Austin Fraser Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Austin Fraser Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Austin Fraser CEO  Peter Hart (no image)
Peter Hart
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Yup, welcome to 2019 at Austin Fraser(in 8 reviews)

  • "No cons found so far since starting(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Fraser full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    AF has provided me with an opportunity and platform to truly be myself and I'm lucky enough to have found an environment to excel in. I work with some of the best talent in the industry and genuinely feel like part of a family. We don't profess to be perfect at everything but we work really hard to create an environment for those that have the right values and work ethic to excel in and carve out a career. It's certainly not about working 12 hour days, although there is likely to be days that you may want to, but it's about ensuring we support individuals to work smartly and ensure they have the best tools available to help our customers identify the best and right talent for them. There are ups and downs in recruitment and it is a tough gig, which is why it isn't right for everyone. We have an extensive and thorough interview process but yes we have made mistakes, like all businesses, and have hired individuals that don't reflect our values or that can't work at our pace with our growth ambitions and they are not for us. Despite the odd, obscure and tainted comments on here we genuinely wish anyone who leaves us all the best for the future, evidently some may feel bitter that they didn't do themselves justice or demonstrate the right values....honesty is paramount for a successful career here. If you genuinely have the right family values and a sound work ethic to drive and shape your own career then come have a chat with us - you'll love it...... and it's a great laugh!

    Cons

    Weekends......;-) I love change and a challenge but that isn't for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Austin Fraser2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Fraser

    Pros

    I love the ethos, values, direction and people. It is easy to stay still but the energy and challenge keeps it fresh, if you want to maximise your career and take control its the place to be.

    Cons

    Every job has its moments, but it’s down to you to carve out your career, so the pros definitely outweigh the cons.

    Austin Fraser2020-01-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "An Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Fraser full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at AF for the best part of 6 years, it was my first "proper" job after bumbling around the retail sector once I left school. I had no idea what recruitment was or what it involved. There is no other company out there that gives everyone the platform to build their own career. No matter your background or experience this is the place to get real life experience. Not just in sales but in, communication, stake holder management, business management, team building, working with people you don't like, overcoming personal challenges, the list goes on. One thing AF does exceptional is invest in its people and they truly believe in everyone that walks through the door. The training program and self development courses are what has made the business grow and be better. This inst just training for new people, they train management and directors to be better and stronger. I learnt more there in my 6 years than I would have done anywhere else, and what I learnt has made sure I will be successful in the future. For me the one thing I loved was and will always be the people and culture. I made some friends for life in that office and when you work with people you can call friends and not just colleagues the job is a lot easier. Everybody celebrates the WINS, big or small everyone wants everyone to be successful and share that.

    Cons

    Look. Recruitment is hard and it takes a lot of commitment and drive to be successful. When it is bad it can feel like there is no way out and you want to quit, but when it is good you will love it AF are not perfect and there has been mistakes along the way, but no organisation is perfect. AF will be the first to admit that they have not always done things the best way but this has made them better in the long run.

    Austin Fraser2020-01-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Right Place, Right Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Fraser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The People - its maybe a cliche but it's important to me I work with great people. I like that my team is full of people I genuinely want to be around. We have great banter on desk and socialise outside of work because we get on really well and I think its because we all have a similar attitude to our jobs. Which is work hard, look out for each other, have fun, and celebrate everything! The support - seriously the stuff we have access to is brilliant. I've been given a brand new mac book, wireless headset, a scooter so i can do laps of the office.... it's not as easy as some people make it look. We also have LI recruiter licences, job boards, and video tools other recruiters don't invest in. I know as a lot of my friends also work in recruitment The other stuff - By this I mean the leaders, just really normal people who will talk to you, ask how you're doing and are genuinely interested which i've got to say still makes me feel surprised as some of these people are absolute legends. I've been lucky enough to go on some incentives too to places I never would have visited at this point in my life. My family thinks I don't actually do any work!!! I feel really comfortable here, I didn't have experience in recruitment when I joined and wasn't sure if people would expect things of me that I just didn't have a clue about but all i've found is people prepared to help me work out what i'm doing, give me hand when i've needed it and let me know its not life and death when i've maybe taken the fact that my candidate just "didn't fancy the interview after all" to heart. Not actually sure i'm over that bit tbh

    Cons

    It's tough, recruitment is. I do think we've changed as a business in the last year. We do expect a lot from people here and I think some people have found that hard,. Or just didn't want to put the work in. I have seen some people with ego's leave and I've got to say I'm pretty chuffed about it. They're obviously not and its annoying that you have to read about how hard done by they were or actually sometimes just made up stuff about what its like here. I suppose that everyone's entitled to their opinion but I'd like to see some people take a look in the mirror before they decide to be a keyboard warrior and decide that they didn't do anything to affect their job here and its someone else's fault. I think we can improve by sharing more stuff earlier about what's happening in the business, I sometimes hear about things that i've completely missed but not sure why. I also think we could get our sales leaders to be more in the day to day. They're starting to do this more and it makes such a difference to the vibe on desk and what people get done. They used to be top billers so they're the best people to show us what we need to do.

    Continue reading
    Austin Fraser2019-11-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    ".Net Core"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiter 

    I have been working at Austin Fraser full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and good progression

    Cons

    Only getting better, exciting place

    Austin Fraser2019-11-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Fraser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved every minute. The people are dedicated to living and breathing the company values and although like any growing business there are challenges the management go out of their way to look after you and make sure you are on the journey.

    Cons

    The business has grown really quickly and this can be challenging but i'd rather have been in a business going somewhere then static.

    Continue reading
    Austin Fraser2019-10-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A Real Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Fraser full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I spent 6 and a bit years at AF and they were some of the best years of my life. The reason I loved it so much was the environment, there is a great bunch of people who are always there to work hard alongside, but also make you crack up laughing - which is so important. A few highlights for me was how Austin Fraser celebrates everyone’s success, when you do a deal or are promoted you are made a big fuss of by the entire office and is a huge boost in confidence. For me AF took me in as a boy and I came out a man, I learnt basic but invaluable things like how to communicate effectively within business and how to consult with people not just sell. I’ve seen AF getting a little bit of heat on Glassdoor from bitter/jealous ex-employees with too much time on their hands which actually pains me to see because it’s simply not true. They are one of the most flexible businesses you can get. For example, a couple of guys had really bad back problems and AF paid them in full, the entire time they were off. They let you work 8-4, they give you so much time off for maternity/paternity/bereavement, they pay the highest basics, they look after people’s mental health and do actually care about it there is plenty of people on hand to chat to even an EAP system on hand. Bullying/sexism/drugs in the workplace… it doesn’t happen, I was there for 6.5 years and it just doesn’t happen. AF, keep doing what you’re doing, you've become so successful you’ve got some haters - it’s natural… take it as a compliment! The two founders are brilliant, Pete has taken more of a leading role this year and is someone who inspires people daily - he is always there to chat to, banter with or ask advice. Pete inspired me so much that I am going to create the same opportunity and go on the same journey he has.

    Cons

    No company is perfect. AF will be the first people to admit, they don't always get it right but 9 times out of 10 they get it bang on.

    Continue reading
    Austin Fraser2019-09-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company with great opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Fraser full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The training and development from both L&D and line managers is fantastic! Having worked in a high volume sales environment for 3 years previously I thought that I was at a good level in Salesmanship but Austin Fraser has improved my skillset greatly all thanks to the proactive training approach. - There is no limit to what you can achieve in this business and they will give you the tools to do so. - Success is celebrated globally - The businesses culture is amazing and somehow with nearly 200 staff still manages to keep the family feel

    Cons

    - Sometimes the job can become a bit monotonous BUT eventually, the rewards will come and make it all worth it

    Continue reading
    Austin Fraser2019-09-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, exceptional training and even better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Fraser full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From a personal perspective; I thrive in an environment that gives you recognition for your hard work and makes you feel a part of a family. - Austin Fraser provides all of that and more. Although I've only been with the company for less than a year, I've seen people progress professionally from trainee to senior consultants, relocate overseas, receive incredible incentives for their dedication, and come in to the office every day with a smile on their face (myself included). Very proud to be a part of this family and can't wait to see what the future holds for AF!

    Cons

    No complaints from me so far!

    Continue reading
    Austin Fraser2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Losing the magic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Fraser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good offices, base pay is ok, commission is market average, 'brand' is flashy

    Cons

    if you don't make it to the 'inner ring' you are not welcome. Staff turnover is now at a critical level and a lot of top level consultants have left. Office is now full of juniors. Anything other than working 8am-8pm is unacceptable. More concerned about creating flashy graphics for the next incentive than actually talking to their staff about the internal issues.

    Continue reading
    Austin Fraser2019-10-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 100 reviews