AstraZeneca "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AstraZeneca Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1964 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "I had a great work/ life balance which was very rare in my area of work in my country(in 213 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, peaceful environment to work(in 105 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need more people for the pipeline to be delivered(in 72 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be difficult as there is much to do to bring these medicines to market(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "AstraZeneca process development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    many opportunities to develop development opportunities through experience and courses vibrant people good line management good work life balance motivating company direction

    Cons

    location is not the best. could be closer to a large city and better connections to motorways. viability of senior leaders could be better. car parking can be an issue. there is no pool in the on site gym

    Advice to Management

    I really enjoy working for AstraZeneca. I have had many opportunities to develop, both through on the job experience and attending external courses. the line management team in my department is good and I feel well supported.

    AstraZeneca2019-04-08
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people, flex working and great opportunities. Love this company

    Cons

    Work life balance is tough to

    AstraZeneca2019-03-12
  3. "Things have improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exciting time for the company. Fosters innovation

    Cons

    Work life balance is difficult

    AstraZeneca2019-02-02
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Truly care about people development, refreshing lack of hierarchy and strong science focus

    Cons

    Work life balance and prioritisation needs addressing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing but get better at prioritisation and don't forget to recognise the non-scientists who are just as important

    AstraZeneca2019-02-02
  5. "Great work-life balance and opportunities to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Very good work-life balance. Leaders make an effort to know each employee (especially if you're at a factory). If you show them you are keen to grow, they will really help to develop you.

    Cons

    Very few, and I would say they depend on your perspective.

    AstraZeneca2019-01-26
  6. "HR Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Apprentice in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace Supportive Environment Investment in you and your personal development Good benefits Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Have to be resilient

    AstraZeneca2019-01-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A fantastic place to work for driven people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Strategy & Portfolio Analyst in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good reward system, strong opportunities to develop, change to work with some top-in-field colleagues. Mobile working is great for work/life balance. Excellent mentorship opportunities.

    Cons

    Not a good place to coast as you will be challenged. Lack of investment into project management and IT systems can be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Management of assignment and capacity can be short sighted at times - could we invest more in our technologies to forecast/plan better.

    AstraZeneca2018-12-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing - lost potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Opportunity to work cross-functionally on projects Opportunity to work globally

    Cons

    Incompetent middle management Appalling support for employees (HR, OT, benefits system instead of higher pay and pension contributions) Lots of unnecessary governance and committees leading to slow development Slow progress in non-scientific respects Presentee-ism culture leads to poor work/life balance Disparate team across sites, no sense of centre or belonging

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees - develop and promote from within Create a truly transparent work place - end the bullying culture Get rid of hot-desking and co-locate your employees properly

    AstraZeneca2018-12-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management but good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Appalling and incompetent management. Leaders lack strategic visions which makes the department and the job itself pointless, unnecessary and its existence almost can't be justified.

    AstraZeneca2018-12-10
  10. "Project and Change Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, career opportunities

    Cons

    may face complex and lengthy processes

    AstraZeneca2018-11-01
Found 1964 reviews