Ashurst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ashurst Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ashurst Managing Partner Paul Jenkins
Paul Jenkins
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smarter working allowed you to work remotely so great for work/life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexible working practices and remuneration seems pretty good(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, poor management, many offices are internal with no natural light(in 9 reviews)

  • "Support staff get treated as sub-par employees to fee-earners(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A great firm evolving into a leading professional serivces business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of/Middle Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Agile working and innovative Competitve rewards Commitment to excellence and service

    Cons

    Change can bring uncertainty, communication is ok but always able to improve

    Advice to Management

    I've see a welcome openness and commitment to the values. I think it would be great to have the leadership team to take turns speaking to the firm about the strategy and progress against the plans. The email and films are good but the personal connection would also be great to bring things to life.

    Ashurst2019-06-12
  2. "Solicitor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solicitor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    exposure to high quality work

    Cons

    not much support on training

    Advice to Management

    need to have better distribution of work among associates so everyone gets equal opportunities to develop post qualification

    Ashurst2020-01-03
  3. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great lawyers, leading transactions in the market, good reputation

    Cons

    Pays below magic circle and US firms in London

    Advice to Management

    Keep focus on brand value

    Ashurst2020-01-02
  4. "nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time

    Pros

    very nice people, moved to a new building, good benefits

    Cons

    would get rid of some colleagues for font reasons. long hours.

    Ashurst2019-12-13
  5. "Business Development Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in London, England

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was not micro-managed and had lots of opportunities to work on projects outside of the usual BD remit.

    Cons

    When I was there, we had lots of changes in our wider team that had a negative impact on our group.

    Ashurst2019-11-19
  6. "Great workplace, can be frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues and great environment day to day.

    Cons

    The pace of change can be somewhat frustrating alongside recognition of value for non fee earners.

    Ashurst2019-10-29
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashurst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly peers, interesting work, nice office

    Cons

    Work hard, no recognition

    Ashurst2019-11-02
  8. "Positive and rewarding atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The colleagues and management have been amazing so far, very supportive environment, lots of career opportunities and great perks like staff discounts and social events!

    Cons

    Can be a bit tedious sometimes, but wo k is work, can't be always exciting.

    Ashurst2019-08-24
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very open and supportive culture. Great colleagues and kept really busy. Interesting and varied environment. Good salary and plenty of scope for promotion if you want this. Great reputation in other Ashurst offices around the globe. Friendly warm and welcoming. Good benefits and the usual pension scheme, free healthcare etc etc

    Cons

    Not all new people are introduced so can be a bit disjointed at times as we are over three floors. However, there are plenty of social opportunities to get to know people.

    Advice to Management

    There have been talks of getting to know you nights which would be great to bond everyone.

    Ashurst2019-08-19
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solicitor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ashurst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good people, varied work, interesting clients

    Cons

    Stressful, office politics, lack of transparency around progression and secondments

    Ashurst2019-08-04
Found 111 reviews