Aspire Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Aspire Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Aspire CEO Chris Chandler  (no image)
Chris Chandler
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There's an argument to suggest there are too many mid-level managers here just 'managing' one or two people(in 3 reviews)

  • "I have been given full training to do my job well, I have strong support from the management, i enjoy my team and working environment(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, lots of perks, plenty of cash to be made in a supposrtive environment.

    Cons

    Couple of individuals I didnt like but thats it.

    Aspire2019-01-31

    Aspire Response

    April 8, 2019Chairman

    Many thanks

    Continue reading
  2. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Location nice lunch options nearby free breakfast

    Cons

    Long hours, not the best managers

    Aspire2019-07-30

    Aspire Response

    August 2, 2019Chairman

    Bit confused by this review, firstly because we have a very small admin team who are still with us after 5 and 14 years, secondly because our hours are normal and flexible and finally because we are located centrally and offer free breakfast.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time

    Pros

    good team welcoming atmosphere flexible work transparent progression

    Cons

    lack of direction a high churn rate

    Aspire2019-04-01

    Aspire Response

    April 8, 2019Chairman

    Thanks for the review and I am guessing this was in the Talent Hub in Birmingham before we made our changes. Shame it was too late for you. Now all employees can see that options are open to them and hopefully that will help reduce churn. I agree that it wasn't that clear before

    Continue reading
  4. "Unbelievable Database! Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time

    Pros

    The database is incredible! Hundreds of thousands of candidates with up to date contact information. Good company branding and culture

    Cons

    The culture was good when I started but there is not as much fun things going on as there used to be. Still amazing people working there who are good fun!

    Continue reading
    Aspire2019-01-15

    Aspire Response

    April 8, 2019Chairman

    many thanks and will do

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A company with some nice people but wouldn't recommend working for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Aspire full-time

    Pros

    Bright, spacious colourful office. Smart, casual dress code. Ability to work from 8am - 5pm unlike many other Recruitment companies. Some nice people that you can easily get along with inside and outside of work.

    Cons

    Very very very (can't stress this enough) heavily focused on targets and KPIs to the point where people compromise the quality of the candidates that they speak to/book in for interviews just to boost their points towards their monthly target. Managers spend the majority of their working day keeping a close eye on the numbers on their screen/tracking the performance of their individual team members. Regular morning meetings every week, which only last around 5 minutes, were purely to provide a run down of each team's performance against their target for the week. Lack of clear communication from the management team - was told exactly 1 week before probation meeting that all new starters were required to make at least 1 placement and hit 100 points within their 3 month probation period - was not happy about this at all since 1) this should have been strictly communicated to all new starters at the beginning of their employment and 2) throughout my probation period, I placed 4 candidates (didn't reach 100 points), however, was told that I would not pass probation (even though it is ultimately, the placements that make money for the business). Personally, I feel that there should be more flexibility around this. Lack of honesty and transparency from some team members meant that at times, ownership of some candidates were lost. Extremely complicated bonus structures, promotion/pay rise policies, policies on ownership of candidates within and across teams.

    Aspire2019-01-02

    Aspire Response

    January 9, 2019Chairman

    Thanks for the feedback and understand how you may feel that way. We do want to attract target orientated people as without achieving our goals we can help our candidates or find the talent our clients seek. We can't compromise on quality as that is a key KPI! I hope you found a more suitable environment

    Continue reading
  6. "One of the best places I have and ever will work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A true reflection of their values, Accountability, Communication, Performance and Flexibility. The people are genuine and the management team lead from the front.

    Cons

    Personal development once past Senior Consultant/ Manager is slow. You can get lost in the day to day and feel like a glorified biller.

    Aspire2018-08-23

    Aspire Response

    January 9, 2019Chairman

    Many thanks and best wishes for the future

    Continue reading
  7. "All good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was at Aspire for 6.5 years and it was great. I could not do what I do now with out there training and support- I left as I needed a change but the team, management and support is some of the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Great flexibility for senior staff not so much on the more mid level side and can be a bit 'cliquey' but in a company that size is not that bad - over all great working environment

    Continue reading
    Aspire2018-06-13

    Aspire Response

    July 30, 2018Chairman

    Many thanks and best wishes for the future

    Continue reading
  8. "Not stereotypical recruitment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company culture. Constantly looking to progress and develop you. Really helpful managers. Really good vibe in the office everyone is really friendly. A lot of flexibility! Work life balance. Great location. Branding and heritage behind you. Very well known in the industry.

    Cons

    The coffee machine is not that nice..

    Continue reading
    Aspire2018-02-21

    Aspire Response

    February 26, 2018Chairman

    Many thanks and coffe machine noted

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Aspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I think the office is amazing and everyone is engaged.

    Cons

    I do not have any

    Aspire2018-02-01

    Aspire Response

    February 26, 2018Chairman

    many thanks but dont hesistate to let us know where we can improve

    Continue reading
  10. "Nervous for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aspire full-time

    Pros

    Learnt a lot, great offices, good benefits and some amazing people. Has been able performance rather than 100% KPI focused

    Cons

    Change in splits means 10% loss in commission / earning. Constant forced changes cause added stress and more work load. Sense of pressure from above to reach unrealistic targets. Bonus structure isn't competitive.

    Aspire2018-02-03

    Aspire Response

    February 19, 2018Chairman

    Thanks for your comments. As you know we have invested significantly in our Birmingham based Talent Hub to support you in your role so the plan is that with extra support you can be more successful. There are plenty of teams benefiting as a result and unsure how it creates more workload but clearly we need to be aware if it is.

    Continue reading
Found 92 reviews