AstraZeneca Senior Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AstraZeneca Senior Director Reviews

Updated 5 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Lots of opportunity to make a contribution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are so many ways to get involved in the organisation.

    Cons

    A bit disorganised at times (some departments only)

    Advice to Management

    Look for ways to work smarter - replicated functions are not required in business units

    AstraZeneca2019-07-05
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture, Ambition, Pace of change and Drive

    Cons

    Pace of change could be faster

    Advice to Management

    None

    AstraZeneca2019-06-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bad to worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Alderley Edge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved most of the people i worked with

    Cons

    No Development opportunities No training No performance management - no recognition People not valued (any more)

    Advice to Management

    Value and develop your people. Get rid of Poor performers.

    AstraZeneca2014-09-27
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    people development, teaching ground, collaborative environment

    Cons

    lots of governance, management change, lower pay that competition

    AstraZeneca2019-06-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "An exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC

      I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      AstraZeneca ticks every one of the boxes I value as a great place to work: true focus on the patient, an exciting innovative pipeline, staff that works together as a team (family), focus on success of the drug pipeline but also the individual AZ associate, multiple career paths that evolve with time to meet the needs of the day. Management asks the associates for their vision of the future and take their suggestions...

      Show More

      Cons

      We are victims of our own success, we have had an incredible success rate with data read-outs and submissions. We need more like minded people to help up on our quest to help patients!

      AstraZeneca2018-08-03
    • Helpful (3)

      "Be Careful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Director in Gaithersburg, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great medicines, many great people, good comp and benefits program

      Cons

      Do not value people - too many people let go. The financial situation should not be a surprise so they should not have been hiring and then turning around and letting people go. It demonstrates a lack of sensitivity to people and their families.

      Advice to Management

      Demonstrate more of a commitment to employees by not hiring just to reduce months later, better staff planning

      AstraZeneca2017-01-11
    • "AstraZeneca is a good place to advance as manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good core values, generally good opportunities for career development, decent compensation, generally OK benefits, good colleagues, potential for growth, recently improved project portfolio

      Cons

      Currently the only real chance for career advancement is in managerial positions, scientific ladder is very much unappreciated and can only lead to limited advancement. This is a problem for the company as best and most ambitious scientists are incentivized to leave the bench and move into management

      Advice to Management

      I would pay more attention to career possibilities within scientific ladder, a brilliant but also ambitious scientist should not feel that becoming a line manager is the only safe option for career and pay-grade advancement.

      AstraZeneca2016-08-12
    • "Good humane values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Civil working environment, good pipeline. Value science, patients and employees. Honest environment

      Cons

      Going through some tough time. But will come out of it

      Advice to Management

      Value by employees is what motivated gates people. Keep that going

      AstraZeneca2015-10-25
    • "AstraZeneca"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Director in Global Village
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at AstraZeneca

      Pros

      Good people, great bonus structure

      Cons

      Tolerates underperformance, soft culture; lacks integrity, lots of politics

      Advice to Management

      Management is expedient, lacks integrity/backbone

      AstraZeneca2014-12-20
    • "satisfied"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great people, great benefits, robust science

      Cons

      very large - uncertainty about pipeline

      AstraZeneca2014-08-01
    Found 14 reviews