Auto Trader UK Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 314 of over 399 reviews

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Auto Trader UK Chief Executive Officer Nathan Coe
Nathan Coe
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working at Auto Trader has helped accelerate my career substantially(in 72 reviews)

  • "Flexible working environment, understanding of any personal issues(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Extremely fast paced, but exciting(in 30 reviews)

  • "Starting remotely has been difficult (no fault of Auto Trader of course)(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    436

    62 Comments

    Tech

    286.8K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Auto Trader UK~505215
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to build a career!

      Jul 17, 2022 -  in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, having worked in multiple companies in the tech sector. The culture at autotrader is the thing that stood out when i was looking for a job, i didnt think it would be anything much other than a good place to work. but after being here for a few months i can say that its by far the one place that puts the needs and health of employees genuinely at their forefront. coming from a previous company that would treat employees as disposable commodities its a huge breath of fresh air. this doesnt even cover the technical amd collaborative nature of the other people that work at autotrader.

      Cons

      none that i can think of so far. the hybrid working may not be for everyone. but i like the balance and they are very flexible with it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Head of People and Culture

      Thank you for your review. So glad to hear that your expectations when joining match the reality of working with us after a few months. The Green Man induction definitely creates lasting memories and we are so excited we get to do it in person again after all this time.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work, great people.

      Jul 8, 2022 - Business Consultant in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Autonomy to work in a way we feel comfortable with. No micro management. The company seem to employ the right people, I've met great people here. Good benefits including SAYE scheme, BUPA.

      Cons

      WFH should be more flexible.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Head of People and Culture

      Thank you for your review. I couldn't agree more that we get to work with great people every day. If you have any thoughts on our Connected Working please reach out and share with our People team.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Recommended

      Jun 16, 2022 - Data Entry in Plymouth, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good employer with good working conditions

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Head of People and Culture

      Thanks for your review and hope you are enjoying your first year working with us

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 16, 2022 - Marketing Executive in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company values and ethics are lived, non-hierarchical, easy decision making.

      Cons

      No cons as far as I’m concerned

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for your review!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Brilliant Culture & Excellent Development Opportunities

      Mar 16, 2022 - Senior People Operations Advisor in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great scope for development and exposure- very fast paced environment Amazing benefits (available to all colleagues and the best day one benefits I've ever come across) Genuine care for the people- especially well-being Fair salaries that are reviewed regularly Unique culture and approach to hybrid-working... trusts people to do the right thing D&I is a priority and not just in words but in action Amazing networks for example Age, BAME, wellbeing etc. Very considerate of everybody's views and the values are not just a poster on the wall like in many businesses- they influence everything that happens here

      Cons

      Like any business, it's been hard to collaborate and get to know the business and colleagues remotely but now we've transitioned into hybrid working, this has already got way better The flat structure may not be for everybody, although I feel it works really well

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for your review. It's great to hear how much you're enjoying hybrid working and that your first year at Auto Trader is going so well!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pretty darn good

      Mar 4, 2022 - Software Developer in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loads of support, great tech stack, ambitious projects and great co-workers.

      Cons

      Being a small fish in a medium-large sized pond might not be for everyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Your enthusiasm for the tech community comes through loud and clear, and we love to hear it! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pleasant company and team

      Mar 17, 2022 - Production Assistant in Reigate, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Camaraderie in the production team (I was there 2008–2009) Respectable rate of hourly pay Break times Decent people

      Cons

      Equipment and computers somewhat old Office could have done with redecorating

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Auto Trader has changed dramatically over the past 13 years! If you're interested in seeing what Auto Trader 2022 looks like, head over to our careers site and take a look :) https://careers.autotrader.co.uk/blog/connected-working

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture

      Feb 15, 2022 - Senior Developer in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is the best of anywhere I've worked. Flexibility to get the job done, full support for personal development and a real commitment to its people.

      Cons

      Nothing to complain about yet!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for your review. Your first year at Auto Trader sounds like it's off to a great start - here's to many more!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Stressful but worthwhile

      Feb 10, 2022 - Account Director in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping retailers win in todays market

      Cons

      Internal workload draining and takes eyes off day job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for your review and your long term commitment to Auto Trader! We're glad you enjoy helping our customers succeed; this is fundamentally the most crucial part of any role in our customer-facing teams. Over the years, I've seen colleagues thrive in the autonomous and open culture we've created, and we work hard to raise the bar continually. That's why your comments regarding workload and micromanagement surprise me. I'd really like the opportunity to discuss this with you, so please do get in touch. Rebecca Clark – Sales Director

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I am proud to work here

      Feb 7, 2022 - Product Design Apprentice in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, office, community, networks, resources

      Cons

      Not a lot to do when first joining

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Auto Trader UK Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you're enjoying your apprenticeship; the design team are fantastic! If things felt a little slow initially, I encourage you to share your feedback and thoughts with the Early Careers team, as they're always open to new ideas.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 314 Reviews

    Auto Trader UK Reviews FAQs

    Auto Trader UK has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5, based on over 399 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Auto Trader UK to a friend and 85% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Auto Trader UK employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Auto Trader UK. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    89% of Auto Trader UK employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Auto Trader UK 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.7 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Auto Trader UK to be management, benefits, career development and the cons to be compensation .

    Popular Careers with Auto Trader UK Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Auto Trader UK? Share Your Experiences

    or