Arnold Clark Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 20 Nov 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Discounts on cars servicing and mots(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great progression opportunities, fantastic job security and you feel valued(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, stress to keep up with targets(in 57 reviews)

  • "The management is poor and often has favourtism towards certain members of staff, they overwork their employers and generally don't care about them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rental Agent in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, different every day and fab people to work with

    Cons

    Customers can be hard work, long hours and sometimes a lot of overtime that isn't always optional

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here! Thanks for your positive review of your time working at Arnold Clark – I’m really happy to hear that you had fun and enjoyed working with your colleagues – that’s what it’s all about! As for your negatives, any customer-facing role comes with its challenges, and sometimes we ask our rental advisors to work outside of regular hours due to the nature of the business. However, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  2. "If you are lucky..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional environment, even if VERY 'corporate'

    Cons

    Long hours, you need to suck up to management

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    December 22, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your time at Arnold Clark. I’m sorry to hear that you felt the hours were long – we do acknowledge that our Product Consultants are expected to work hard, but in return we offer our employees a five-day working week, excellent and one of the most generous benefits packages in the industry so that they can enjoy a healthier work-life balance. Thanks again for your service with the company, and I wish you all the best for the future. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People


  3. "Alright"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Genius in Chesterfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time

    Pros

    Good wage Lots of benefits Easy going Good for an enthusiast

    Cons

    Long hours Management too money hungry Lack of support

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 22, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for your review and thank you for your many years of service at Arnold Clark – our product geniuses are a key part of the business and we really appreciate your contribution. You mention the salary and benefits that go along with the job and it’s true that there are plenty of opportunities to earn and progress in your career. However, I’m sorry to hear that your experience has been a bit mixed. As you know, our sales teams are often required to work long hours as this is the nature of the job. However, you should also feel supported by management and if this isn’t the case, please contact the People Team in confidence and we’ll look into it for you. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  4. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Inverness, Scotland

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good commission possibilities if you work hard

    Cons

    Long hours, stress to keep up with targets

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your time working for us. Our Sales roles offer great opportunities to earn commission and I’m glad you took advantage of this while you were in our employment. In your cons, you mention long hours – as you know, our product consultants don’t work a regular 9-5 and there are targets to be met, but we do have a five-day commission structure to help with work-life balance and we offer a number of other benefits too, including private healthcare and wellbeing support. And, as you’ve pointed out, hard work is always rewarded. I’d like to wish you the very best of luck in your career and thank you for your contribution to Arnold Clark. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  5. "Job Security"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Consultant in Linwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very easy to progress Not hard to earn money Company car Holiday pay Plenty of Support if you need it

    Cons

    Literally aren’t any cons, people mention long hours however every manager does rota differently and if you’re organised the hours aren’t too bad

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here! Thanks for your positive review and I’m so happy to hear that you enjoy your job! As you point out, career progression is built into the product consultant role and we offer plenty of support and training, plus opportunities to earn more. It’s also wonderful to hear that you can’t think of any cons. Hard work and high levels of organisation are vital skills for our sales teams and it’s great that you manage your role so well. Finally, thank you for your comments about management – we always want to hear constructive feedback so that we can continue to grow and improve the business. Thanks for your continued contribution and keep up the good work! Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  6. "Working with Arnold clark"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Stirling, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money Friendly staff Company car Lots of benefits

    Cons

    long hours Lots of boring tasks Sales calls and leads not evenly distributed

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here! Thanks for your review of your time working for Arnold Clark and it’s great to hear that overall, your experience was positive. Our product consultants, as you point out, receive plenty of opportunities to increase their earning power, as well as a range of benefits from company cars and retail discounts to private healthcare. As for your negatives, our sales roles involve some long hours. However, you mention the distribution of sales calls and unequal treatment from management – this is not something we encourage and I only wish you’d approached the People Team in confidence if you were struggling with this. I hope you find success elsewhere and best of luck in your future career. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  7. "Great job but could be better"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Good peeks Company car

    Cons

    Long hours Money not great due to changes

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback; and your positive comments regarding the company benefits, company car and your colleagues. Yes, our sales roles have long hours, but we do offer a five-day working week and our managers are there to support you and help you reach your full earning potential. As for salary, we always make sure that our rates are highly competitive. I hope you’ve gone on to find a good fit elsewhere and thank you for your contribution to the business. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  8. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vehicle Technician in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, good enviroment

    Cons

    Long hours, no other cons

    Arnold Clark Response

    September 8, 2020

    Hi Lynne, here! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five-star review! I’m delighted you’re enjoying working with us. It’s great to hear you feel Arnold Clark is a good place to work, and you have a positive relationship with your team and management. You will already know that sales roles in this industry can lead to longer hours but we hope our 5-day commission structure goes some way to help with work-life balance. Thank you again for leaving us this review, I wish you every success and hope you continue to reap the rewards of all your hard work. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  9. "Good Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Consultant in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time

    Pros

    Good Commision structure Good camaraderie Good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours Can be favouritism May have to work days off

    Arnold Clark Response

    July 15, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here! Thanks for your review and I’m glad to hear that you seem to be enjoying working for us. You mention the opportunity to earn commission and get great benefits – that’s something a lot of our sales staff are positive about. It’s also fantastic to hear you get on with your colleagues . As for your negatives, you mention a culture of favouritism – we would not encourage this from our managers and if you are having any issues, please don’t hesitate to contact the People Team in confidence. You also mention long hours, which can be the case in sales roles, but our five-day structure is in place to make sure a work-life balance can be maintained. Again, you shouldn’t be working your days off unless agreed in advance, so please get in touch if this is a problem. I hope you continue to enjoy working for us and thank you for your contribution! Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  10. "Mixed feelings"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts Advisor in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary. Close to home

    Cons

    Long hours All day Saturdays Departmental friction, blame culture

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    July 15, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for your review, and I’m sorry working for us was such a mixed experience. As for your pros, I’m glad that you felt you were appropriately rewarded for the role and that it was convenient to get to work. In your cons, you say there was friction and a blame culture in your department. This really isn’t the sort of atmosphere we want our employees to work in. Staff should feel encouraged and supported by management and enjoy working with their colleagues. I only wish you’d approached the People Team to look into this for you while you were employed by us. I hope you find success elsewhere and best of luck for the future. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 English Reviews