Atkins Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Atkins Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 901 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Nick Roberts
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Gold standard for engineering consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Niche work profile Helpful environment

    Cons

    Not anything in particular I can think of

    Atkins2019-03-31
  2. "Great Organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Systems Manager in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Organisation - sense of loyalty

    Cons

    Nothing particularly negative I have to add

    Atkins2019-06-18
  3. "Great place for Civil Engineering Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Placement Student in Epsom, England

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good culture, great training, as a student I learned a lot.

    Cons

    Typical 9-5 where most people we looking to get out on Friday afternoon.

    Atkins2019-06-13
  4. "Serious company, but needs to evolve the business model to innovate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Technical skills, reach, camaraderie, culture, opportunity

    Cons

    Poor business management, timesheets, consulting business model

    Atkins2019-06-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate Management Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Atkins full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture and people. Flexible working hours. Positive work/life balance you wouldn't get at other consultancies.

    Cons

    Pay is below average. Demand for project work is not currently aligned with ambitious growth strategy, meaning it is difficult to make impact when you are low level.

    Atkins2019-05-31
  6. "Nonexistent Structure - Good Responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Civil Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a graduate you are given responsibility well beyond that of any other graduate in different firms - you are exposed to fully completing tasks on your own very early on. The people you work with in the company are great and the atmosphere OUTSIDE of project work is brilliant.

    Cons

    Sink or swim mentality - you get chucked into the deep end with almost no support There is no structure to the graduate programme - you remain a graduate until you get chartered Pay is poor Not much room for progression - external hires are valued more than internal promotions.

    Atkins2019-06-17
  7. "All in all a good place to work but still a long way to go."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good balance of work and life. Great culture and interesting projects

    Cons

    The old-boys network rules the roost but they are trying to change things

    Advice to Management

    Stop holding onto old organisational structures that don't support staff or customer needs.

    Atkins2019-06-03
  8. "Good for flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great in terms of flexibility and support

    Cons

    Change for change sake and poorly communicated

    Atkins2019-05-30
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good atmousphere

    Cons

    Poor pay, with small bonus

    Atkins2019-05-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great staff, relaxed environment but management crumbling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bid Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment with agile working, working from home, many projects and teams to get involved with.

    Cons

    Management crumbling, lots of leavers and changes that nobody can keep up with.

    Advice to Management

    Allow staff payrises!

    Atkins2019-05-06
Found 901 reviews