Axis Studios Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 43 reviews

3.8
56%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Exciting place to work

    Mar 8, 2021 - Head of Human Resources in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Multi cultural, diverse, vibrant and rewarding

    Cons

    There are none at all that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work - Lovely people

    Jul 12, 2021 - Artist in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People Fun Projects Location

    Cons

    Quick Turn Arounds, Lower Pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Wasted Potential

    Apr 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I work with, the area, the IPs you can work on.

    Cons

    Under paid, over worked, no consistency or communication between higher management. And absolutely no loyalty to long standing employees.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Wasted potential

    Apr 20, 2021 - Character Artist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The working environment is friendly and communication is direct. Pipeline is solid and in continuing evolution.

    Cons

    Schedules are tight, projects are underbid, artists burnout often because have to overcome all these resources challenges.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Ambitious, Caring, Expanding

    Feb 10, 2021 - Animation Director in Bristol, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They do great work. They have great ambitions they're pursuing. Quality lead on the whole. Not too corporate a feel. Friendly and genuine

    Cons

    Can overwork artists. Pipeline could be improved.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Too many projects

    Sep 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - the studio is in a nice area - overtime is not so common (depending on the department) - great mix of nationalities - most people are friendly and sociable - there are clubs you can join to meet people with similar interests, like the boardgame club or baking club - short projects so you can work on different things - good place for juniors to start their careers

    Cons

    - they don't care about retaining staff - no bonus - very little help with relocation - pay is not great - no down time because there are so many projects - no other studios in Glasgow - there's an imbalance between experienced and inexperienced artists - overtime starts after 8pm

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Axis Review

    Oct 22, 2020 - Art Director in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Is an incredible place to be with highly talented and collaborative colleagues.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think off.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Axis Working review

    Sep 16, 2020 - Rigging Technical Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pays well, interesting clients, good community, nice building

    Cons

    sometimes repetitive, no flexible working hours, no additional stuff like live drawing, seminars, teaching..., no sponsored after work activities like friday beer

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    If you need stability, look elsewhere.

    Feb 13, 2019 - FX Artist in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great launch pad to get better jobs, and most of your coworkers are lovely people with whom to work.

    Cons

    They do not honor their contracts. The length of your contract is meaningless to them, if a project gets cancelled. Axis solely bases who gets fired and who stays on how expensive you are to the company, and not on your talent performance, or how soon your agreement with them will expire. They do not seem to care about the fact that you may have relocated your whole life to Glasgow, and there are no other studios around. This will leave you in a very precarious situation. They do not appreciate their artists. While colleagues from other departments are very helpful and appreciative, your line manager, by policy, is not allowed to praise your work. The whole company focuses on production, rather than talent. The production department makes creative decisions, even after the client has already greenlighted a particular shot. Axis often takes on projects, with very short deadlines, leaving artists with shots, we have to complete in an absurdly limited amount of time. They constantly give misinformation about new projects; trying to convey a sensation of security. In reality, such projects have not really been signed off, leaving the door open for artist to get laid off at the tip of a hat.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Axis Studios Response

    Axis Studios Management

    Sorry your experience of working with us wasn't as positive as it could have been. We issue offers and contracts expecting to honour each and every one, but sometimes project circumstances change and we have to make a difficult decision, which is never taken lightly. We aim to be as transparent as we can be around these changing situations. We really appreciate all feedback, so thank you

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Axis Animation - Lighting Artist

    Oct 2, 2017 - Lighting Artist in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Axis Animation is a fantastic experience. It has introduced me to a large group of lovely, welcoming people who are very encouraging and happy to share advice and help you grow as an individual. The balance between work and life is great, as Axis encourages a healthy balance of the two. In my time there I have had the chance to work on various interesting projects, and been given chances to develop and grow as a professional. They also take a keen interest in education, and they help students from Universities, through their mentoring program, giving students valuable insight into the industry, helping them become an employable artist after graduation.

    Cons

    None at all! Everything has been great.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Axis Studios Response

    Head of Personnel & Facilities

    We appreciate you taking the time to feedback on your experience of working with us. As our studios continue to grow and diversify, we believe its important that we provide opportunities for our team to do so too. Glad you're enjoying it.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with Axis Studios Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Axis Studios? Share Your Experiences

Axis Studios logo
or