USA full-time

    Pros

    The industry is interesting and dynamic

    Cons

    The tax management is stringent and micromanaging.

    ArcelorMittal USA2020-02-13
  4. "Sr Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Hammond, IN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ambition advances career. Many opportunities to grow for the right professional

    Cons

    Some leadership no people skills

    Continue reading
    ArcelorMittal USA2020-01-01
  5. "Great place to start working at for right out of college, not great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Manager in East Chicago, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity, challenging job, nice people to work with,

    Cons

    no work from home policy, not great pay for the type of job you're doing

    ArcelorMittal USA2019-12-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The money is fairly good.

    Cons

    The atmosphere is rather toxic all around.

    ArcelorMittal USA2019-12-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "AM USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and cooperative management personnel

    Cons

    High turnover rate, running skeleton crews, too much work not enough people

    ArcelorMittal USA2019-10-29
  8. "Pretty goog company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ArcelorMittal USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    ArcelorMittal USA2019-11-07
  9. "One of the worst companies I worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive Assistant in East Chicago, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ArcelorMittal USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I learned some new ways to handle people

    Cons

    Harassment, death threats was at an all time high. Constant bullying by superiors.

    Continue reading
    ArcelorMittal USA2019-11-25

    ArcelorMittal USA Response

    December 5, 2019Human Resources Representative

    ArcelorMittal takes these concerns very seriously. We are committed to providing a positive and healthy work environment, free of any form of discrimination or harassment. The company has policies and procedures in place to support a professional and welcoming environment, including our Code of Business Conduct and Fair and Equal Treatment Policy. In short, harassment has no place at ArcelorMittal. In order to perform a thorough investigation, we request that you provide additional information about your concerns, such as when and where the incidents occurred, who was involved, what the incidents specifically entailed, and any other information you believe would be helpful to perform such an investigation. You can provide additional information through our whistleblower hotline 888-242-7305 or website arcelormittal.ethicspoint.com. This hotline and website are operated by an independent third party and any reports may be submitted anonymously and are confidential.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Pay, Absolutely Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Work is there. IT department is great. Company benefits are good.

    Cons

    Terrible Culture. Complete lack of transparency. Terrible communication. Extreme amounts of turnover. Executive management has a hands off approach and hired golfers as middle management who dictate with complete disrespect and disregard for the talent and knowledge of their team. I have never seen so many people be unnecessarily disrespected. The people making decisions do not rely on the people who have the knowledge. Production workers are fired if they crash machines even though there are bugs yet to be clearly defined. The politics for the salaried employees is sickening.

    Continue reading
    ArcelorMittal USA2019-10-21

    ArcelorMittal USA Response

    November 5, 2019Human Resources Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. At ArcelorMittal, we value a working environment based on mutual trust and respect for all employees. Our Detroit location, part of ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks division, recently conducted pulse surveys which reflected a favorable culture and high employee engagement. Surveys like this are particularly important in helping us understand and therefore address any issues employees may have so that we can continue to improve our working environments and retain the best talent.

    Continue reading
Found 337 reviews