Arm Senior Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Senior Engineer

Arm Senior Engineer Reviews

Updated 5 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Arm Chief Executive Officer Simon Segars
Simon Segars
56 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very nice people to work with, mostly with a good sense of community - Visa sponsorship and relocation support was a big deal for me - They gave me an amazing computer to work on (P720 ThinkStation) - Plenty of freedom to work - No hassle with the time you arrive or go home as long as you put the hours - There are cases of colleagues that are long time stablished company employees that work from home and others that want to move to another city the company is in and they allow it - There are cash bonuses, but that's like several different bonuses that get combined at different times of the year - Quiet and relaxed workplace. No dress code (except for meetings or events). - Free bus to work from certain places - Generous FlexPot to allow you to spend money on personal wellbeing and then they reinburse you the expense (good for non work related courses and books, sports equipement, etc.) - They did an amazing job with day one induction (most of the first day they talk about the company and the culture and organization)

    Cons

    - The company is big, sometimes it takes some work to understand my own role in such a huge, fast growing company. Fortunately, the people that works with me are pretty well organized. - Getting up to speed technically in your work might take some time (don´t worry, they know that and give you time, but one cannot help but feel a bit of impostor syndrome when they treat you that well)

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-12-20
  2. "Fantastic company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Engineering Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm

    Pros

    Working with great people on the latest technology in a fantastic city centre office

    Cons

    Very fast paced - hard to keep up at times

    Arm2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Big company with big problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary for the market. Possibility to work with very high-end technologies. Long career in the company if you survive the managers scrutiny.

    Cons

    Full of arrogant mid-managers that never opened a design in life. Your experience really depends on your manager, and not all of them follow the HR recommendations, mainly the older ones. Many departments operate in silos. If you had a problem with your manager, you're screwed because that goes to your profile and it will reflect on your whole working life in the company. Every 5 years they purge the system and promote massive layoffs. In 2018, 200 people were "invited" to leave the company. The company has massively changed since SoftBank takeover, mostly for bad.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-10-22

    Arm Response

    November 6, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Change within companies can be challenging, it’s true that Arm is no longer a small start-up business, but a 7000+ organisation that touches the lives of more than 70% of the world’s population through technology. So we understand it may feel different for some of those who have been with us through the Softbank acquisition. Whilst it seems you are no longer at Arm, I would like to pick up with you on the comment regarding management and process. Would you be open to following up with me? I’m keen to understand your experience in a little more detail and whilst I may not be able to put this right for you, it could help us in terms of where we need to focus to ensure Arm is a great place to work for everyone. I’m contactable on aylin.halil@arm.com and looking forward to hearing from you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Software Development Practices and Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The pay is very good. Outside of Cambridge in most places you will earn a very good wage for your living costs. * The offices are nice. Standing desks, no hot-desks. Quiet environment and you are free to go to the one of many meeting rooms if you need to. It's a technology company so technical people are taken seriously.

    Cons

    * Poor work-life balance. Arm Manchester mainly recruits very smart young people and makes them work super hard. Most people do additional work into the evenings, either on the record or not. Most people will claim not to even though they do! This is because the level of workload that is assigned to each employee - you are not directly told to work overtime but if you don't, you will get bad performance reviews etc. * Confrontational and competitive environment. Not really a collaborative environment unless you were hired in via a referral and already have allies there. * Lack of focus on testing and quality. There is no real resourcing for testing/test quality. It is a developer-led organisation and testing is seen as an afterthought or not important in general.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-10-21

    Arm Response

    October 30, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    In our most recent Life At Arm survey, along with a host of reviews across Glassdoor and similar platforms, our people rate the ‘Work-Life Balance’ along with the flexible working environment, as some of the best attributes to working at Arm. I’ve visited many of our Arm offices and Manchester is one of my favourite, more for the indescribable culture. It’s as close to a creative, free-thinking and collaborative environment I believe Arm has - so I was really surprised to read about your experience. Whilst we expect collaboration amongst our teams, we must also be mindful that introverts may behave differently. We are committed to creating an adaptable and inclusive environment where people are empowered to be their brilliant selves at work. As with most global businesses, some teams are matrix managed, we do recognise this results in the creation of microcultures but we would like to think you have the ability to speak with your Manager about the way you feel, or the site lead- in this case, it’s Ross Keeping for Manchester. When speaking with Ross about your review, he wholeheartedly understood your frustrations around testing and I’m on the understanding there are steps being taken to improve this. Perhaps you could take this as an opportunity to speak with him as to how this may be relevant for you and your team. Outside of this, I’m keen to see how we can help change the way you feel about the environment you’re currently working in. Both Ross Keeping and I can be found on Outlook, as you are still an employee of Arm’s that would be the easiest way to reach out. We very much look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "An amazing company with generic growth issues in a thought and competitive landscape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Verification Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Great opportunities for learning from top industry talent 2. Company values are thought out and tried to stay on focus and relevant 3. Passionate environment nurturing creativity and proactively pushing for innovation 4. Most people are easily approachable and happy to be consulted

    Cons

    1. Lots of restructuring recent years for better or worse 2. Some office politics taking place but in most cases it's unavoidable for a company with that size unfortunatly

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-09-30
  6. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great multicultural team - wizards of engineering, care to share

    Cons

    no cons so far .

    Arm2019-09-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good benefits and reward but less room for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits overall. The longer you stay, the better you get

    Cons

    Difficult to move around if you are not a graduate, which has rotation opportunities. Very limited secondment choices.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-06-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Dynamic environment, good knowledgeable engineers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonuses, healthcare, pension contributions, decent canteen facilities.

    Cons

    Company people structure is too tall, fragmented and complicated. Pigeon hole working environment. Too many managers making the decisions, politics and red tape stall decision process and small changes take far too long to implement. Many teams too focused on deadlines and not seeing the overall picture. Pay does not scale with responsibility.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-06-11
  9. "Good Flexibility but not much benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility and interesting technologies to work on

    Cons

    No stocks, Canteen nis ot free and not very good

    Arm2019-06-05
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - good work-life balance - interesting projects

    Cons

    - lack of transparency on promotions and raises. - lots of project changes, reorganizations, redundancies

    Arm2018-12-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 92 reviews