Auto Trader UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Auto Trader UK Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Auto Trader UK Chief Executive Officer Nathan Coe
Nathan Coe
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great working environment, all the tools needed to succeed(in 32 reviews)

  • "The above together with the great offices and lots of great people make AT the best company I’ve worked for(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is rather fast paced(in 24 reviews)

  • "The location (central Manchester) wasn't right for me, but of course that will not be a problem for everyone(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great working environment with lots of opportunities to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s always interesting work to pick up as a developer no matter what your level of experience is. And even when that task that you’ve done 10 times before lands on your desk again, you have the freedom to innovate and make it as interesting/challenging as you like. The tech is moving really fast (infrastructure, languages, frameworks) so there are high chances you’ll be constantly learning something new next to people that can help you improve. The above together with the great offices and lots of great people make AT the best company I’ve worked for.

    Cons

    Some times, people that could help you with something are so busy that they cannot spend time on doing so and that can slow things down a bit and be a bit frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-01

    Auto Trader UK Response

    January 6, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review; Freedom to innovate, constantly learning something new and working with great people sums it all up really well. Busy as we all can get we should all try and find time to help each other out so I hope there is more time to collaborate and share knowledge this year.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company with a truly collaborative culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Partner in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great, and not just within the immediate team you work in. Everyone I've spoken to have been very warm, approachable and supportive. The onboarding process is very slick so you're pretty much set up and good to go on your first day. The work is interesting and varied plus you get a true feeling that everyone here is very values driven. It's more than just words here. The biggest thing I would say is you quickly get a sense of how important collaboration is and how much AT prides itself on building such a fantastic culture where people can truly thrive. It's our biggest strength by far and what has really struck me is how this momentum has been continuing over the past few weeks given the corona virus outbreak. I've seen us adapt with relative ease to our new situation and our sense of community has been stronger than ever - whether it's constant comms from our senior leadership offering flexibility and understanding, or the multiple slack channels about what we had for breakfast, pictures with kids or daily workout routines. What should be an extremely tough time for us has been made easier by reassurance from the top along with a real community spirit across everyone here.

    Cons

    Things can change here quickly - which is good because it keeps things varied and fresh but if you like absolute structure and predictability then it is likely that it'll take you time to adapt. For me personally I found it took me longer than I would have liked to get my head around the structure here (who works where, how teams are set up, who leads who etc) which I did find frustrating initially because I like to know everything (!) but during my 4th month here things started to click and it makes a lot more sense now. Word of advice, just ask people about themselves and what they do and it'll start filling in the gaps. As mentioned right at the top, everyone here is very warm and approachable!

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-03-30
  3. "A business that truly cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    During these unprecedented times the people across the business have come together and supported each other, our customers and local charities as well. You can tell a lot about a business culture at times like this and I am so proud of all my colleagues that have managed to adjust to the new ways of working by being creative and caring. We got all the right technology to be able to work from home and lots of support so we can look after our wellbeing. Teams are finding some nice ways to stay connected while we are away from our offices and really watch out for each other making sure everybody stays well and safe.

    Cons

    Working from home isn't the norm so it took as by surprise but everybody is trying to make the best out of this situation

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-03-29
  4. "Fabulous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People - a bunch of amazingly talented people who look after each other - Culture - a culture of learning, community, wellbeing, and belonging - Values - are lived and breathed by everyone - Management - truly care for colleagues, our customers and our community - Hierarchy - or lack thereof. Everyone is approachable for a chat including senior leaders - Development - a clear and individual development path, and support from your manager to get there - Tech - super efficient technology that allows you to do your job better - Office - really cool offices :)

    Cons

    It can be very fast paced at Auto Trader and things can change pretty quickly, but it's exciting and you will soon get used to it and see this as a pro.

    Auto Trader UK2020-03-19

    Auto Trader UK Response

    March 28, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review and great to hear that you are enjoying your first year working with us. Your list of "Pros" is a brilliant summary of what makes our business so special. Fast paced can be exciting but we always try to find time to relax as well.

    Continue reading
  5. "The best company to work for, bar none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Probably the best job I've ever had. I left about 12 months ago, and now regret that decision - despite getting a big pay rise with the move. - I learnt a lot and it has set me in good stead for the current role I'm about to leave, and my next role. This is because of some very talented devs there. - Everyone cares about the code - ... as a result, all of the code bases are nice to work with. - Very good benefits package.

    Cons

    - Not the best payers. i.e. I left and got 10k extra elsewhere. - Hard to get promoted. i.e. From when I started, there was one mid-level developer I looked up to, who absolutely should have been a senior dev. He eventually got this promotion about 2 years later. Another guy in my team was also frustrated at not getting a promotion. - There was one manager in particular who was intimidating, unapproachable, etc. He had a reputation for it with a lot of people, but nothing ever got done about this. At one point when I was there, the company went through a big restructure. My previous team had a really good rapport with each other - things were never quite the same after the restructure. This is why I eventually left (but in hindsight, things were still better than they are now at my current job).

    Auto Trader UK2020-03-16

    Auto Trader UK Response

    March 28, 2020Head of People and Culture

    "The best company to work for"; couldn't agree more. Glad to hear that your learnings from your time with us put you in good stead in your other roles. We feel our cash element of our reward is competitive and on top of that working at Auto Trader provides you with all the benefits you summarised so well. Thank you for your review and good luck with your next role you are about to start.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company to work for with a fantastic culture and incredibly talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Genuinely positive work environment, where people are willing to pitch in when needed. Great offices in both London and Manchester. The company has a lot of incredibly talented individuals to learn from. With the talent Auto Trader has, there is a lot of innovative and interesting work going on. There is a sense that senior management really care about its people and are always willing to listen to them. Salaries and benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    It can take time to learn the Auto Trader way of doing things and you are expected to learn quickly due to the fast paced nature of the company. Prioritisation, as with most companies, can be especially challenging at Auto Trader. Finding a coffee mug in the Manchester office past 11am can be difficult :)

    Auto Trader UK2020-02-12

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 15, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Many thanks for your review and great to hear you are enjoying your first year with Auto Trader. We got talented people in two great offices, get involved in innovative work and have some more great benefits. Our business is unique and we appreciate it is a challenge to learn the way we do things but hopefully like you say having supportive colleagues helps. The new coffee machines serving delicious coffees might have possibly created a mug issue so we will have to look into that.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary, great benefits and a very ethical company

    Cons

    some managers are not good at managing

    Auto Trader UK2020-02-04

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 6, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. We take our responsibilities as a company in our industries and communities seriously and our values and ethics guide everything we do. Sorry to hear that your experience with managers has not been what we expect. I would encourage you to speak to them and share your feedback or you can always come and speak to a member of the People team.

    Continue reading
  8. "Driving conversion through functional design at Auto Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modern office, good environment, colleagues are very helpful.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think off.

    Auto Trader UK2020-01-31

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 3, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. Glad you are enjoying our office environment and the time with your colleagues. Good luck with the rest of your AT journey in years to come

    Continue reading
  9. "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are brilliant The benefits and choices of extras are great Salary, can't really complain. Feels right with no commission

    Cons

    Always wants more but is a constant theme

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-02-12

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 15, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review and I couldn't agree more; our people are just brilliant. We constantly strive for more and that is key to our success but we should always remember to take time to reflect and relax. Hopefully our new increased holidays allowance this year for everybody will come in handy.

    Continue reading
  10. "really good but not much progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Merchandiser in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people, product and work conditions

    Cons

    not rewarded for hard work

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-15

    Auto Trader UK Response

    January 21, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you enjoyed working with your colleagues , our people are what makes our company special. Sorry that you felt you were not rewarded for your work; we have many different benefits, we refresh what we offer regularly and our recognition scheme gives everybody the chance to recognise each other on a daily basis. Best of luck with your next employment opportunity.

    Continue reading
Found 284 reviews