Arnold Clark Employee Reviews about "job security"

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Discounts on cars servicing and mots(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great progression opportunities, fantastic job security and you feel valued(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, stress to keep up with targets(in 57 reviews)

  • "The management is poor and often has favourtism towards certain members of staff, they overwork their employers and generally don't care about them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "job security"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark

    Pros

    Opportunity to build a long term career , job security,flexible working and great understanding of work/life balance. Recognition for hard work.I’ve worked for AC for nearly 20 years and even thou when I stared the company was a lot smaller it still feels like working for a family business, that cares about their employees and listens to them.Highly recommend.

    Cons

    Sometimes the internal IT can not keep up with how busy we are, and make the job more challenging than it needs to be.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    September 30, 2019

    Hi - Lynne here! It’s fantastic to see how committed you are to your role at Arnold Clark and that your time with the company has been enjoyable and rewarding. I’m delighted you have so many good things to say about working for us and I’d like to thank you for your long service and hard work. I’m also glad to read you feel that as a company we are progressing and expanding – as you know, we’ve grown rapidly in the time you’ve been with us, and we’re always looking to improve what we offer to both customers and our employees. You only con was concerning IT – this side of the business is always evolving as we find new ways to develop our internal systems, and we take your feedback on board. Keep up the good work! Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  2. "Couldn’t see myself working anywhere else!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Stirling, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It’s a fantastic company to work for, the recognition and rewards are second to none. Great progression opportunities, fantastic job security and you feel valued. It really has that family business feeling. A great opportunity to make excellent money with no major qualifications needed - however you only get out what you put in.

    Cons

    From a sales point of view it can be long hours however the new 5 day structure gives a great work/life balance. As above, you only get out what you put in, if you give a half hearted effort your wage won’t reflect the hours you put in - however if you come in and work hard you’ll be well rewarded.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    September 11, 2019

    Hi! Thank you for taking time to get in touch and leaving this fantastic review. It’s great to see you’re enjoying your role at Arnold Clark and that your five years with the company have been interesting and rewarding. Yes, the role is certainly varied, and with the right attitude, as you’ve shown, success is there for the taking. One of your main positive points was the opportunity for progression. You have summed this up perfectly in your career journey from sales executive to general manager. It just goes to show that hard work really does pay off and I’d just like to say thank for all your hard work and commitment. Your only con is the working hours. As you mentioned, it is the nature of the role, and we truly appreciate the time and effort our sales teams put in. You also rightly mention that the new five-day structure helps with work-life balance. Thank you again for this lovely review and we hope you enjoy future success and rewards in your career with us. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group - Head of People


  3. "Amazing company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Consultant in Chorley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for progression; job security; family centred business; They have their own training facilities; multiple staff benefits; directors of the company are really approachable and listen to the staff

    Cons

    because I travel round a lot of branches, I can sometimes get caught up in traffic.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    July 2, 2019

    Thanks for leaving this fantastic review. It’s great to see things are working out for you at Arnold Clark and that your time with the company has been enjoyable and rewarding. You’re absolutely right, the opportunity to progress within the company is enormous. Many of our employees enjoy a fulfilling long-term career with us. As for your comments about feedback, as you know, we’ve grown a lot in the past decade and it’s really important for us to keep communicating constructively with each other. We’ve recently developed new appraisal processes via ACE and set up several inboxes to make it easier to talk to directors and senior management. Thank you again for getting in touch and I wish you many happy years with us. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stuck in the dark ages?"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Consultant in Kirkcaldy, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company has expanded massively, Job security is great. Resources are unlimited in terms of buying power for consumers. Everyone knows the name, most people travel by default. Whilst on the whole the job itself of selling cars is a great, fantastic job I have enjoyed for over a decade I can't help but feel (cons) Relatively flexible when it comes to arranging time off etc.

    Cons

    Sales staff are still "fined" when something goes wrong, a practice that has gone on for years and should be abolished, Sales department are the only department within the company made to pay for their uniform at a monthly cost of £15 and the quality is sub-par. with many other companies closing at 6-7pm why are we still open till 8pm Mon-Thurs? The company may advertise this great, family-friendly aura but i assure it is still stuck in the dark ages in it's methods of running a car showroom

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    July 11, 2019

    Hi, thank you for your detailed review of your role as Senior Product Consultant for Arnold Clark. I’m happy to hear that you enjoy your job after being with us for over a decade – I can tell you’re committed to and invested in the role. Now onto those cons. First of all, thanks for leaving honest feedback about fines – it’s something we will look into. As for the uniform, it was redesigned last year to represent the future direction of the brand, and as our sales employees are at the forefront of the Arnold Clark experience we’ve made sure it is the highest quality available on the market. Because of this a monthly cost has been unavoidable – however, the uniform is still largely subsidised by the Group. To answer your comment about opening hours, we are open until 8pm for the convenience of our customers who may be working full time in the week. However, I appreciate your feedback, and if you have any ideas you’d like to share with directors or senior management, you can do so via ACE. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  5. "Technician"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security , training opportunity

    Cons

    6 day weeks and very little reward

    Arnold Clark Response

    April 4, 2019

    Hi, thank you for taking time out to leave a review of your current role at Arnold Clark. I’m saddened it’s been a mixed experience. I’m happy to hear that you feel secure in your role. Job security is obviously very important to our employees. It was also nice to hear that you feel our training programme is a positive. Our training centre, GTG Glasgow gives our employees a great opportunity to become highly successful. Your cons were the working hours. I understand that it’s a demanding role but we truly appreciate the effort you are putting in to the role. I hope things get better for you soon! Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark - Group Head of People

  6. "where else would you want to work?"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Genius in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant atmosphere with colleagues at branches, brilliant training facilities, with benefits available for all employees. Plus job security guaranteed with the prospect of being able to move up the ladder is always a bonus.

    Cons

    Having to travel for training. But then again accommodation is paid for so it's not a massive con.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 12, 2018

    Hi - Lynne here! It’s fantastic to see yet another five star review. I’m delighted that we seem to be doing things right for you. I was happy to learn that you have such a positive rapport with your colleagues in your branch. This is exactly the type of atmosphere we want to see in our branches. You also mention the opportunity for progression. Many of our Product Geniuses go on to be successful Product Consultants, this might be you soon! If you go on to become a Product Consultant I’m sure you will be delighted with the benefits on offer! Thank you again for this review and good luck in the future. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark Group - Head of People

  7. "Parts Perspective"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Inverness, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work at Arnold Clark are, Job Security and the chance to potentially climb the ladder so to speak. I feel my job is very secure in a company of this size and due to the number of branches if one was to close there should always be another opportunity out there within the group. The chance to climb the ladder is very good as there is also a vast amount of branches and opportunity out there.

    Cons

    The company name is very Taboo in the motor trade and in other trades, Other garages and dealers appear to dislike the company very much, due to the vast size of the company it can be expected but it is very frustrating sometimes. Also I agree with the long serving members of staff receiving extra days off but I feel something similar should be done throughout the group with other employee's for example for 5 years service 7 years 10 years and so on.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 12, 2018

    Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review of your role within Arnold Clark. It’s only when we receive feedback that we can improve, and your thoughts are very helpful. Firstly, let’s talk about the pros. Progression within the company is a common positive for many of our employees. It’s also nice to hear you feel secure in your job, this definitely relieves the pressure on you. In terms of the cons you mention, we are working tirelessly on our customer experience and also our engagement with other companies. I definitely agree that as the company grows it can be expected that we receive negative feedback from competitors. I also empathise with your comments regarding our loyal employees, I take this feedback on board and I hope we can look to improve this in future. I was concerned to hear about the issues you experience when you visit branches. If you spot any problems, please contact our Group Estates team and they will be happy to look into this. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark Group - Head of People

  8. "Head Office Employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic progression opportunities, Improvements in contracts for work - life balance, Rewarding, Good benefits, Expanding company = Job security, Good rewards

    Cons

    Because its a growing company, there is differences branch to branch in communication and standards

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 12, 2018

    Hi! This is what we like to hear, what a lovely review! It really seems we are getting things right for you. I was delighted to hear the many positives you mention. You’re absolutely right, we place a lot of emphasis on our staff being able to progress. As you will know, many of our staff have risen through the company. It’s also great to hear you feel you have a positive work-life balance; this is something we have been working tirelessly on and since the introduction of Flexitime, it has improved things immeasurably. In terms of the one con you mention, communication, it is one of our company values and we are tackling this by focusing on ACE, our staff intranet, as well as other internal improvement initiatives across the company. One of our main focuses is for all our staff and branches to be pulling in the same direction. If you have any suggestions, you are welcome to get involved. You can find more information on ACE. Thank you again for getting in touch and I hope you continue to enjoy the coming years at Arnold Clark! Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark Group - Head of People

  9. "Not just a job - Arnold Clark gave me a career."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time

    Pros

    Arnold Clark is a company that has so much to offer employees. There are so many career opportunities across so many different job roles. They put a lot into developing their staff. It is a huge company which means that job security is something that no-one needs to worry about. It is a very dynamic company so therefore every day is different for it's employees.

    Cons

    With it being such a huge company spread across the UK communication could be a lot better.

    Arnold Clark Response

    September 20, 2018

    This is what we like to hear! Thank you for this highly positive review of your experience working for Arnold Clark. You are absolutely right, there are so many opportunities within the business and fantastic options to be able to progress. As a family business with over 60 years’ experience, as you know, our staff can certainly feel secure in their jobs. Your only negative was communication. In recent months, we have been continually improving this. Communication is one of our company values and we now have several internal initiatives in place. Our Arnold Clark Employee intranet is the place for all company news and your feedback is encouraged. Have a look on ACE and see how you can get involved. I wish you all the best in your career with us and I’m glad you’re enjoying the variety and security a job at Arnold Clark brings. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark Group - Head of People

  10. "Great company! Great career prospects!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Arnold Clark has so many career opportunities across so many different job roles. The company is continuing to grow which means that job security is something no-one needs to worry about. There is great support from Senior Management and all internal departments. Excellent employee packages. Flexi working.

    Cons

    With the company continuing to grow and be so spread across the UK there is sometimes a lack of communication in the company.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 English Reviews