Asian Development Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Asian Development Bank Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Asian Development Bank President Takehiko Nakao
Takehiko Nakao
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Stiff competition alongside career progression(in 4 reviews)

  • "slow pace, not a place to learn many new skills esp at country missions, not very competent(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Asian Development Bank full-time

    Pros

    Very paternalistic. Regular wine testing andTGIFs, a large gym, squash courts and commissary.

    Cons

    The terrible traffic and pollution of Manila

    Advice to Management

    Consider moving HQ to another country!

    Asian Development Bank2016-10-31
  2. "Great place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Asian Development Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work! Huge company.

    Cons

    It could be stressful some times

    Asian Development Bank2019-11-19
  3. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank

    Pros

    Medical insurance plan is good

    Cons

    Big company. A lot of coordination needed

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Asian Development Bank2019-11-07
  4. "Personally fulfilling to be a part of the fight against poverty."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank

    Pros

    development mission challenging rewarding collegial

    Cons

    bureaucracy lengthy processes hierarchical complex

    Asian Development Bank2019-10-13
  5. "Depressing place if you actually care about development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - . in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay very well and have good benefits.

    Cons

    Moving to this organization is like going back to the 1950s. People are promoted based on nationality and tenure - not merit. Most managers are extremely uninspiring and ill-informed - yet arrogant. Achieving positive change is almost impossible because of the thick layer of dead-wood above.

    Advice to Management

    The only way I can imagine this place changing is to get rid of a lot of middle-managers - all those who were promoted because of tenure/nationality. And bring in good and dynamic leaders from elsewhere.

    Asian Development Bank2019-10-05
  6. "Shocking working contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Administration Analyst 

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - A lot of new experiences and knowledge

    Cons

    - No clear and transparent contract system for the non-permanent staff. - I am currently working under a consultant contract within the project. I understand that even if I am not hired directly by the ADB, I still have to follow the Team Leader of the project. Means that indirectly, the Team Leader of the project is also my boss. But, I don't think is also including carrying your Team Leader's bag and documents,... just because your team leader said that her suitcase is too heavy. - Before my contract is completed, I get an offer to facilitate some training that will be held in another city, with the position as a workshop logistics administration. And promised, there will be a formal contract with a clear job desk. However, three days before the event which is on Friday afternoon, I was told there would be no contract, I just needed to provide them with an invoice for my services, and my expenses. This was notified to me in the afternoon, on Friday, which finally made me unable to withdraw myself from the project. In my opinion, ADB can make the work situation better. In fact, many other small organizations have a much better working environment than ADB. This is quite disappointing.

    Show More
    Asian Development Bank2019-09-30
  7. "Research Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank full-time

    Pros

    international environment policy oriented research

    Cons

    The depth of research shall be improved

    Asian Development Bank2019-08-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank full-time

    Pros

    awesome growth prospects and career opportunities

    Cons

    hectic life but somewhat manageable

    Asian Development Bank2019-06-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Heirarchial, Inefficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Vacation leaves -Health benefits -Subsidized food in cafeteria

    Cons

    -Some colleagues are very territorial. -Limited growth for National stagg -Inefficiencies are all around -Very blind to change

    Asian Development Bank2019-05-24
  10. "Review of working in ADB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asian Development Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits, high-level scope, diversified working environment

    Cons

    Heavy workload, bureaucracy, office politics

    Asian Development Bank2019-03-24
Found 87 reviews