Arm Staff Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Arm Staff Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 23 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
99%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Arm Chief Executive Officer Simon Segars
Simon Segars
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It's worth coming to Manchester for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A beautiful office with many great people and only a few not so great ones. A great environment to work with a variety of projects spread between a number of teams. An employer that makes you feel wanted and valued, offering great benefits and flexibility.

    Cons

    Close to bustling Piccadilly Gardens and its users. Manchester is a pretty horrible place to commute into if you don't have a direct transport link or are dependent on your car.

    Arm2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (9)

    "More focus, more technical work and innovation, and less managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Recognised name in the industry. Access to state-of-the-art hardware and software years before official releases. Opportunity to get in touch with a large amount of big names in the industry and build relationships.

    Cons

    Mostly no products - no focus at all on execution and delivery Lot of duplicated work between teams, almost absent communications between groups working on the same things - eventually this leads to re-organisations and layoffs Incredible amount of middle managers and self-declared tech leads who don't really lead anything, apart for their career in some safe spot. You can pass your day basically doing nothing and nobody will ever complain, unless you don't get along with the management, than they will pick on you on the next round of layoffs Went downhill since Softbank acquisition, as Softbank is either using Arm for financial/political reasons or they don't have a clue of what to do with it - basically late on every possible market expansion opportunity apart from mobile (AI, servers, autonomous driving, etc). Lots of inexperienced hires doing fundamental technical work, hence the work created on top of that will be flawed. No exit interview.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the number of managers (tech leads, directors, senior directors). Stop hiring just graduates to do the work - this reflects in the quality of your final

    Arm2019-11-23
  3. "Staff Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, Gloucestershire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Scrum based project management, Development & Engineering focus and very flexible work culture.

    Cons

    A bit hard for new starter due to insufficient OJT

    Arm2019-04-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Administration and politics are getting more important than before. Thids is due to the company has been growing fast recently.

    Arm2019-01-24
  5. "Good Salary and Package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work, good salary package, work-life balance, excellent joining bonus, yearly bonus 15% of the basic salary, a tax-free vacation allowance of £4,500, yearly partnership bonus, one month paid sabbatical every four years, 5 weeks yearly vacation, cycle to work scheme, and free health and life insurances

    Cons

    HR is bit lazy and the company hired by the ARM for conducting background checks, Hire Right, is very lazy, inefficient and very annoying

    Arm2018-10-09
  6. "Staff Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good environment - Nice salary - Many learning opportunities

    Cons

    May have some politics, but that is everywhere.

    Arm2018-10-02
  7. "It is good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere , brilliant people. Fair compensation. Good work & life balance.

    Cons

    Not enough human resources to do work. It impacts quality of the products.

    Arm2018-04-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    I have worked for large enterprises and Arm is actually a small one compared to them. These big ones often have "sophisticated" systems around processes and I haven't found any that fits the purpose. They are usually imagined by someone ignorant at the top and implemented by someone ignorant at the bottom. Now in Arm it is completely the opposite. We have systems, cleverly put together, designed by clever people and they make our life easier. I am in Arm for not too long and I had many pleasant surprises how much effort Arm has put in to make it a good place to be in. And these efforts succeeded. I focused on the general feeling to work in Arm because the specifics will be different in every job/level/position, etc. For me as a seasoned software developer I find that the benefits are top and again I was surprised after joined the company, that the package is actually more than it was advertised. (Ask about FlexPot from your recruiter...)

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't found any so far

    Advice to Management

    I wonder what to say, great work, continue like that!

    Arm2018-01-20
  9. "Great minds and good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for the area Many ways to advance Work with very intelligent people

    Cons

    Growing very fast and some strain in facilities

    Advice to Management

    Think more like a big company!

    Arm2017-07-25
  10. "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, Technology, Benefits, Learning portals, Career develomplent

    Cons

    As in every big company, small changes take long time to happen

    Arm2017-01-23
Found 16 reviews