Australian Taxation Office Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Australian Taxation Office Reviews

Updated 13 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Australian Taxation Office CEO Chris Jordan
Chris Jordan
41 Ratings
  1. "Great casual job whilst studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Officer in Moonee Ponds
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Australian Taxation Office part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible shift choices - great while I was completing my postgraduate degree - Work with some very intelligent people (and some not so much) - Great pay rates for casual employment

    Cons

    - Staff rarely get laid off at the ATO (as is common in many government organisations) and the lack of consequences for poor performance is evident through some lazy staff who show up to work to do the bare minimum - Training was often disorganised and rarely followed up on - Inconsistent KPI checks - It would've been great if my team leader took the time to learn my name after years of working there

    Advice to Management

    I understand it's difficult with a casual workforce, but recognising the efforts of the hardworking employees would go a long way.

    Australian Taxation Office2018-01-28
  2. "Little to show for it after a lifetime of blood, sweat and tears."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Australian Taxation Office full-time

    Pros

    Great fellow workers who felt like family.

    Cons

    -Bullying and harassment from senior management who care more about their reputations than about the health and safety of the workers. -HR department that messed up my super, and won't respond to my emails.

    Advice to Management

    To remember that we are all public servants and that our purpose is to serve the people of Australia; rather than trying to expand our own little fiefdoms.

    Australian Taxation Office2017-12-28
  3. "FM Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Australian Taxation Office full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of work was issued to the national service provider; who was very professional ... thus given more time to focus on projects and delivering great customer service

    Cons

    Some elements of management could improve

    Advice to Management

    Focus on evolving the organisation's property portfolio; in particular its use of technology and the internet of things for efficient preventative maintenance

    Australian Taxation Office2017-12-11
  4. "Okay place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I worked at Australian Taxation Office full-time

    Pros

    Good hours. The people were usually decent

    Cons

    Things can move very slowly (red tape)

    Australian Taxation Office2017-10-26
  5. "4 Years at the ATO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Australian Taxation Office full-time

    Pros

    Some interesting development work going on. Great work life balance and worker conditions

    Cons

    There are a lot of demotivated workers and a heavy amount of read tape

    Australian Taxation Office2017-10-18
  6. "Work Life Balance and Exposure Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Australian Taxation Office full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enormous opportunity for development - proven capability to perform is rewarded with responsibility and discretion, regardless of seniority. The work life balance is also a big plus, as are the flexibile working arrangements (study leave, etc). Finally, the pay is very competitive given the work hours.

    Cons

    Some areas of the office either slow moving and monotone or fast paced, procedural and offer low development opportunities. Very risk averse and pandering leadership.

    Australian Taxation Office2017-10-12
  7. "Compliance and Investigations Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance and Investigations Officer in Melbourne
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Australian Taxation Office full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex time, tuition assistance, 15.4% superannuation

    Cons

    Slow career progression, promotion by social networking, lack of development opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Requires restabilisation of human resource policies, implementation of meritocratic standards, employee development plans

    Australian Taxation Office2017-09-29
  8. "Business Assessment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Townsville
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Australian Taxation Office full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexitime was a boon. The computer systems were decrepit and degrading. The executives who handled the contract for the systems should have not been promoted but asked for a please explain, as frontline staff have to do.

    Cons

    Losing hard fought benefits and myopic senior executives only interested in their next promotion

    Advice to Management

    The CEO should walk around the sites and talk to shop front staff.

    Australian Taxation Office2017-10-07
  9. "Work/life balance is the biggest draw card here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Australian Taxation Office

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements is a big plus as well as the ability to move in and out of roles.

    Cons

    You don't get promoted here. You have to apply for a higher level role.

    Australian Taxation Office2017-08-15
  10. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Officer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Australian Taxation Office full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great development opportunities One of the best grad program

    Cons

    Slow progression than private sector

    Australian Taxation Office2017-06-27
Found 106 reviews