Atlas Air Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Atlas Air Worldwide Reviews

Updated 1 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
44%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Atlas Air Worldwide President, CEO, and Director Bill Flynn
Bill Flynn
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Traveling frequently to a multitude of international destinations around the world(in 8 reviews)

  • "The diverse work on aircraft and different departments(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management would rather sue its pilots than negotiate an industry standard contract(in 12 reviews)

  • "No airline benifits, or pass-travel on any carrier(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away, So Happy no longer there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Purchase, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great facility if you work days. Only because it's Morgan Stanley's Corporate office. GCC workers are also great.

    Cons

    Management could care less about you. This is a job for a HS graduate to answer phones. Beware they will promise more $$$ and do not come through in the end. If not on the 1st shift you are not recognized, It seems to be to be an old boys club. Still waiting to talk to upper manager but left instead. I could go on for much more.

    Continue reading
    Atlas Air Worldwide2020-01-01
  2. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    401K 5% Match first 10%

    Cons

    Favorites get promoted, qualified or not.

    Continue reading
    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-10-28
  3. "Not your typical airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Purchase, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A growing company with a diversified business portfolio, that sells flexibility as part of their brand, makes it the ideal place for someone that thrives in a fast pace, constantly changing environment

    Cons

    Runs lean; not enough people to perform the work.

    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-10-04
  4. "HDQ @ Purchase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company is not afraid of consistently investing in systems and processes to make the administration side of the business better and more efficient. If you are comfortable with change for the sake of improving the business and your internal process it’s a great place to be.

    Cons

    No $$$ for overtime work. It’s an airline so they can request that you work overtime and not pay you extra.

    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-08-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mickey Mouse Operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are lenient on rules. Makes training and working easier ( yet less safer ).

    Cons

    Lenient on rules. Wait 3-6 hours on pick up once at destination. No airlines perks( THE WHOLE POINT). Instructors poorly trained and sadly educated (students should be learning not teaching their teachers).... Pursers (didn’t follow guidelines) which is ironic because they “enforce them”. Management disappointing and they ALWAYS over work employees. Overall the experience working for them my worst after having a 5 year back ground in aviation as an Lead FA. Catering TERRIBLE & embarrassing when serving our countries best. “VIP” flights, where the company chooses the cutest to work a VIP flight. If you’re not cute but smart you still will just be on call. Would EXTREMELY not advise working for them.

    Continue reading
    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-09-09
  6. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers Management easily assessable for help

    Cons

    Low Pay Location (far from NYC)

    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-07-30
  7. "Loadplanner loadsupervsor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Manaus, Amazonas
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    One of the best companies

    Cons

    No problems with Atlas in 15 years

    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-07-30
  8. "Same Old Stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director IT Ops 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People do care about this company but they don't see it from the top

    Cons

    Distrust within department and workloads across departments is too much

    Continue reading
    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-07-24
  9. Helpful (4)

    "The worst airline pilot job in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company will most likely be out of business soon as most pilots are leaving for better jobs.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment, racist management, dead-end job. The lowest pay in the industry. Anti-labor culture. Unsafe working conditions that cause accidents and fatalities.

    Continue reading
    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-08-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atlas Air Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can’t think of any... get out of Atlas I promise you life is better outside of Atlas/Southern/Polar.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, outdated systems, micromanaged, dog eat dog toxic environment, & no growth opportunity. I was treated horribly by my boss and leadership doesn’t have the mental capacity to know how to handle conflict. Seriously embarrassing listening to them speak.

    Continue reading
    Atlas Air Worldwide2019-08-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 130 reviews