Arnold Clark Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 540 of over 549 reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Arnold Clark Chief Executive  Eddie Hawthorne
Eddie Hawthorne
318 Ratings
Pros
  • "Discounts on cars servicing and mots(in 25 reviews)

  • "The company is continuing to grow which means that job security is something no-one needs to worry about(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and working some days off(in 59 reviews)

  • "Not all garages support their staff, as any car sales role no work life balance but this has recently changed due to 5 days weeks(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Nov 25, 2021 - Sales Administrator in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and staff importance

      Cons

      No cons that i can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      4/5

      Dec 1, 2021 - Product Consultant in Wigan, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly colleagues, good pay, good training

      Cons

      Work life balance, managers speak down on occasion

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Nov 9, 2021 - Product Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good perks, bonus and well looked after

      Cons

      Work life balance is poor at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Arnold Clark Response

      Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for leaving a review of your current role at Arnold Clark – your feedback is very important to us. Firstly, I’m glad you’ve been able to take advantage of our excellent benefits and incentive packages – we are always looking at new ways to reward our staff for their hard work and we offer some of the best benefits in the automotive industry. On the other hand, I’m disappointed to hear you feel your work-life balance is poor. We recently introduced our new flexible working approach which has been designed to give employees more flexibility in their roles and to give them more balance. If you feel you would like to talk to someone about this, I encourage you to speak to your line manager or to contact the People Team. Thanks for your feedback! Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent Benefits

      Nov 7, 2021 - Senior Administrator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company really do look after their staff, they are always looking for ways to benefit the staff and put work life balance since Covid is excellent. The Directors are very approachable and reward hard work.

      Cons

      Honestly none in over 4 years!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Arnold Clark Response

      Hi, Lynne here. Thanks very much for leaving such a fantastic review – I’m delighted that you are enjoying your current role with us. Our employees are at the heart of everything we do – our success is their success – and we want to ensure that they are rewarded for all their hard work. That’s why we offer some of the best benefits in the automotive industry! I’m glad that you’ve highlighted your work-life balance as a positive. Following the success of home working during the pandemic, we listened to our employees’ feedback and introduced a new flexible working approach – this has been working brilliantly and allows our employees the flexibility to balance their work and family life. We want to encourage conversation at all levels – no matter your position or job role – so please don’t hesitate to get in touch with any other ideas you have in the future. Thanks for your feedback and keep up the good work! Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Ridiculous working hours

      Nov 12, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money is good if you can sell cars. Systems they use are very good and make selling cars easy.

      Cons

      Working hours are horrendous even for the motor trade. There is no work life balance and if you want to make money here you will have no life. Basic wage for salesman is lowest in the motortrade.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Arnold Clark Response

      Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for leaving a review of your time at Arnold Clark – it sounds like you had a mixed experience with us. Starting with the positives, we try and make sure our systems are easy and accessible so that our employees are able to work to their full potential. This also means they can maximise their earnings and enjoy a wide range of benefits and incentives! It’s very important to us that we reward our staff for all their hard work – which is why we offer some of the best incentives in the automotive industry. On the other hand, I understand that the hours in sales can be long. However, we want to make sure that all our employees are supported in their roles and given the flexibility to enjoy a good work-life balance through our new flexible working approach. I’m sorry we weren’t able to rectify this situation during your time with us. Thanks for your feedback and I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      .

      Nov 11, 2021 - Panel Beater in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ben if its are good

      Cons

      Poor working environment Bullying environment Management are weird

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Arnold Clark Response

      Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for leaving a review of your current role at Arnold Clark – your feedback is important to us. Firstly, I’m glad you’ve mentioned benefits as a positive. We offer our employees a wide range of benefits and incentives, such as generous staff retail discounts, life assurance, private healthcare, access to our health and wellbeing hub Space and more. I’m glad you’ve been able to take advantage of these. Onto the negatives, I’m disappointed that you feel there’s a poor working environment at your branch. We have a zero-tolerance policy towards bullying and do not condone any such behaviour; in fact, we want all employees to feel supported in their roles. The People Team are always here to offer support and advice in the strictest of confidence – hopefully we will be able to rectify this situation for you. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not advisable if you’re a woman

      Nov 30, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to drive nice cars now and again

      Cons

      Bullying culture is accepted. I made multiple sexual harassment claims against my male managers, these were brushed under the carpet. Incredibly long and unsociable hours. Working 7 days a week is not uncommon with very bad pay.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Brilliant to work for.

      Oct 6, 2021 - Product Genius in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discounts on servicing, repairs, new/used cars, car rental, insurance, phone contracts, Virgin media + much much more. Good staff morale. Opportunities to progress and learn more / courses etc. Bonuses Christmas bonuses/vouchers with Think Employee. Free refreshments Free tickets to pantomime and any group events, such as LGBT Prides around the country. Flexi-time Good holiday allowance. Does a lot for local communities/charities. Company sick pay.

      Cons

      Some evenings, especially in winter when it gets dark early, there is not much foot fall and the night can drag in ! :-(

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Arnold Clark Response

      Hi, Lynne here. Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your current role at Arnold Clark! We love to see five stars! I’m delighted to see that you’ve listed a number of our employee benefits as positives – namely, our employee discounts, bonus schemes, flexitime and holiday allowance. We want to reward all our employees for their hard work– that’s why we offer some of the best benefit packages in the automotive industry. On top of that, it’s great to see you mention staff morale, opportunities to progress and our community work – Arnold Clark does a lot more than just sell cars and all of these things are very important to the Group, particularly the wellbeing of our employees and the positive impact we can make on our local communities. We are always keen to hear new ideas from our employees on how we can improve the Arnold Clark experience for staff or customers – please do get in touch with your line manager or the People Team if anything comes to mind. Thanks very much for your feedback and keep up the good work! Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      High Pressure Low Value

      Nov 10, 2021 - Product Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee benefits include private medical.

      Cons

      Target driven, high pressure and the company always find a way to dock your wages. Management is iffy at best. Toxic environment where racism, homophobia and misogyny is rampant. Awful hours where you’re expected to be there 7 days a week 12 hours a day.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Arnold Clark Response

      Firstly, I’m really disheartened to read some of your comments above. We have a zero-tolerance policy towards racism, homophobia and misogyny and this is not the kind of environment we want to create – at any level of the business. I’d encourage you to get in contact with the People Team who can offer you advice and support in the strictest of confidence. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      Oct 6, 2021 - Showroom Host 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great development opportunities and work life balance.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Arnold Clark Response

      Hi, Lynne here. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review of your time at Arnold Clark! I’m delighted your experience was so positive. I see you’ve mentioned development opportunities as one of your pros – progression is one of our core values and we want all employees to feel like they can learn new skills and progress in their roles. We offer a wide range of training programmes that are useful to both work and everyday life, so it’s great you were able to take advantage of these. It’s also very important to us that our employees enjoy a healthy work-life balance – that’s why we introduced our new flexible working policy. With three different types of flexibility on offer, it means everyone across the Group can enjoy a good balance between work and family life. Thanks so much for your feedback – I wish you all the best in your future career! Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 540 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Arnold Clark Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Arnold Clark? Share Your Experiences

    Arnold Clark logo
    or