Athena Health Care Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Athena Health Care Systems Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
31%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Athena Health Care Systems CEO Lawrence G. Santilli (no image)
Lawrence G. Santilli
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Underpaid,overworked, no raises, resident to CNA ratio is ridiculous(in 3 reviews)

  • "The upper management staff at headquarters is rude(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Staff is rude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pca in New Haven, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None they make it sound good

    Cons

    The upper management staff at headquarters is rude

    Advice to Management

    Lose your attitude and listen to people who actually work with the client without them you wouldn't have a job

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Honestly: You're not just a dining service assistant, you're also hotel room service!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dining Services in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    *Benefits are decent *Co-workers that stick around are good *Great conversations with residents (old ones, not really the young ones).

    Cons

    Let's get started here..... *Profit centered (health care nowadays anyways) *Administrator snubs you sometimes,like you don't mean anything. A hello goes a long way! *If it's 730 at night and you're piled with paperwork and they call for food, A PBJ even with the stuff stocked on the floors upstairs to make it, YOU MUST BRING IT!!! OR YOU'LL HEAR ABOUT IT, YOU'LL PROBABLY GET DISCIPLINED as well because... that's BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE THE ADMIN WOULD SAY......which I suppose it is but, you have work to do too. *In a flood, I see management taking off while us employees struggle as they scurry for their own lives. *Many non-compliant residents to feed, typically calling for stuff they can't have but, usually an all the time thing. *CNAs give attitude to us on the phone, and are very demanding at times with that same attitude. Makes us feel at the bottom of the totem pole. Like we are human beings as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive of your employees, you're the backbone that holds us employees together and treat us as people . Not a number. You'll lose your great employees while you hire no call no show people like you do anyways. Also the improvement of communication in the facility goes a long way. So when there's no dining room, we would know ahead of time and not set up for nothing. That's when 50 people call us asking... like we are always gonna know.

    Show More
    Athena Health Care Systems2019-06-28
  3. "Decent place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in East Providence, RI

    I worked at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start your career

    Cons

    Extremely high patient to nurse ratio

    Advice to Management

    Hire more nurses

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-05-24
  4. "RN Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems part-time

    Pros

    Good policies and procedures in place

    Cons

    Due to so many facilities, business plans appear to be too “cookie cutter” which doesn’t take into account each facility unique character.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-05-08
  5. "Great company - treats employees with respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Family friendly Big company with opportunity to transfer to other facilities, but has a small feel because everyones knows each other.

    Cons

    Regular raises are needed.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-02-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working for Athena can prove to be rewarding, providing you work hard and follow instructions.

    Cons

    Management is not necessarily fair and reasonable. They make decisions on what would benefit themselves first before considering their patients, employees and family members.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-01-20
  7. "Client Service Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Culture, Pay, People,and benefits

    Cons

    They are a millennial company and just got bought up by a bigger corporation. They are in the process of making lots of changes. My position was taken away and i was let go because of it.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-01-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Worse company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems full-time

    Pros

    the health insurance is affordable

    Cons

    Everything except the cost of health insurance

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-01-26
  9. "Athena Hospice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospice Social Worker in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *the hospice team is comprised of people who genuinely care about patients and their families and are supportive of one another - a truly stellar group *the company has made a lot of changes/improvements since I started my employment in Feb. 2016 - it is nice to see growth in the right direction *flexible schedule, good benefits

    Cons

    *improving communication/partnering with nursing facilities continues to be a challenge at times but there is ongoing effort in this area

    Advice to Management

    *increase focus on training - upon hire and ongoing *offer reimbursement for training pursued by employees

    Athena Health Care Systems2018-11-29
  10. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has great benefits Employee success ladder Taking Care of our own benefit for employees is awesome

    Cons

    More training and seminars available to staff

    Advice to Management

    Increase/boost employee morale

    Athena Health Care Systems2018-11-01
Found 56 reviews