Aspire Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Aspire Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Chris Chandler
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours is a massive plus(in 8 reviews)

  • "With flexible working hours you can maintain a good work life balance, after 7 years of working here i still enjoy coming to work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's an argument to suggest there are too many mid-level managers here just 'managing' one or two people(in 3 reviews)

  • "I have been given full training to do my job well, I have strong support from the management, i enjoy my team and working environment(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Lovely offices * Lots of great benefits * Flexible working hours * Awesome environment with monthly socials planned by the Ministry of Fun * Christmas Party and Summer Party * Amazing managers * Great values and culture that encourages team work * Not the typical sharky recruitment environment * Great clients * Good commission and pay rise structure - They will value you in all possible ways if you perform...

    Show More

    Cons

    * Relationship with Talent Hub can be a bit tricky sometimes for specific teams.

    Aspire2019-03-26

    Aspire Response

    April 8, 2019Chairman

    many thanks for your response and we will keep working on improving the relationship

  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time

    Pros

    good team welcoming atmosphere flexible work transparent progression

    Cons

    lack of direction a high churn rate

    Aspire2019-04-01

    Aspire Response

    April 8, 2019Chairman

    Thanks for the review and I am guessing this was in the Talent Hun in Birmingham before we made our changes. Shame it was too late for you. Now all employees can see that options are open to them and hopefully that will help reduce churn. I agree that it wasn't that clear before

  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, lots of perks, plenty of cash to be made in a supposrtive environment.

    Cons

    Couple of individuals I didnt like but thats it.

    Aspire2019-01-31

    Aspire Response

    April 8, 2019Chairman

    Many thanks

  4. "Unbelievable Database! Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aspire full-time

    Pros

    The database is incredible! Hundreds of thousands of candidates with up to date contact information. Good company branding and culture

    Cons

    The culture was good when I started but there is not as much fun things going on as there used to be. Still amazing people working there who are good fun!

    Advice to Management

    Keep adding little perks and treats like we used to as it really makes the difference.

    Aspire2019-01-15

    Aspire Response

    April 8, 2019Chairman

    many thanks and will do

  5. "A company with some nice people but wouldn't recommend working for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Aspire full-time

      Pros

      Bright, spacious colourful office. Smart, casual dress code. Ability to work from 8am - 5pm unlike many other Recruitment companies. Some nice people that you can easily get along with inside and outside of work.

      Cons

      Very very very (can't stress this enough) heavily focused on targets and KPIs to the point where people compromise the quality of the candidates that they speak to/book in for interviews just to boost their points towards their monthly target. Managers spend the majority of their working day keeping a close eye on the numbers on their screen/tracking the performance of their individual team members. Regular morning...

      Show More
      Aspire2019-01-02

      Aspire Response

      January 9, 2019Chairman

      Thanks for the feedback and understand how you may feel that way. We do want to attract target orientated people as without achieving our goals we can help our candidates or find the talent our clients seek. We can't compromise on quality as that is a key KPI! I hope you found a more ...

      Show More
    • "One of the best places I have and ever will work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aspire full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A true reflection of their values, Accountability, Communication, Performance and Flexibility. The people are genuine and the management team lead from the front.

      Cons

      Personal development once past Senior Consultant/ Manager is slow. You can get lost in the day to day and feel like a glorified biller.

      Aspire2018-08-23

      Aspire Response

      January 9, 2019Chairman

      Many thanks and best wishes for the future

    • "All good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aspire full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I was at Aspire for 6.5 years and it was great. I could not do what I do now with out there training and support- I left as I needed a change but the team, management and support is some of the best in the industry.

      Cons

      Great flexibility for senior staff not so much on the more mid level side and can be a bit 'cliquey' but in a company that size is not that bad - over all great working environment

      Advice to Management

      Keep saying thank you to your staff and keep up the training

      Aspire2018-06-13

      Aspire Response

      July 30, 2018Chairman

      Many thanks and best wishes for the future

    • "Not stereotypical recruitment!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Aspire full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Amazing company culture. Constantly looking to progress and develop you. Really helpful managers. Really good vibe in the office everyone is really friendly. A lot of flexibility! Work life balance. Great location. Branding and heritage behind you. Very well known in the industry.

      Cons

      The coffee machine is not that nice..

      Advice to Management

      Keep being supportive and welcoming! Get a better coffee machine!

      Aspire2018-02-21

      Aspire Response

      February 26, 2018Chairman

      Many thanks and coffe machine noted

    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

        I worked at Aspire full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I think the office is amazing and everyone is engaged.

        Cons

        I do not have any

        Aspire2018-02-01

        Aspire Response

        February 26, 2018Chairman

        many thanks but dont hesistate to let us know where we can improve

      • "Nervous for the future"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Aspire full-time

        Pros

        Learnt a lot, great offices, good benefits and some amazing people. Has been able performance rather than 100% KPI focused

        Cons

        Change in splits means 10% loss in commission / earning. Constant forced changes cause added stress and more work load. Sense of pressure from above to reach unrealistic targets. Bonus structure isn't competitive.

        Aspire2018-02-03

        Aspire Response

        February 19, 2018Chairman

        Thanks for your comments. As you know we have invested significantly in our Birmingham based Talent Hub to support you in your role so the plan is that with extra support you can be more successful. There are plenty of teams benefiting as a result and unsure how it creates more workload ...

        Show More
      Found 91 reviews