Arup Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Arup Associate Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Arup Chairman Alan Belfield
Alan Belfield
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Arup full-time

    Pros

    Independent, ambitious, always seeking to do the right thing

    Cons

    None really applicable, it's a large company, with incredibly talented staff so must work hard to be noticed.

    Arup2019-09-02
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Technical ability of the staff

    Cons

    Work-life balance - needs improving, sometimes work imbalanced.

    Arup2019-12-11
  3. "An independent firm of designers, planners, engineers, consultants offering a broad range of services."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Arup is the creative force at the heart of many of the world’s most prominent projects both large and small scale in the built environment and across industry. With 90 offices in 35 countries our 10,000 staff offer a broad range of professional services and through its work they make a positive difference in the world. Arup’s independence, enabled by its employee ownership structure, fosters a distinctive culture and an intellectual independence that encourages collaborative working. This is reflected in everything Arup does, allowing development of meaningful ideas, helping shape agendas and delivering results that frequently surpass the expectations of clients. It also gives individuals the freedom to develop in a supportive and stimulating environment.

    Cons

    I haven't found many, but sometimes the competitive group structure can create boundaries between teams that need not exist.

    Arup2019-08-05
  4. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup for less than a year

    Pros

    Superb working environment with smart people! Great work life!

    Cons

    Slight bit of bureaucracy when it comes to promotions

    Arup2019-05-16
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Director 

    I have been working at Arup full-time

    Pros

    Great projects, great colleagues, strong ethics

    Cons

    Not much to complain about

    Arup2019-04-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Needs to live up to professed company values in terms of looking after people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Director 

    I worked at Arup full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, stimulating and motivated people

    Cons

    Poor management, like many other engineering companies, lack of inclusiveness

    Arup2019-04-27
  7. "10+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Variety Ability to set own career direction Friendly and collaborative atmosphere

    Cons

    Some individual leaders are not open to collaboration

    Arup2019-03-09
  8. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is low but are similar to other consultants, opportunity to do quality work, people are friendly and can acquire very valuable skills

    Cons

    Have to work hard. Company expand too fast.

    Continue reading
    Arup2017-10-30
  9. "Talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting jobs, bright people, you are given freedom to shape what you do and there's hardly ever imposition. Most senior staff will listen to ideas / comments

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours, the industry is very competitive and sometimes it's hard to do an excellent job with the constraints we have

    Arup2017-10-11
  10. "Best consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The immensity of the knowledge capital accessible throughout the world Some of the greatest investment in developing leading thinking I have ever seen Employee owned Great working environment Great for building a career

    Cons

    I haven't found any

    Arup2017-01-21
Found 29 reviews