Atkins Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Atkins Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Atkins CEO Nick Roberts (no image)
Nick Roberts
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great projects, great people and good training opportunities

    Cons

    sometimes slow with giving projects

    Atkins2019-07-29
  2. "Good company, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge range of work opportunities Good focus on professional development and lots of access to training Good range of flexible benefits Great culture, with a focus on health, safety and wellbeing

    Cons

    Lots of travel Some uncertainty still on direction of the business following being bought out a couple of years ago

    Advice to Management

    More flexibility in work and locations More to do on moving people around the business as needed Need greater diversity at senior management level

    Atkins2019-11-18
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Progressive and innovative company with good culture

    Cons

    Salary was not the highest in the market

    Atkins2019-11-17
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work, never a dull moment

    Cons

    Limited site work, sometimes felt removed from the physical engineering projects

    Atkins2019-11-14
  5. "Great welfare system."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They really look after their staff and make sure that no one burns out. Great work/play balance

    Cons

    Very hard to get any significant pay rise

    Atkins2019-11-12
  6. "Encouraged to develop and learn new skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Support Analyst in Epsom, England

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn brand new skills Friendly and productive work environment

    Cons

    Limited career progression in my particular area

    Atkins2019-11-12
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The staff there are Nice

    Cons

    - I have no cons to say.

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities, and more upward mobility.

    Atkins2019-10-15
  8. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues and interesting projects to work on

    Cons

    Progression is a corporate box ticking exercise that doesn't reflect personal development

    Atkins2019-10-11
  9. "Good place to work with interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good holiday allowance, ability to buy up to 40 days Good salary Good benefits including discounted gym memberships, dental care, cycle to work scheme Great people who are all driven and great at what they do Big projects, lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Productivity driven, there is an unspoken expectation that your productivity must be high Difficult to know how to find projects once your current one is finished

    Atkins2019-10-10
  10. "Great start, needs clear progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transport Planner in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All the best projects, great culture, work life balance

    Cons

    Large company, corporate structure, poor progression

    Advice to Management

    Clear path to advancement

    Atkins2019-10-07
Found 980 reviews