AstraZeneca Senior Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AstraZeneca Senior Scientist Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
99%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
  1. "excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    cutting edge science, lots of excellent people

    Cons

    big pharma, very slow sometimes

    AstraZeneca2019-02-01
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - very broad and innovative pipeline and research supporting new compounds development - research not restricted to early projects - great links with academia allowing scientists to advance research and publish high quality manuscripts - individual development plans in place

    Cons

    - not enough flexibility wrt to gaining experience in areas not directly linked to the role and supported project

    AstraZeneca2019-08-07
  3. "Great company to work for but needs more about diversifying the workforce."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Crystallization Scientist in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits when I started, however some changes have been made recently which means these benefits are slightly below market value.

    Cons

    Needs to work on employee engagement and inclusion.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership team is not as accessible or relatable as they could be.

    AstraZeneca2019-03-07
  4. "Good for a start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent money and some development oportunities

    Cons

    Heavy workload limits development possibilities

    AstraZeneca2018-11-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative atmosphere, work–life balance, company culture.

    Cons

    Great first job but I did not feel interlectually challenged. Company tends to hire highly educated people with PhDs and Postdoc experience to do routine lab work. In addition, the salary is quite low and living costs in Cambridge are high, so the whole package did not match up for me. Overcrowded office space and very little investment in actual research.

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk.

    AstraZeneca2018-06-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Research Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Good benefits Enjoyable work

    Cons

    Current (temporary) facilities Increasing workload demands Lack of career prospects

    AstraZeneca2018-02-06
  7. "Senior Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Scientist in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent top Pharma company where you can develop your skills by working within various departments. Development of staff is supported and leadership at all levels in encouraged.

    Cons

    Workload in Early Devlopment can be quite high. This needs to be managed on a realistic level.

    Advice to Management

    Staff work life balance needs to be encouraged and implemented.

    AstraZeneca2017-06-14
  8. "AstraZeneca as a contracted worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Scientist in Alderley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible timetable for work I was paid by the hour Good facilities at Alderley Park (sadly AZ left the site)

    Cons

    Moving up beyond a Senior Scientist role is very difficult, as there are a lot of Senior Scientists and there is competition from outside.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the workers and help them to develop their skills by offering more courses that could run in parallel with routine work.

    AstraZeneca2017-06-03
  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scientist in Alderley Edge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package, and holidays (usually 22 days minimum + christmas, and opportunity to "buy" an additional 10 days. Flexible working is great for those with families.

    Cons

    Highly corporate mentality, high pressure workload but flexible working and good holidays help relieve this.

    AstraZeneca2017-02-23
  10. "Great employer, but hard to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Scientist in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca

    Pros

    Collaborative working environment, good energy in the company to succeed, lots of interesting science happening with the goal to provide innovative new medicines. Prior to joining the company I viewed such large pharma companies and faceless and impersonal, however this has not been my experience of AstraZeneca. There is good communication of clinical studies and success stories with patients back to those that are... developing the medicines, which is really nice to see as a chemist working on API manufacture. There is a rather flat management structure and this works well to be connected to managers a couple of levels above your grade

    Show More

    Cons

    Due to the flat management structure there is a downside that it can feel like your career is not progressing, I'm a senior scientist and have worked for the company for 2 years, I have a further 4 years industrial experience prior to my work here and a PhD under my belt, I think it will be another 4-6 years before I can see myself being promoted, with small pay rises this does mean I do keep an eye on the job... market to see if I could get better pay elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give a stepping stone between senior scientist and APS/Team leader, etc so that it feels more achievable to move up

    AstraZeneca2017-02-14
Found 40 reviews