Arm Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Arm Engineer Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Arm CEO Simon Segars
Simon Segars
225 Ratings
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great multicultural team - wizards of engineering, care to share

    Cons

    no cons so far .

    Arm2019-09-18
  2. "Poor Software Development Practices and Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The pay is very good. Outside of Cambridge in most places you will earn a very good wage for your living costs. * The offices are nice. Standing desks, no hot-desks. Quiet environment and you are free to go to the one of many meeting rooms if you need to. It's a technology company so technical people are taken seriously.

    Cons

    * Poor work-life balance. Arm Manchester mainly recruits very smart young people and makes them work super hard. Most people do additional work into the evenings, either on the record or not. Most people will claim not to even though they do! This is because the level of workload that is assigned to each employee - you are not directly told to work overtime but if you don't, you will get bad performance reviews etc.... * Confrontational and competitive environment. Not really a collaborative environment unless you were hired in via a referral and already have allies there. * Lack of focus on testing and quality. There is no real resourcing for testing/test quality. It is a developer-led organisation and testing is seen as an afterthought or not important in general.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Make interviews more rigorous and reduce the number of 'buddy hires' we have where people are hired through knowing someone in the organisation. This leads to a lack of diversity and tribialism. * Encourage the introverted engineers to collaborate more and not see everyone as direct competition. Build a team environment. * Make sure there is a dedicated test management hierachy, with quality being valued. This... will result in better software. There are pockets of huge resistance to modern software engineering practices such as Agile and these need to be eliminated one way or another.

    Show More
    Arm2019-10-21
  3. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, England

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Many things to learn.

    Cons

    A bit difficult to get more responsibilities

    Arm2019-10-16
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    The company is quite supportive. Management holds open doors policy Sharing of information is great. You could easily know what happens around the company. The company has a great growth potential. Good work-life balance

    Cons

    The package for software developers in Cambridge is not competitive.

    Arm2019-10-16

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    You have outlined some of the key reasons many of us really like working at Arm - thank you.

  5. "nice place to work but work and life balance is an issue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CPU Design Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice ppl to work with

    Cons

    work and life balance is an issue

    Arm2019-10-14

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Work-life balance is one of the key 'pros' we see more than 'cons' at Arm, so I'm a little surprised to read this. Would you be open to picking up with me directly? Aylin.Halil@arm.com so I can understand a little more about your experience.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Started great, going down the hill recently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of valuable people to learn from Interesting work

    Cons

    Unhealthy internal competition Unfairness No focus on individual people Constant changes in how things are done, often for worse

    Arm2019-10-05

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    We completely agree, there are some wonderful minds at Arm we can all learn from. We are keen to understand a little more about the cons you have mentioned. We feel it's important all our people are heard and would like the opportunity to touch base with you directly. If you'd be so kind as to email us on GlassdoorFeedback@arm.com I'll follow up with you from there.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing company with generic growth issues in a thought and competitive landscape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Verification Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Great opportunities for learning from top industry talent 2. Company values are thought out and tried to stay on focus and relevant 3. Passionate environment nurturing creativity and proactively pushing for innovation 4. Most people are easily approachable and happy to be consulted

    Cons

    1. Lots of restructuring recent years for better or worse 2. Some office politics taking place but in most cases it's unavoidable for a company with that size unfortunatly

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the engineers and try to get the real feedback and don't be scared to proactively seek also the behind the back, coffee talks, insight too. Try to stay unbiased, not to punish proactive criticism even if it's delivered with a tinge of emotion and anger. Maintain or create a positive proactive environment even in the worst project crunching critical times to ensure team unity and happiness leading to... higher productivity too hopefully.

    Show More
    Arm2019-09-30
  8. "Great work life balance, challenging at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - working in cutting edge technology - working on something that ships in MOST mobile devices in the world - great work life balance - a cluster of really passionate and experienced people

    Cons

    - base salary could be improved (the bonuses make it SO MUCH better) - location: Cambridge (this can be a pro or a con. It's a beautiful town but having an office in London might add so many possibilities for the company, human resource wise) - sometimes projects might get a bit stalled (boring), that totally depends on where and with whom you work.

    Advice to Management

    - focus on compensation, retention and challenging projects

    Arm2019-09-13
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits are good, people are nice, multinational.

    Cons

    tech guys atmosphere too strong

    Arm2019-09-26
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Static Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The money and the CV cred.

    Cons

    - Overcrowded offices, lots of obnoxious people. - Stagnation rampant, people working hard for years but aren't managers pets. People with PhDs on the same level as graduates. - Boring work. 90% of work is jumping through internal hoops rather than actual development. - Executives MIA and can't bring middle-managers to heel. - "ARM culture" a distant memory, descended into insecure engineers, bureacrats... phoning it in and socialising most of the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Less of it.

    Arm2019-09-29

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    It seems you have been with the business a while and witnessed a fair amount of growth and subsequently change. When businesses go through change, it can feel and seem different. Arm is no longer a small Cambridge based business, but a Global 7,000+ organisation, creating technology that touches more than 70% of the world's population. Whilst we have had some delays with the new offices in Cambridge, announcements are due with confirmed move dates for everyone soon, we hope this will make for a less crowded environment for you. It is a shame you don't feel your role is challenging you anymore, perhaps we can support you with this? Please feel free to reach out and pick on the points you've raised. You aren't having what we would deem a typical Arm experience and we are keen to ensure we do all we can to change that. GlassdoorFeedback@Arm.com we look forward to hearing from you.

    Show Less
Found 352 reviews