Arnold Clark Employee Reviews about "cars"

Updated 12 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Discounts on cars servicing and mots(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great progression opportunities, fantastic job security and you feel valued(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, stress to keep up with targets(in 57 reviews)

  • "The management is poor and often has favourtism towards certain members of staff, they overwork their employers and generally don't care about them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "cars"

Return to all Reviews
  1. COVID-19

    "Unsecure due to covid"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Security Supervisor in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time

    Pros

    Discounts on cars servicing and mots

    Cons

    Uncertain future due to covid

    Arnold Clark Response

    November 3, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here! Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your role at Arnold Clark. I’m glad to see that overall you have a positive view and you’re making the most of our employee benefits and discounts. I understand your concerns about the current COVID-19 situation, which has brought about many challenges this year. However, if you have any specific worries about your role, you can talk to the People Team in confidence or email the directors via ACE and hopefully we can offer you some reassurance. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  2. "Long hours"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Wigan, England

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good quality well priced cars to sell

    Cons

    Long working hours. Basic Salary.

    Arnold Clark Response

    December 22, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for leaving feedback about your time at Arnold Clark. I’m sorry you felt that the hours were long. While we do expect our product consultants to work hard, we still encourage all of our employees to enjoy a healthy work-life balance – mainly through our five-day week for product consultants. And we do strive to reward hard work with strong commission, a range of incentives and bonuses, and one of the most generous benefits packages in the industry. Thanks again for leaving a review, and I wish you the best of luck in the future. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People


  3. "Interesting senior management techniques"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Genius in Lingfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New concept in selling cars Easy place to work No pressure

    Cons

    Senior management need more honesty and people skills

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad to hear that overall you had a positive experience working with us. However, I was concerned by your comments regarding the management team. This is certainly not the type of behaviour we expect and thank you for flagging it in your review. I wish you all the very best for the future. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  4. "Underpaid and undervalued"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Fitter/Valeter in Falkirk, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chance to drive and experience a wide range of.difference cars Work alone

    Cons

    Underpaid Undervalued Poorly run company Do not eor here theres

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    March 3, 2020

    Hi – Lynne here. I’m sorry that you had such a negative experience with us. Let’s start with the positives. It’s great that you enjoyed the autonomy of the role, and the opportunity to work with lots of different types of cars. However, I’m very sorry to see you left feeling underpaid and undervalued. We have introduced a new Progression journey for our Valeters, because we understand how motivating it can be to have a clear progression structure in place. We believe every employee should feel valued. I’m sorry that for you, this wasn’t the case. I hope things improve for you. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  5. "Like a family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rental Agent in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive branch management - events are organised and everyone is made to feel like a part of the work family Great benefits - discount on cars and private medical insurance given after 1 year of service

    Cons

    Salary could be better - especially for members of staff who have been around for the longest

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    March 3, 2020

    Hi – Lynne here. I’m delighted that you feel part of things at your branch and that you’re supported. As a family-run business that means a lot! There are many events you can take part in this year and if you want to organise one yourself, don’t forget about the fundraising support the Group can offer. I’m also glad you’re taking full advantage of the benefits we offer. As for salary, we always make sure that our rates are highly competitive. However, as progression is another one of our values, we want to make sure everyone who works for us has the chance to progress in their role, so please talk to your line manager – or you can contact the People Team to discuss this further. Thanks for all your hard work and I hope you continue to enjoy your role. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  6. Helpful (2)

    "It depends on your manager!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company strive to ensure that employee's sit at the core of their business, there are recognition presentations throughout the year, an employee APP, regular director check ins, the company as a whole feels like it's operating like one big family. The opportunity to sell cars is absolutely there, the way the company advertise make your job very straight forward and the commission structure is black and white and easy to grasp. The Think Customer initiative is absolutely incredible too, striving to make sure every customer feels valued and treated fairly as per the company mission statement! I love working for a company who's inner beliefs match my own.

    Cons

    The greatest issue I see is with individual branch managers. Some are absolutely incredible and I've worked with some which I can only thank for their guidance and support. I have been unfortunate enough to stumble upon somebody who doesn't follow (I believe) the way Arnold Clark would like our managers to treat us. I feel sad going into work now, a feeling I never had before. This feeling is mutual among our team which explains the high staff turnover rate this last year as well as all the 'sicky' days. Their quote “I don't give a F*** about your mental health, sell some cars” sums it up.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    January 29, 2020

    Hi – Lynne here. Thanks for leaving a review of your time currently with us. I’m happy it’s been largely positive. I did have concerns regarding your current manager. Remember the People Team can be contacted at any time so you can share these issues in confidence. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Stirling, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chance of a company car from day 1 Good earning potential Drive nice cars daily Decent motoring discounts

    Cons

    Long, long days if not got a sale No day off if not got a sale Management treat you like absolute crap Unrealistic expectations Fear culture from management Fear of job loss if no sale Shouted at for not getting a sale Belittled every single day

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    September 11, 2019

    Hi, Lynne here. I was very concerned by the comments left in your review. I’m sorry to hear your time with us was so disappointing. Your comments regarding your time in the branch were very troubling to hear. We certainly wouldn’t expect your days off to be taken from you if you hadn’t secured a sale. Rest assured this is not something we condone and the People Team would have investigated this on your behalf. However, I want to thank you for your review; it’s only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve as a company. Good luck with whatever you decide to do next. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  8. "For a large company, they are LIKE your second family"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loads of pros private health care discount on cars, servicing, parts . Constantly growing as a company, Directors are approachable and amazing

    Cons

    For me know where to progress too unfortunately. But for other people here is

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    August 12, 2019

    Hi! What a wonderful review of your time with us. It’s fantastic that things are going so well! It was lovely to see your comments about our directors and the benefits we offer to our employees. We do everything we can to make sure our employees are happy and fulfilled in their roles. The only con you mentioned was progression. Although I understand as a receptionist your progression path may not be as clear as it is for others, please don’t discount other areas of the business. We often see employees progressing into different opportunities across the Group. Thank you for your review, and keep up the good work! Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  9. "Long Hours, No Support from GM, Can Be Rewarding"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time

    Pros

    Can make a fortune if you can sell cars and get into a good patter with the customers.

    Cons

    Long hours. If you arent the best at selling then managers would rather critise than try and improve you as a salesperson. The pay structure is constantly chaning in order to screw you out of more and more money. Not much of a career ladder.

    Arnold Clark Response

    August 12, 2019

    Hi – Lynne here. Thank you for leaving a review of your time in your current role with us. I’m just sorry to see from your review that overall it seems to have been an unhappy experience. You do mention one positive – the salary that’s potentially on offer, and we couldn’t agree more. We truly believe in rewarding hard work. Now, onto those cons. As you will know, as a product consultant the role isn’t your typical 9-5 as we open later to make sure we’re catering for the needs of our customers – but your hard work doesn’t go unnoticed. We also brought in our flexible five-day working week to help offer a better work/life balance. I was also concerned by your comments regarding the management team. We would expect our managers to support you rather than criticise you, if this persists I would encourage you to contact The People Team in confidence so we can investigate it. Thank you again for getting in touch and I really hope things improve for you soon. Please remember our People Team are always available if you need any help. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group - Head of People

  10. "No ceiling as to your earnings"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Consultant in Elgin, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great cars to sell within the New, Pre-reg and Used Sector. Fabulous add on products, Service Plans, Extended Warranties, Arnold Clark Protect, Vehicle Shortfall Inusrance and now Trakers to help protect your new vehicle.

    Cons

    Lots of snow makes for a slower day at work

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    July 2, 2019

    Hi, Lynne here. Thank you for your review of your role at Arnold Clark. I’m delighted it’s been such a positive experience. Thank you for providing an outline of the products we have on offer – as you know, at Arnold Clark we don’t just sell cars – we offer an all-round package of aftercare and servicing so that customers can feel looked after, long after they’ve left the showroom. Hopefully as the weather’s getting better you’re enjoying busier days at work, and don’t worry, we’ll never run out of cars for you to sell! Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark - Group Head of People

Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 English Reviews