Arnold Clark Employee Reviews about "members of staff"

Updated 2 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Discounts on cars servicing and mots(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great progression opportunities, fantastic job security and you feel valued(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, stress to keep up with targets(in 57 reviews)

  • "The management is poor and often has favourtism towards certain members of staff, they overwork their employers and generally don't care about them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "members of staff"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Like a family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rental Agent in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive branch management - events are organised and everyone is made to feel like a part of the work family Great benefits - discount on cars and private medical insurance given after 1 year of service

    Cons

    Salary could be better - especially for members of staff who have been around for the longest

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    March 3, 2020

    Hi – Lynne here. I’m delighted that you feel part of things at your branch and that you’re supported. As a family-run business that means a lot! There are many events you can take part in this year and if you want to organise one yourself, don’t forget about the fundraising support the Group can offer. I’m also glad you’re taking full advantage of the benefits we offer. As for salary, we always make sure that our rates are highly competitive. However, as progression is another one of our values, we want to make sure everyone who works for us has the chance to progress in their role, so please talk to your line manager – or you can contact the People Team to discuss this further. Thanks for all your hard work and I hope you continue to enjoy your role. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  2. "Nice people, poor company."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time

    Pros

    The staff are friendly and are the main positive of the job.

    Cons

    The management is poor and often has favourtism towards certain members of staff, they overwork their employers and generally don't care about them.

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback and for your positive comments about your colleagues. However, I’m concerned to hear your comments regarding management, favouritism and overwork. Our management team are in place to support and motivate employees, and this isn’t the kind of atmosphere we’d expect you to work in. I’m just sorry we didn’t have the opportunity to investigate this while you were with us. I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney Group Head of People


  3. Helpful (1)

    "I honestly wouldn't wish it on an enemy"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like being spoken to like garbage then your in luck... Is that a pro?

    Cons

    Underpaid Overworked Bullying Sexisim Terrible training Managers who honestly are yobs in suits (having seen one actually offer a member of staff a fight)

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 5, 2020

    Hi, Lynne here. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you had a disappointing time working for Arnold Clark. What you’ve described is certainly not something we want our employees to experience and I only wish we could have investigated this situation while you were employed by us. We have a zero-tolerance bullying and harassment policy and management is not exempt from this. We expect our managers to support employees and treat them with respect. The People Team always looks into any issues of this nature in complete confidence. I’m sorry that you had this experience, and I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Under £1 deducted form my final salary."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Web Developer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time

    Pros

    The digital product development department is really focused on making good products, that help their customers and working to make their own processes better, which is hard given the number of legacy systems. There's a subsidised lunch available at head office, to help with the location and every employee there is given a monthly food allowance that can be used on site. There are also an attractive number of staff discounts and benefits available.

    Cons

    On the face of it Arnold Clark seemed like a good place to work, however never in my career as an IT professional have I had to worry about being sick. In the first year all employees only qualify for statutory sick pay (which is poorly worded in the contract). I found this out the hard way and when I challenged the policy but was told that sales advisors had abused it in the past. In the end I was paid for the those days as a gesture of good faith, but feel that no employee should have to be treated like this. The flexible working scheme is designed with the mindset that people will abuse it. Every member of staff needs to "clock in" and "clock out" with every minute is accounted for; I left a little early on my last day and a tiny balance was deducted from my final salary. It's normal for half baked ideas with (often short) arbitrary deadlines to be thrown at development teams. Understanding the brief was regularly a chaotic experience and it was not uncommon for stakeholders to have conflicting views on the delivery. Then, when the work was completed, it was often put on hold for weeks and even months despite "hard deadlines". Other things within the organisation moved very slow, and often it was who you knew in a team that made things happen rather than following the outlined processes. The location of the head office is a challenge. Locally there are few alternatives for food, and there is no refrigerator, microwave or toaster for staff, narrowing those options.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    November 21, 2018

    Thanks for your feedback around our sickness policy. We’re disappointed to hear that you feel it wasn’t made clear in the employee contract and will look to improve that in order to be as transparent as possible for new employees. We do have to build policies to cover a vast range of roles and circumstances, but will always try to be flexible with staff where we can. We also offer an industry-leading package, including substantial bonuses for our software engineering and product team, as well as a flexi-time contract that we as a business are very proud to have implemented. Arnold Clark is working incredibly hard to be leading the way on flexible working for our employees, and our clocking in-and-out system is what enables employees to track and plan their flexible working hours and holidays. If you happen to have left on your final day with a negative balance on your hours, then this will have automatically been reflected in your final salary. With regards to your feedback on the role itself, thank you for your comments. Our Agile approaches to working are designed to maximise value and output from our development teams, and working to tight deadlines is an important part of ensuring we move at the speed we need to meet the needs of our customers. We’re also working really hard to improve relationships and communication with our stakeholders, which can be a challenge in any organisation. Finally, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on the positives around the role. I’m glad that our overall vision to build great digital products for our customers resonated with you, and I’m sorry other parts of the role didn’t work out the way we’d hoped. Wishing you all the very best in your future career. David Keenan, Arnold Clark - Head of Architecture and Development

  5. "Poor Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good staff who you can have a laugh with. If your one of the chosen few wages aren't bad.

    Cons

    Poor management of the staff, have varying wages which don't reflect the level of work or training. Bosses don't listen to the staff at a lower level and as long as site makes money they don't care how it's run. End up feeling light a number and not a valued member of staff. Threats against you daily.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    November 20, 2018

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I was saddened to hear it’s been a poor experience. The one happy note in your review was your rapport with your colleagues. So I’m glad to hear about this. Now, onto the cons. I was concerned to hear your comments regarding the management at your branch. We expect our managers to fully support our staff, but this certainly doesn’t seem to be case in your branch. Remember you can contact The People Team in confidence, at any time, if you wish to raise your concerns with us – we are here to help. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark – Group Head of People

  6. "Parts Perspective"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Inverness, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work at Arnold Clark are, Job Security and the chance to potentially climb the ladder so to speak. I feel my job is very secure in a company of this size and due to the number of branches if one was to close there should always be another opportunity out there within the group. The chance to climb the ladder is very good as there is also a vast amount of branches and opportunity out there.

    Cons

    The company name is very Taboo in the motor trade and in other trades, Other garages and dealers appear to dislike the company very much, due to the vast size of the company it can be expected but it is very frustrating sometimes. Also I agree with the long serving members of staff receiving extra days off but I feel something similar should be done throughout the group with other employee's for example for 5 years service 7 years 10 years and so on.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    October 12, 2018

    Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review of your role within Arnold Clark. It’s only when we receive feedback that we can improve, and your thoughts are very helpful. Firstly, let’s talk about the pros. Progression within the company is a common positive for many of our employees. It’s also nice to hear you feel secure in your job, this definitely relieves the pressure on you. In terms of the cons you mention, we are working tirelessly on our customer experience and also our engagement with other companies. I definitely agree that as the company grows it can be expected that we receive negative feedback from competitors. I also empathise with your comments regarding our loyal employees, I take this feedback on board and I hope we can look to improve this in future. I was concerned to hear about the issues you experience when you visit branches. If you spot any problems, please contact our Group Estates team and they will be happy to look into this. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark Group - Head of People

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Bullying"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The money was good, that's about it

    Cons

    I was a victim of workplace bullying from a full time member of staff The way this was dealt with was astoundingly bad, the person who bullied me was kept with no punishment due to being good at his job. I have later found out this individual was let go due to other serious offences in the workplace. The managers don't care about their employees Long hours

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    July 5, 2018

    Hi, I was concerned to read about your experience working for Arnold Clark. Firstly, the one positive that you mentioned was your salary. Our technicians earn a highly competitive pay compared to others in the industry. Bullying is unacceptable in the workplace and I’m very concerned to hear that you encountered this situation under our employment. At Arnold Clark we have a zero-tolerance approach to this type of treatment and our People Team is there to help resolve any issues like this. Our managers are trained to motivate and inspire our technicians. I wish we had the opportunity to resolve this for you when you were under our employment. I want to thank you for your feedback and wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  8. "Old company - modern ways!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Ayr, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commissions, private health care, holidays, bonuses, option for promotion, recognition, family business, security in your job during uncertain times, training and growing opportunities.

    Cons

    Long days, long hours in sales, targets and the pressure that goes with them, the challenges that come with old fashioned members of staff.

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    March 1, 2018Social Media Lead

    Thank you for leaving such a shining review of your time working at Arnold Clark. I'm so pleased to read that things are going well. There are certainly plenty of fantastic benefits available to Arnold Clark employees; and all those that you've listed form just part of the extensive benefits package that we offer our staff. Everyone should feel recognised and rewarded for their hard work, and I hope you continue to take advantage of these. As for the cons, we completely understand that a job in sales can entail a commitment that goes beyond the 9-5. However, we've pioneered an industry-leading 5-day work week option to help our sales executives strike a more flexible work-life balance, and we hope this is a step in the right direction. Thank you for all your feedback and advice. I wish you many more happy years as an Arnold Clark employee. Lynne McBurney Arnold Clark Group Head of People

  9. "Horrendous company - management team bullies."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job can be a good laugh, when the management aren't around. You can make money if your willing to sacrifice your life/happiness

    Cons

    Huge hours, expected to work way over contracted hours. Bullied and belittled by management who are almost all aggressive in their management styles. Commission deductions that mostly outweigh the amount your paid from a sale. Management are without a doubt out to take money off you, you begin to wonder if they are targeted on the amounts. Unattainable targets some months. You don't feel there is any job security as management are constantly threatening to "HR you". Just a generally miserable working environment and nearly ever member of staff at the branch I worked at is looking for another job. Made to lie to customers. Illegal practices in relation to finance documents (signing off site and forging signatures when a resign is required).

    Continue reading

    Arnold Clark Response

    August 16, 2017Community Manager

    I’d like to thank you for taking some time to review your time working at Arnold Clark. I’m sorry to see you’re no longer working for the company. It’s good to see that you enjoyed some aspects of the role, but the negative points you raise are highly concerning, and the allegations you make are extremely serious. We categorically do not condone bullying, aggression or threatening behaviour. Neither do we allow ‘illegal practices’; we are strictly regulated by the FCA and have strict sales procedures in place to ensure compliance. We do target employees on areas other than sales; this is to ensure our customers receive the best possible experience when they buy from us, and to make sure a sale is never made at the cost of offering fantastic customer service. I’d encourage you to write to us with more information so we can investigate these matters. You can contact our Human Resources department at the following address: FAO: Human Resources Department, Arnold Clark Head Office, 454 Hillington Road, Glasgow G52 4FH. I’m sorry things didn’t work out, and wish you every success with your future career. Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark Group HR Manager

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Like being in high school."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partsman Apprentice in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arnold Clark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offered me the chance at a trade.

    Cons

    Dealing with senior members of staff that write derogatory things about my mother. If they do that about staff's family members think how bad genuine customers get it. Yes it happens!

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.