Arise "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Arise Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 11 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Arise CEO Scott Etheridge
Scott Etheridge
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Advisor in Maldon, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Arise for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home, schedule own hours, no management watching your every move

    Cons

    Shifts sometimes not available, systems can be up and down

    Arise2019-09-07

    Arise Response

    September 23, 2019Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for your great feedback! We are happy to see your call center was able to enjoy the flexibility that comes with using the Arise Platform.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Worst 18 months of my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to work from home

    Cons

    Lack of hours available to work even though you meet the top ranking required. I made an official complaint against one if the 'managers' who was a truly awful person, many of my colleagues had left purely because of him and his rude, condescending, misogynistic attitude, nothing was done. The training is laughable and in no way actually prepares you for the calls you're going to get. I worked on both energy and coffee client contracts, both awful for different reasons.

    Continue reading
    Arise2020-03-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Awful systems, I wonder if they know what they're actually doing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to chose your own shifts and work from home.

    Cons

    As a start they basically expect you to drop close to £100 getting all the equipment and training cost. The system they use is archaic and rarely works, it's not rare for agents to be unable to log into systems to actually fulfill intervals on top of that, using their Arise Virtual Desktop has made my hardware run badly because it's so badly optimised (and considering I run a gaming PC this perplexes me). There's not enough explanation for things, both myself and my representative are yet to be told how revenue works and how or when we'll receive payment for my work. Whenever either of us do enquire about such things we are either run in circles or told to talk to literal bots. Finally the training doesn't cover half of the actual problems you'll need to cover and the superiors aren't people who have actually been trained well in these matters either, they're just people who know how to navigate the resources well from working for longer, considering the technical nature of the roles available you'd expect them to have some actual technological aware support but they don't.

    Continue reading
    Arise2020-02-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arise for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Can choose hours

    Cons

    IT systems/software shocking No support if you have pc problems which was constant as half time couldnt connect to servers Didnt get paid always had to chase and still never received a penny so left You have to pay for certification and other training Theres a monthly fee especially if you work for IBO no job security Have to fight for hours and difficult to get required amount of hours each week

    Continue reading
    Arise2019-11-12

    Arise Response

    November 18, 2019Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry you did not have the best experience. However, based on your comments, it appears you were working for a business that leverages the Arise Platform. Every company registered on the Arise Platform is different and Arise encourages all agents to do their due diligence and background research before joining any business. These businesses are in no way affiliated with or controlled by Arise. That being said, we are definitely concerned when we hear complaints from agents and can assure you that we take them seriously. If you would to like to provide additional information, please reach out to us at: specialhelp@arise.com Please make sure to include your contact information.

    Continue reading
  5. "There are better work from home jobs out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Client Support Partner in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arise for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Choose your own hours, take as much time off as you like, work from home, I personally worked with a great bunch of people, shifts can be swapped easily when needed.

    Cons

    Low pay, no respect from management, incompetent people still running the show, no new clients being brought on board, expensive to pay for your own training and get set up

    Continue reading
    Arise2019-10-20

    Arise Response

    October 24, 2019Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your company had a negative experience, however it is important to note that this is a business opportunity and a means to creating your own success – not a job. Arise actively collaborates with the thousands of small businesses that leverage our platform to continually improve it and the technologies.

    Continue reading
  6. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Arise for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, choose your hours.

    Cons

    I found the training to be insufficient to be put in the front line after two weeks. Managers don't always answer emails. System training cannot be covered in just two weeks. When recruiting your told you do not need any experience but when in need of help they speak to you as if you should know.

    Continue reading
    Arise2019-03-01

    Arise Response

    March 4, 2019Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are glad that your company is able to take advantages of the great opportunities available when using the Arise platform, but we are sorry to hear that you experienced some disappointment during the certification process. . If you would like, please reach out to us at: specialhelp@arise.com. Please make sure to include your contact information and we will reach out to you.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "No Hours to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arise

    Pros

    Work from home Choose your rota

    Cons

    This is my last week after 8 months. All of a sudden last 3 weeks our group who joined back in 2017 stoppes getting hours to work. Next week i have just 2 hour to work, like my group members. Manager keeps promising adding more hours to choose from but nothing changes. They started recruiting new groups. Probably will get rid of us to get money for training from their clients.

    Continue reading
    Arise2018-05-16

    Arise Response

    May 22, 2018Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your company has recently had some issues. As a call center company owner, using the Arise Platform, you can set your own schedule. However, it is important to note that hours are available on a “first come, first serve” basis so it is beneficial to select servicing intervals (based on half-hour increments) as soon as possible. Moreover, there are more plentiful servicing intervals, available during a client’s peak demand period. And for certain client programs if your call center business is a top performing business, you may receive first choice of hours. In order to ensure that you select the right client program for your company, we encourage call center business owners to review the Opportunity Announcement (OA) for detailed information on available servicing intervals.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid. They're Draconian."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arise

    Pros

    Work from home. Nothing else good about them.

    Cons

    Have to pay for own training. They say that you're self employed but if you need time out for ill health or compassionate leave to care for terminal parent they throw you off their books even though you have paid for own training and are effectively self employed and legally entitled to take as much compassionate, sick or any other kind of leave as you want.

    Continue reading
    Arise2018-04-20

    Arise Response

    May 9, 2018Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are glad that your company was able to take advantages of the great opportunities available when using the Arise platform, but are sorry to hear that you experienced some disappointment. As a company, we are actively looking at many of the concerns and frustrations expressed by business owners like yourself. We are working hard to find new ways to assist the call center companies that use our platform.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A new approach with old problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coffee Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arise part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home - Cuts out the crazy rush to and from a work place. Choosing your own hours - Half hour slots with a minimum of 15 hours. Can be paid monthly or fortnightly 50 coffee capsules sent monthly Chat room help when servicing - Most Chat PF's are very helpful. Some give incorrect advice. Some are just plain rude. Great product - 99% of customers are good to deal with and the product sells itself (you're still expected to sell more though!).

    Cons

    Very bad servers - There are daily problems with the servers that make nearly all aspects of servicing very difficult. The call managing Avaya program freezes and disappears and the database we use to access and use is constantly freezing which means having to reload your entire system. When this happens, -you don't get paid-!! You are also sometimes directed to support (that you have no choice but to pay for) for a problem that you know is not yours or your own computer systems fault. Communication is awful - If you email the management, most of the time you are ignored. Marketing emails are of poor quality - When you are emailed updates and changes about dealing with the client (which is so frequent it is difficult to keep up what the policies are!!) the spelling is atrocious. The appearance of professionalism is paramount so just use a spell check. Also, the quality of the images is generally unclear and look like an enlarged screen shot. A little more time in presentation is needed. Quality Assurance - This may be more down to the client, but there is no bonus structure. The QA is used against you more than to reward you. Targets - The targets are a little silly and as I said, there is no bonus structure in place. That means the only reason the targets are there is to use against you by claiming you break your Statement Of Work (SOW). As you are self employed, they can do this without any notice leaving you in a state of limbo, not knowing where you stand which is not good for job stability. Plus you have no real control of sales. Training - The training is unpaid and takes up 4 hours of your day for 5 weeks : o Review sessions (an hour a month [previously 1/2 hour per week]) are unpaid too. National Minimum Wage with no bonus.

    Continue reading
    Arise2018-02-09

    Arise Response

    March 26, 2018Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear your company has had a negative experience, however it is important to note that using the Arise Platform to launch your own call center business is a business opportunity and a means to creating your own success – not a job. Arise actively collaborates with the thousands of small call center businesses that leverage our Platform to continually improve our platform and technologies.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Another UBER Type Con"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - "Business" Owner (Employee) in Cardiff, Wales

    I worked at Arise for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home no need to travel

    Cons

    Expected to wait in support sometimes for hours while they sort out a problem they created and while you are sat there you're not getting paid. Hourly pay is a complete joke because they have some mysterious way of working out pay that no one can tell you how it's worked out!! Even if you get paid for the amount of time you are actually on a call and pull off the Avaya log outlining the exact amount of time you are on a call it never matches up with the pay. Consequently you're on something ridiculous like £3 per hour. Someone seriously needs to take this company to court like the Uber drivers because it's a total con saying people are business' when they obviously are not! Time to pay the piper me thinks! Hours stated are from 9am in UK for the company I serviced and in all the time I was there never had any hours before 2pm. If you did get any hours before 2pm you were sat there call less so not getting paid. Complete con and time they were taken to court for ripping off its employees and being made to pay them for holidays, sickness and all other benefits they have got away with not paying for far, far too long.

    Continue reading
    Arise2017-10-11

    Arise Response

    November 1, 2017Sr. Manager Sourcing & Strategy

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your company has had a negative experience, however it is important to note that using the Arise platform to launch your own call center business is a business opportunity and a means to creating your own success – not a job. Arise actively collaborates with the thousands of small call center businesses that leverage our platform to continually improve our platform and technologies.

    Continue reading
Found 288 reviews